LibGuides: Economics-Library Resources: Open Educational Resources (OER)

About this page

This page contains links to freely available textbooks, journals, video tutorials, and other materials related to economics.

For general information on Open Educational Resources (OER), see the following websites:

Open Textbook Collections

British Columbia Campus Open Campus Textbook List
Openly licensed textbooks created or listed by BCCampus, a consortium of post-secondary educational institutions in British Columbia, Canada.
College Open Textbooks
A collection of free economics textbooks available online or for download.
CoreEcon
Teaching economics as if the last three decades had happened. Open Access introductory text for undergraduates. Registration is required but it is easy to do. Text is available as printable PDFs or as an Inkling app for the IPad.
Directory of Open Access Books
Openly accessible (and many openly licensed) electronic books. Nearly 2,500 books as of January 2015. Includes search and browse finding features. Many times from international publishers and strong focus on humanities and social sciences
Find free online course materials related to a book (search by ISBN)
The Global Text Project
Publishes open content electronic textbooks that are freely available. They focus on content development and Web distribution, and work with relevant authorities to facilitate dissemination by other means when bandwidth is unavailable or inadequate. The goal is to make textbooks globally available to the many who cannot afford them.
Lumen Learning
Lumen Learning provides a textbook on Economics that covers various chapters such as Economic Growth, Challenges to Efficient Outcomes, and Unemployment.
Merlot
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
OER Commons
OER Commons provides a curated collection of textbooks and resources for Economic studies.
OpenStax College
Open Stax provides a collection of textbooks on Principles of Economics, Principles of Microeconomics and Principles of Macroeconomics.
OpenSUNY Textbooks
A growing collection of openly licensed textbooks in a wide variety of topics.
Open Textbook Library
From the University of Minnesota, this collection of e-textbooks includes books on economic analysis, microeconomics, and more. The books are openly licensed, complete, and suitable for adoption. There is also a paid option for students who want to get a print edition.
Saylor Academy Bookshelf
Each of the books in the Saylor Academy bookshelf is freely available for download, online reading, and sharing under one of various open licenses.

Open Educational Resources

Rising Textbook Prices Mirror Rising Drug Costs

What are the impacts of adopting OER?

What Are the Impacts of Adopting OER?

From Lumen Learning -- check the calculator to see how OER can increase student success!

More Resources

GALILEO Open Learning Materials
GALILEO Open Learning Materials brings together open educational resources throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials.
OER Commons
A large collection of a variety of types of OER, including textbooks, courses, and ancillary materials
Teaching Commons
The Teaching Commons showcases high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities and makes them available to educators and students around the world.
Lumen Learning
Affordable, simple-to-adapt OER course materials that improve learning.
Merlot
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
Open Course Library
The Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts.
SUNY OER Ready-to-Adopt Courses
SUNY OER Services is a shared services organization for SUNY institutions looking to build, support, and expand Open Educational programs and practices.
The Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
Real-time federated search for OER content.
California State University: Course Materials Finder Tool
Enter a book's ISBN to search for freely available related materials.

TED ED: Lessons Worth Sharing
Economics: Create and share lessons around any TED-Ed original, TED Talk or YouTube Video.

Crash Course Series: Economics
This YouTube crash course series with Jacob Clifford and Adriene Hill starts out by discussing what economics is and is not.
Snag Films
Offers a powerful tool to raise awareness of important issues not covered by the mainstream news. Provides citizens with the information and perspectives essential to creating a more just, sustainable, and democratic society.

Economics & Finance - edX
Learn the key macroeconomic and microeconomic indicators and how they drive economic policy and financial decision-making. Explore topics in risk management, pricing models, globalization and more with courses from Caltech, MIT, TsinghuaX and other top institutions worldwide.
Future Learn - Economics
Future learn provides courses on economics such as "The Politics of Economics and the Economics of Politicians", "Economics of Crime", and "Exploring Economics: Will the Next Generation Be Worse Off?"
Khan Academy - Economics and Finance
Videos and lessons that define Economics and introduce some of the fundamental tools and perspectives economists use to understand the world around us.
MIT Open Courseware
MIT's Economics department offers an extensive series of online courses. Courses generally include lecture videos, assignments, exams, and more.
Open Yale - Economics Studies
The Department of Economics at Yale offers a wide spectrum of courses for both specialists and non-specialists alike. For undergraduate majors, a core of courses in macro- and microeconomics, mathematics, and econometrics is required. Advanced courses offer training in economic history, finance, theory, international and developmental economics, market organization, human resources, and the public sector.
Coursera
Every course on Coursera is taught by top instructors from the world’s best universities and educational institutions. Courses include recorded video lectures, auto-graded and peer-reviewed assignments, and community discussion forums

To log in: Borrower ID = MDC student or employee number ; PIN = last 4 digits of MDC student or employee number.

Economics periodical databases:

eBooks:

EBSCO eBooks: Economics

Streaming video:

Other OER lists

Many universities have research guides related to finding OER and provide lists of various repositories and resources.

Simon Fraser University

University of British Columbia

Kwantlen Polytechnic University

British Columbia Institute of Technology

University of Victoria

University of Northern British Columbia

1. Stock Wars-Virtual Investing

Simulation is based on real market trends and users are provided with some virtual money, and they have to put that money to the market that runs similar trends as those of real market.

2. Khan Academy

If you are new to the economics world, then Khan Academy is the best application to learn more about principles of macro/microeconomics. This world-renowned learning platform can be considered as the Wikipedia for the students. Khan Academy provides a quicker way to refresh your concepts of economics and finance.

3. World Bank Data Finder

The DataFinder app is available to users on major mobile platforms and in four different languages. The application is handy in accessing national, regional, and global data. It also inculcates policy data related to several areas of the education system. App users can access data based on several parameters such as topic, indicator, and country. Data is available in various forms such as tables, charts, or maps.

4. Yahoo Finance

Yahoo Finance is freely available on Google Play Store and it is famous because of its accurate delivery of financial reports and classy articles, analysis, and international financial markets data.

5. Stock Market HD

This mobile application was initially designed for investors, but with time it became handy for economists too. It provides them information related to stock prices and ups & downs in the share market. The unique feature about this app is that one can access the history of stocks of any company.