Contains eight chapters of the major areas of film construction and production. The discussion covers theme, genre, narrative structure, character portrayal, story, plot, directing style, cinematography, and editing. Important terminology is defined and types of analysis are discussed and demonstrated.
Addresses the many steps of creating and then producing physical, printed, or other imaged products that people interact with on a daily basis. It covers the concept that, while most modern graphic design is created on computers using design software, the ideas and concepts don’t stay on the computer. The ideas need to be completed in the computer software, then progress to an imaging (traditionally referred to as printing) process.
This is a free textbook offered by Amazon for reading on a Kindle. Anybody can read Kindle books--even without a Kindle device--with the free Kindle app for smartphones and tablets. Download the app for your device and start reading for free. This volume contains all the instructions necessary for the complete practice of the daguerrean and photogenic art, both on metallic plates and on paper.
A product of shared effort by numerous team members and anonymous editors. Its purpose is to teach people how to create three-dimensional computer graphics using Blender, a free software application. This book is intended to be used in conjunction with other on-line resources that complement it.
Provides the developer with an understanding of the various elements of web development by focusing on the concepts and fundamentals through the examples within, providing a foundation that allows easier transition to other languages and a better understanding of how to approach their work.
This handbook provides instruction and tools to produce your own podcast — whether you are a professional in journalism, the arts, sciences, business or law, an activist or just someone who has a story to tell. The tools discussed are focused on keeping costs low for entry-level podcasters and designed to help anyone who wants to record, edit and distribute podcasts.
Audio recording is an important component of digital media productions. In this lesson students will make a short recording to learn the basics of Audacity, a free and open-source digital audio editor and recording application software, available for Windows, macOS/OS X and Unix-like operating systems.
This is an assignment for an Introduction to Media course. The activity includes students comparing and contrasting historic radio productions and contemporary podcasts. Students then choose their own short story, essay, poem, etc. that is approximately 200-300 words and/or under 5 minutes when read aloud. Students create a transcript of their story selection and create an audio recording on Padlet.com, a free media platform. Students then share their readings with classmates, listen to each other's recordings and discuss several creative attributes of their audio recordings.
This course will build on foundational artistic and technical animation skills to prepare students for specific career paths in the Animation industry. Students will refine artistic skills and competencies and examine the variety of jobs in creating and producing within the professional animation industry.
A range of photography courses are available including: Photography Basics and Beyond; Camera, Exposure, and Photography; Seeing Through Photographs; Principles of Photo Composition and Digital Image Post-Production; Photography Techniques, Camera Control; and Fundamentals of Digital Image and Video Processing
A range of graphic design courses are available including: Fundamentals of Graphic Design; UI / UX Design; User Interface Design, How to Create a Website in a Weekend; Design Thinking for Innovation; Interactive Computer Graphics.
Additional web design courses are available including: Web Design for Everybody; Introduction to Web Development; Web Design, Wireframes to Prototypes; Responsive Web Design; Introduction to HTML5; and Interaction Design.
Provides a project-based visual arts program, which guides students to achieve the standards in the visual arts and career technical training, by providing students with the technical instruction and practical experiences for aspiring video and film makers in the production of film, video, and new media projects for business and entertainment.
"The Mason OER Metafinder helps you find Open Educational Resources. It is a real-time federated search for OER content. MOM's contribution to the progress of Open Education is to concentrate on OER discovery—helping you find current content wherever it resides.
The OER Metafinder performs a simultaneous search across 18 different sources of open educational materials."
"Explore 754,731 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections.
This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more."
"Discover 29,980,685 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States.
DPLA brings the wealth of U.S. libraries, archives, and museums to your classroom. If it’s your first time using our site, this guide will help you discover the many great resources DPLA offers educators and students."
"Co-sponsored by The Ohio State University and Georgia State University, The DALN is a publicly available archive of personal literacy narratives in a variety of formats (text, video, audio) that together provide a historical record of the literacy practices and values of contributors, as those practices and values change."
A large collection of a variety of types of OER, including textbooks, courses, and ancillary materials.
There are a multitude of OER out there to choose from, including textbooks, courses, multimedia, data, and supplementary materials. These can be found by searching regular search engines (like Google) by using certain keywords but it is much easier to find them through dedicated OER repositories or websites. The examples below are just a sampling of such repositories and websites.
SOL*R is a repository service provided by BCcampus that allows educators to access FREE online learning resources. It facilitates sharing, discovery, reuse, and remixing of a growing collection of content created by BC post-secondary educators.
SOL*R includes learning resources from a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas. Resources range from open textbooks, individual learning activities and tools, all the way to full programs.
Open SUNY Textbooks is a one service of SUNY OER Services, a SUNY service that provides mentoring, technical support, and access to a broad catalog of open textbooks to help incorporate OER into the classroom, lower the cost of higher education, and empower faculty.