Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Florida Memory Project
Provides online access to a selection of original records, photographs and other materials from the historical collections of the State Library and Archives of Florida.
Florida Department of State, Division
Florida Heritage Collection
Managed by the University of Florida
Publication of Archival Libraries and Museum Materials
PALMM is a cooperative initiative of the public universities of Florida to provide digital access to important source materials for research and scholarship. Some of the excellent collections it includes are Archive Florida, the Florida Heritage Collection, Florida Historical Legal Documents, and the Sanborn Fire Insurance Company Maps. Electronic finding aids for collections at FSU are found here.
Viva Florida 500
Website dedicated to Florida's 500th Anniversary (in 2013). Points to many historical resources to visit and learn more about Florida's rich history.
Museum of Florida History
The physical museum (located at 500 S. Bronough Tallahassee, FL, in the historic, old Capital Building) and website offer highly informative exhibits on several centuries of Florida history.
Issues in Florida
Responsible Growth Management
Marijuana: Medical and recreational
Health care system
Education system from early education programs to higher education
Family planning programs
Invasive Species in Florida
Climate Change in Florida
Immigration detention centers
Arts and culture
Mental Health services
Resilient city planning
Substance and opioid abuse
People with disabilities
Books on Florida History
Profiles of Florida by The second volume of the Profiles of... series, this guide is an expansion of the chapter on Florida from the publisher's Profiles of America, a four-volume reference of 42,000 places across the country. The six sections consist of profiles, education, ancestry, and weather, with special sections on the Hispanic and Asian populations, but omitting other ethnicities. The reference provides Census data on 874 places and 67 counties in categories of geography, economy, ancestry, housing, transportation, industry, education, population, health, religion, weather, and safety; school district information, rankings, and test scores; ethnic demographics and rankings; and weather stations. Profiles are alphabetical by county then city, while ancestry statistics are alphabetical by city.
Call Number: REF HC 107 F6 P764 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Florida by As if Ponce de Leon, who happened on the peninsula in 1513, returned today to demand a quick reckoning ("Tell me what happened after I was there, but leave out the boring parts!"), Michael Gannon recounts the longest recorded history of any state in the nation in twenty-seven brisk, fully illustrated chapters. From indigenous tribes who lived along spring-fed streams to environmentalists who labor to "Save Our Rivers," from the first conquistadors whose broad black ships astonished the natives to the 123,000 refugees whose unexpected immigration stunned South Floridians in 1980, the story of the state is as rich and distinctive as the story of America. And it's older than most people think. As Gannon writes, "By the time the Pilgrims came ashore at Plymouth, St. Augustine was up for urban renewal. It was a town with fort, church, seminary, six-bed hospital, fish market, and about 120 shops and houses. Because La Florida stretched north from the Keys to Newfoundland and west to Texas, St. Augustine could claim to be the capital of much of what is now the United States." Gannon tells his fast-marching saga in chronological fashion. Starting with the wilderness of the ancient earth, he fills the landscape with Indians, colonists, pioneers, entrepreneurs, politicians, and the panorama of Florida today--"the broad superhighways that wind past horse farms, retirement communities, international airports, launch pads, futuristic attractions, and come to rest, finally, amidst the gleaming towers of Oz'like cities."
Call Number: F311 G34 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Finding Florida by Over its long history, Florida has been many things: a native realm protected by geography; a wilderness that ruined Spanish conquistadors; a place to start over; "god's waiting room." Today Florida is our fourth most populous state, with nineteen million. The site of vicious racial violence, including massacres, slavery, and the roll-back of Reconstruction, Florida is now one of our most diverse states, a dynamic multicultural place with an essential role in 21st century America. However, the remarkable story of Florida has been distorted and whitewashed. In 'Finding Florida: The True History of the Sunshine State', journalist T.D. Allman reclaims this remarkable history from the mythologizers, apologists, and boosters. Allman traces the discovery, exploration, and settlement of Florida, its transformation from a swamp to a paradise. Palm Beach, Key West, Miami, Tampa, and Orlando boomed, fortunes were won and lost, land was stolen and flipped, and millions arrived.
Call Number: F311 A44 2013
Publication Date: 2013
It Happened in Florida by From Ponce de Leon's discovery of the "Land of Flowers" in 1513 to the suspense of the 2000 presidential election, It Happened in Florida takes readers on a behind-the-scenes tour of thirty of the most compelling episodes from the Sunshine State's vibrant past. This revised edition includes brand new glimpses into Florida history, a map, and a thorough index.
Call Number: F311.6 W75 2010
Publication Date: 2009
From the Swamp to the Keys: a paddle through Florida History by The author travels the Sunshine State from north to south along some of its most famous rivers, swamps, salt marshes, and open waters in search of Florida's disappearing history. This personal travelogue of his two-month expedition begins in a canoe at the Okefenokee Swamp, headwaters of Florida's best-known river. Paddling the dark Suwannee, Molloy curves through the scenic and sometimes wild Big Shoals, past sparkling clear springs--Troy and Turtle and Rock Bluff and more--to the Gulf of Mexico, where he transfers his grub, life jacket, and portable computer into a sea kayak. He continues past Tampa Bay into the Everglades and then heads due south, ending his voyage at Long Key and the Atlantic Ocean. Molloy focuses here on the state's history, human and natural, and on the interplay between the land and the water around it. He describes attempts made through the centuries to explore them, conquer them, and, finally, to coexist with and preserve them. He also invites readers to eavesdrop on his conversations with characters along the way, from anglers on the Suwannee River to crabbers off the shore of Everglades City. Best of all, Molloy invites readers to join him on this remarkable excursion -- either from their armchairs, following his references to bridges, highways, and towns along the route and charting his journey on the maps provided, or by taking to the water themselves--to soak up the sunshine and soft Florida air, to listen to the evening frogs and crickets, and to ponder the mystery of what has been lost in Florida and what might yet be saved.
Call Number: F316.2 M65 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Florida Place Names by - Origin and meaning of the name of every county and most incorporated cities in Florida - The Indian names in Florida, often fancifully translated, actually described places in terms useful to the Indians, for example, "cow ford, " "rabbit creek, " and "fallen tree" - Paints a rich historical portrait of the state and reveals the dreams, memories, and sense of humor of Floridians
Call Number: REF F309 M673 1995
Publication Date: 1995
Retrieved from Google Images
Florida Memory Project
"More than 400,000 individual records from select collections housed in the State Library and Archives of Florida. Collections include: photographs, postcard collection, video, audio, exhibits and classroom information." (Florida Memory)
Retrieved from Florida Memory Project
Florida Native Americans
Indians of Central and South Florida, 1513-1763 by John Hann, a preeminent authority and prize-winning author of books on Florida's native peoples, offers here the first survey available of Indians of the peninsula south of Timucua and Apalachee territory, from their earliest contact with Europeans to their disappearance in the 18th century. Hann discusses the peoples who occupied an area south of a line drawn roughly from the mouth of the Withlacoochee River eastward to Turtle Mound, located a little north of Cape Canaveral. He focuses on the Calusa of the southwest coast, the people of the Tampa Bay region, and the Surruque and Ais and their kin of the east coast from Turtle Mound southward through the Keys, as well as their hinterland kin from the St. Johns through the Kissimmee valleys. Hann offers new insights on subjects such as the marriages and political alliances of chiefs, and his topics range from beverages and household utensils to ceremonial items, musical instruments, and fishing techniques and tools.
Call Number: E78 F6 H35 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Florida Hurricane history
Florida's Hurricane History by The Sunshine State has an exceptionally stormy past. Vulnerable to storms that arise in the Atlantic, Caribbean, and Gulf of Mexico, Florida has been hit by far more hurricanes than any other state.
Early efforts by the French, Spanish and English to claim the territory as their own were often thwarted by hurricanes. More recently, storms have affected such massive projects as Henry Flaglers Overseas Railroad and efforts to manage water in South Florida.
The author traces all of the notable hurricanes that have affected the state over the last four-and-a-half centuries, from the great storms of the early colonial period to the devastating hurricanes of 2004 and 2005 - Charley, Frances, Ivan, Jeanne, Dennis, Katrina, and Wilma. In addition to providing a comprehensive chronology of more than one hundred individual storms, Florida’s Hurricane History includes information on the basics of hurricane dynamics, formation, naming, and forecasting. It explores the origins of the U.S. Weather Bureau and government efforts to study and track hurricanes in Florida, home of the National Hurricane Center. But the book does more than examine how hurricanes have shaped Florida’s past; it also looks toward the future, discussing the serious threat that hurricanes continue to pose to both lives and property in the state.
Call Number: QC945 B35 2007
Publication Date: 2007
A Concise Natural History of East and West Florida by Annotated edition of this early and rare description of both the European settled areas and the adjoining Indian lands in what are now the states of Florida, Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, and Louisiana. Concise Natural History can be placed firmly in the genre of colonial promotional literature. Romans's book was an enthusiastic guide aimed at those seeking to establish modest holdings in the region:"What a field is open here! . . . No country ever had such inexhaustible resources; no empire had ever half so many advantages combining in its behalf!" Romans explained how settlers should travel to the area, what they would need in terms of provisions and tools, and what it would cost to have their land surveyed. In addition to providing an abundance of practical advice, Romans also offered information about the history of earlier settlements, including the earliest and most complete account of New Smyrna near St. Augustine.Romans also presented unique information about the various Indian tribes he encountered. In fact, historians agree that among the most useful portions of the book are Romans's descriptions of the largest Indian tribes in the 18th-century Southeast: the Creeks, Choctaws, and Chickasaws. Romans's account of the diet of the Creeks and Choctaws is one of the most complete available. And his description of the location of Choctaw village sites is one of the best sources for this information.
Call Number: QH105 F6 R66 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Roadside History of Florida by The "Roadside History" series charts a course to the present through carefully selected and thoroughly researched stories relating what we see today with what happened before. Through vivid anecdotes, old photographs, and maps, the "Roadside History" guides provide entertaining insight into the states they describe. Each state is divided into geographical and historical regions, and each region is described in the context of highways that pass through it. This "road log" approach helps place modern travelers in the past. Roadside History of Florida invites readers to explore the Sunshine State's rich history while enjoying its natural beauty.
Call Number: F311 W32 1997
Publication Date: 1997
Retrieved from Google Images
Retrieved from Google Images
Content is original to Sandra Stipins Libguide on the 500 Years of Florida from the University of Central Florida