Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OpenAthens - The New Authentication Method for Library Resources: Updating Old Links

Method 1: Using the Link Updater

Instructions:

Enter your old non-athenized LINCCWeb Link in the first box and click the "Convert Button" below to automatically generate the new OpenAthens link.

Tips:

1. You may paste multiple links at the same time as long as they are separated in a new line by pressing enter after each link.
2. This tool only converts Resource Links (which begin with "www.linccweb.org") and Direct Links/Permalinks (which contain "db16.linccweb.org" in the link). It can also convert some EZProxy links.
3. Resource links will always be sorted first and will appear at the top of the converted results, while Permalinks and EZProxy links will be sorted second.
4. Links copied and pasted directly from the top of the address bar are not supported.
5. All links must begin with either HTTP or HTTPS.

Old Link(s):




New Athenized Link(s):

Having trouble with this script?
Contact the developers at aherna19@mdc.edu or aleyva1@mdc.edu for assistance.

Version 2.5
Last Updated on 8/30/21.

Method 2: Manually Updating Links

If for some reason, method 1 does not work for you, you can try the following steps.

Updating Resource Links:

A Resource Link is a LINCCWeb link that takes you directly to a specific database's home page.

For example:

  • https://www.linccweb.org/eresources.aspx?resourcekey=fsarchgrid#subid=3522

This link takes you to the homepage for the database ArchiveGrid (OCLC). Resource links always begin with the domain "www.linccweb.org". Notice the part in bold is what changes and determines the database and the highlighted part is what lets you know its a Resource Link.

The new OpenAthens Link equivalent for this database would be:

 

Updating Direct Links:

A Direct Link is a link that has been created by a librarian by using a LINCCWeb redirector that takes you directly to a specific page on a database. A redirector is needed in all Direct Links so that you are prompted for your credentials. Otherwise, the page will fail to load without authentication.

For example:

  • https://db16.linccweb.org/login?url=https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=16925&xtid=53152

This link takes you to a specific video page on the Films on Demand database. Notice the part in bold is what changes and determines the specific link in the database where the user should go. The highlighted part is what lets you know its a Direct Link because it begins with db16.linccweb.org.

This link can be easily converted to OpenAthens by simply replacing the highlighted portion with "https://go.openathens.net/redirector/mdc.edu?url=". The athenized link would look like this:

Although the link above will work, the bolded part of the link should be encoded before it can fully work without any issues in some databases. You can use Google's Admin Toolbox, which is free, and allows you to instantly encode or decode a URL.

 

What about Permalinks?

A Permalink is a link that has been generated by the database and contains "db16.linccweb.org" somewhere in the link along with other parameters preceding it. You usually have to click on a button or copy the link from a special box in the database to obtain it instead of copying it directly from the browser's address bar. Permalinks function in the same way as Direct Links but are constructed differently and are less likely to have errors than links manually created by a person. Because Permalinks are machine auto-generated, they are much more complex and require a lot of manipulation to convert to OpenAthens. The Link Updater tool above should be used every time to convert these links.

Quick Reference Links

New A-Z Databases Page:

https://libraryguides.mdc.edu/az.php
 

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO):

https://libraryguides.mdc.edu/AcademicSearchComplete


Opposing Viewpoints (Gale):

https://libraryguides.mdc.edu/OpposingViewpoints

OpenAthens Link Generator

Trying to create an OpenAthens link from scratch instead of converting a link?
Consider using the OpenAthens Link Generator.