In this course, students will learn the roles of exercise, physical activity, diet, and stress management in achieving optimal wellness. Students will explore current developments in health and complete lab assignments, which will assist in the determination of their current health status. Individualized exercise and dietary protocols based on these assessments will be developed
Competency 1: The student will demonstrate knowledge and skills in health promotion.
Competency 2: The student will explore current developments in health.
Competency 3: The student will demonstrate competency in health assessment.
The College Student's Guide to Mental Health
by
Easy, accessible guidance for addressing an essential element to college success: mental health While being in college can be an exciting time, it can also be a period of uncertainty, anxiety, loneliness, and even depression. The College Student's Guide to Mental Health is for any college student who wants to understand and maintain mental and emotional health. Mia Nosanow, a licensed psychologist and college therapist, has drawn upon her more than twenty years of direct experience counseling a diverse college student body to write a comprehensive mental and emotional health manual designed specifically for college students. Presented in clear, practical language and organized in short chapters, this book breaks down common problems and provides actionable strategies for addressing them. Whether students want to understand challenging emotions, transform negative thoughts, improve relationships, or explore the connection between time management and mental health, these topics and more can be found in this one book -- a valuable tool for college students as well as the families and professionals who support them.
Mindfulness and Meditation
by
From hormones to homework, parents to peers, health issues to bad habits, life can be a pressure cooker. How can we find relief? Author Whitney Stewart introduces readers to the practice of mindfulness. With its roots in ancient Buddhist teachings, mindfulness--the practice of purposefully focusing attention on the present moment--can change a person's approach to stress, develop skills to handle anxiety and depression, and provide a sense of awareness and belonging. Stewart guides readers through how to get started with meditation as well as provides specific exercises for examining emotions, managing stress, checking social media habits and wellness routines, and setting intentions to increase happiness. "A thorough and accessible resource for young people."--Kirkus Reviews "Considering the range of challenges that today's teens face, equipping them with pertinent coping skills is crucial for their future success and well-being. . . . [S]traightforward and refreshing."--School Library Journal
The Mindful College Student
by
The perfect gift for the college-bound student! Based on the popular Mindfulness-Based College (MBC) program at Brown University, this book offers powerful skills to increase academic success and boost mental, physical, spiritual, and emotional health--now and for a lifetime. College is a time of transition. It's a time for learning and preparing to make your own way in the world. But if you're like many teens and young adults, the thought of leaving home and being on your own in a new place can also be intimidating--even overwhelming. That's why you need a solid foundation to help you manage stress, stay focused, and maintain healthy habits--in body, mind, and spirit. Grounded in evidence-based mindfulness, The Mindful College Student will help you cultivate the cognitive and emotional skills you need to increase well-being and reach your highest aspirations. You'll also learn positive coping strategies for dealing with stress, sadness, and anxiety--including diet, fitness, and sleep habits. Most importantly, you'll discover three core self-regulation skills to help steer you toward the life you want: self-awareness, attention control, and emotion regulation. Get ready to take on the world with this fun and informative guide, filled with everything you need to face all of the challenges of college life--and beyond!
The Unapologetic Guide to Black Mental Health
by
An unapologetic exploration of the Black mental health crisis--and a comprehensive road map to getting the care you deserve in an unequal system. We can't deny it any longer: there is a Black mental health crisis in our world today. Black people die at disproportionately high rates due to chronic illness, suffer from poverty, under-education, and the effects of racism. This book is an exploration of Black mental health in today's world, the forces that have undermined mental health progress for African Americans, and what needs to happen for African Americans to heal psychological distress, find community, and undo years of stigma and marginalization in order to access effective mental health care. In The Unapologetic Guide to Black Mental Health, psychologist and African American mental health expert Rheeda Walker offers important information on the mental health crisis in the Black community, how to combat stigma, spot potential mental illness, how to practice emotional wellness, and how to get the best care possible in system steeped in racial bias. This breakthrough book will help you: Recognize mental and emotional health problems Understand the myriad ways in which these problems impact overall health and quality of life and relationships Develop psychological tools to neutralize ongoing stressors and live more fully Navigate a mental health care system that is unequal It's past time to take Black mental health seriously. Whether you suffer yourself, have a loved one who needs help, or are a mental health professional working with the Black community, this book is an essential and much-needed resource.
Health and Wellness
by
Theme: Hi-Lo, life skills, career, achieve independence, skills, health and safety. Eating a balanced diet and getting regular exercise are important parts of maintaining good health. However, there are many other aspects that often go overlooked when it comes to overall wellness. From having regular medical checkups to caring for your mental health, understaning how to better care for your mind, body, and spirit can help you live a happier, healthier life. Combining practical content with visual appeal, the Life Skills Handbooks read more like magazines than books. These 120-page handbooks are designed to teach life skills to today's teens in an approachable and non-threatening way. Realistic scenarios help teens grasp the relevance of the information in these books, and tables, graphs, and charts add to students' understanding. Essential vocabulary is featured to help students build real-world literacy.
Sensing Health
by
In the age of Apple Watches and Fitbits, the concept of "health" emerges through an embodied experience of a digital health device or platform, not simply through the biomedical data it provides. Sensing Health: Bodies, Data, and Digital Health Technologies analyzes popular digital health technologies as aesthetic experiences to understand how these devices and platforms have impacted the way individuals perceive their bodies, behaviors, health, and wellbeing. By tracing design alongside embodied experiences of digital health, Kressbach shows how these technologies aim to quantify, track and regulate the body, while at the same time producing moments that bring the body's affordances and relationship to the fore. This mediated experience of "health" may offer an alternative to biomedical definitions that define health against illness. To capture and analyze digital health experiences, Kressbach develops a method that combines descriptive practices from Film and Media Studies and Phenomenology. After examining the design and feedback structures of digital health platforms and devices, the author uses her own first-person accounts to analyze the impact of the technology on her body, behaviors, and perception of health. Across five chapters focused on different categories of digital health-menstrual trackers, sexual wellness technologies, fitness trackers, meditation and breathing technologies, and posture and running wearables-Sensing Health demonstrates a method of analysis that acknowledges and critiques the biomedical structures of digital health technology while remaining attentive to the lived experiences of users. Through a focus on the intersection of technological design and experience, this method can be used by researchers, scholars, designers, and developers alike.
Dive into our library's subject-specific databases to discover a world of articles, eBooks, videos, essays, and more!
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research. It offers full-text access to a substantial portion of the most frequently cited journals in the CINAHL index, surpassing other databases. Providing 1,815 active full-text journals valued at $478,475.88, this database covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.