Database:
A data base is an online, searchable collection of published works, including scholarly sources; most are organized by academic field. You'll find articles, videos, etc. within a database.
LibGuide:
A resource created by librarians; these online guides contain information on a specific topic. They display a variety of sources on the topic, including videos, books, articles, and websites. What you're reading on now is an example of a LibGuide!
Peer-Reviewed:
Sources reviewed by experts in the field before the reference is published. This is a form of quality control in academic publishing. In the library catalog you have the option to only view "peer-reviewed" items.
Scholarly Source:
Sources such as articles, journals, and books, written by experts in the field. Intended audience is scholars or academics with the purpose of giving in-depth information and communication on a topic. "Peer-Reviewed" sources would be an example of a scholarly source.
Credible Source:
Sources that contain accurate information that be verified in or by another trusted source. Credible sources include all scholarly resources plus reputable magazines and newspapers, government and university websites, textbooks, and encyclopedias. Checking the credentials of the author will help you verify the credibility of your source.
This guide contains resources that you can use for assignments and projects for your dual enrollment courses at Young Women's Preparatory Academy. Each top tab contains information for a different dual enrollment course offered through Miami Dade College.
To access more resources about what you need to know about starting college, studying tips, and other resources visit our main Dual Enrollment Guide!
To access the library's resources at any time, visit the Learning Resources homepage and log in.
Learn more about common library lingo you'll hear from your professors on this home page!
There are many resources you can access online. For example:
This LibGuide provides a variety of tools for getting started with Canvas, assignments, assessments, grades, and the Canvas student app.
Learn how to access your course in Canvas, view helpful tutorials, and find the answer to frequently asked questions.
Learn about how tutoring works at Miami Dade College - Here
Questions about this LibGuide? Contact:
Chudney Jordan
Learning Resources Professional
Padrón Campus
cjordan@mdc.edu
