LibGuides: Young Women's Prep Dual Enrollment Resources : SLS1510

Course Description

SLS 1510: Preparing for Student Success

This course provides an orientation to college life and helps develop academic, career, and personal goals. Students will learn college success strategies, goal-setting, learning style assessments, as well as general and discipline-specific study skills in the context of various theoretical, practical, and experiential perspectives.

Additional Resources

Homework Help

Learning Resources tutors and librarians offer support in-person or online. To schedule an appointment with a tutor or librarian, click here.

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Upgrade to General OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.

Funded by: State Library of Florida
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
(JSTOR) - Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
SIRS Researcher This link opens in a new window
(SIRS) - Integrated online access to full-text articles and Internet resources from SIRS reference databases by ProQuest - SIRS Researcher, SIRS Government Reporter, SIRS Renaissance and SIRS NetSelect.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)