Home - Professor Brian Scanlon, M.S. | SLS 1106 (First Year Experience Seminar) | Career-Planning Resources - LibGuides at Miami Dade College Learning Resources

Need Help?

CONTACT A LIBRARIAN

Librarians are available to assist you. Give us a call, or visit your campus library.
North Campus:
305-237-1183
Kendall Campus:
305-237-2292
305-237-2077
Wolfson Campus:
305-237-3451
305-237-4087
Medical Campus:
305-237-4129
Homestead Campus:
305-237-5053
Padron Campus:
305-237-6236
Hialeah Campus:
305-237-8722
West Campus:
305-237-8931
Carrie P. Meek Entrepreneurial Education Center:
305-237-1905

ASK A LIBRARIAN

Text, email, or start a chat with the Ask a Librarian service between 10:00 a.m. and midnight Sunday through Thursday, and between 10:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. Friday and Saturday.

OCCUPATIONAL OUTLOOK HANDBOOK (OOH)

The OOH contains an abundance of highly searchable information regarding virtually every imaginable occupation. Click here to begin your research on topics ranging from pay to work environment to job outlook.

MYCAREERSHINES FOR COLLEGE AND WORKFORCE

This useful website will help you assess your career interests, find information about colleges and financial aid, create an effective résumé, and achieve success in the job-search process.

ADDITIONAL CAREER RESOURCES

Here are some more useful websites for job seekers:

There is no passion to be found playing small — in settling for a life that is less than the one you are capable of living.

— N E L S O N M A N D E L A

The following eBooks offer strategies, tips, and useful suggestions for job seekers. To find more books, search the MDC Library Catalog using the search box below. Suggested keywords include "job hunting," "vocational guidance," "employment interviewing," or "résumés."

Career Rookie: A Get-It-Together Guide for Grads, Students and Career Newbies by Sarah Vermunt
Publication Date: 2019-04-02
This fresh, fun guide gives even the most lost and overwhelmed a way forward. It explores passion, curiosity, uncertainty, self-sabotage, and more on the quest to shake off post-graduation paralysis. Finding the right career can seem impossible, but Sarah Vermunt is the fun-loving, straight-talking coach we all need to make feel-good work a reality.
Creating a Freelance Career by Jill L. Ferguson
Publication Date: 2018-09-18
Creating a Freelance Career covers everything anyone needs to know about becoming a freelance writer, graphic designer, copy editor, artist, musician or any other creative occupation. It includes chapters on how to get started with your career and where to look for work, how to write pitch or query letters, how to work with contract employers, and how to build and sustain your business.
Getting Your First Job by Roberto Angulo
Publication Date: 2017-12-26
Written by the founder of AfterCollege.com, Getting Your First Job is designed to take the stress out of the job search process and help you get an offer. In this book, you'll discover how to identify your talents and strengths, use your network to your advantage, interview with confidence, and evaluate an offer. Written in plain English and packed with step-by-step instructions, it'll have you writing customized resumes, conducting company research, and utilizing online job search sites faster than you can say "I got the job!" Whether you're still in school or navigating the world as a recent graduate, Getting Your First Job arms you with the skills and confidence to make getting your first job an exciting and enjoyable process.
The Introvert's Complete Career Guide: From Landing a Job, to Surviving, Thriving, and Moving On Up by Jane Finkle
Publication Date: 2019-02-01
In today's fast-paced, unstable workplace achieving success requires speaking up, promoting oneself and one's ideas, and taking initiative. In this supportive, all-inclusive handbook, Jane Finkle demonstrates how to use your introverted qualities to their best advantage, then add a sprinkling of extroverted skills to round out a forceful combination for ultimate career success. Finkle shares the keys to navigating each stage of professional development--from self-assessment and job searching, to survival in a new position and career advancement. Equally applicable to the real or virtual workplace, The Introvert's Complete Career Guide provides strategies, tools, and success stories that win you the professional respect and recognition you deserve.
Kick Start Your Career : Successful Strategies and Winning Techniques by Lee Smith; John L. van Genderen
Publication Date: 2018-03-26
For new graduates, the key challenge remains how to secure that first career-related job. Full of guidance and tips on how to handle the complex field of job hunting, Kick Start Your Career can help navigate an ever-changing job market and secure your chance at your desired career. It advises the reader on how to stand out in job applications, use social media for job searching, create resumes and cover letters that stand out, and succeed at interviews. It provides a practical, hands on, step-by-step approach. With an integrated Personal Plan that helps create key job search documents, this book directs soon-to-be graduates towards achieving their career aspirations.
Passion to Careers: Nine Steps to Building a Successful Career From Your Passion by Gugu Khazi
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Gugu Khazi shares nine critical steps that will help you find a job you love (while still building a successful career). These steps will help you to identify your talents, interests, and passion and find work that truly engages, inspires, and fulfils you. You'll also discover practical solutions to common career problems such as: Deciding what skills to develop, which company to work for, and what career to build.
Presenting Yourself: How to Make a Great Impression by Christie Marlowe; Andrew Morkes
Publication Date: 2019-01-01
The saying goes, "You only have one chance to make a first impression." As a result, it's important to develop good manners and etiquette and strong writing and communication skills. Presenting Yourself will help you to develop the skills necessary to land and succeed in a career. It covers everything from developing key soft skills, to crafting job-winning cover letters and résumés, to acing the interview and your first day on the job.
Resumes for Dummies by Laura DeCarlo
Publication Date: 2019-03-19
Polish up that old resume--and land your dream job We've all been there: it's time to apply for a job or internship and you have to create or revise your resume. Many questions pop in your head. What do employers want? What skills should I highlight? How do I format this? How do I get noticed? But resume writing doesn't have to be a daunting task. The latest edition of Resumes For Dummies answers all of these questions and more--whether you're a resume rookie, looking for new tips, or want to create that eye-catching winning resume. In this trusted guide, Laura DeCarlo decodes the modern culture of resume writing and offers you insider tips on all the best practices that'll make your skills shine and your resume pop.

101 Career Myths Debunked by Elizabeth L. Campbell
Call Number: HF5381 .C2545 2022
Publication Date: 2022-08-01
Presents leading-edge, empirically based facts to ease career fears in a way readers can understand and professionals can trust. Harnesses the power of positive thinking with concrete action steps for successful career development. Offers a workbook format with guided activities and response prompts, ideal for career counseling, self-study, or as a course text.
50 Ways to Get a Job: An Unconventional Guide to Finding Work on Your Terms by Dev Aujla; Lodro Rinzler (Foreword by)
Call Number: HF5382.7 .A865 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-03
Job search expert Dev Aujla presents the tried-and-tested steps to not only getting hired, but also the secrets to staying motivated and energized throughout the job hunting process. Filled with practical quick-step exercises, this book is designed so you can pick your path through the process, starting where it feels the most natural. Feeling stuck? Start by sending a "looking for a job" email to five close friends. Not sure what sort of job you want? Write some creative nonfiction about yourself. Feeling overwhelmed? Learn the benefits of forty-five minutes of unplugged bliss. Going on an interview? Practice with a conversation guide. Whether you've just decided to start the hunt or you're gearing up for a big interview, 50 Ways to Get a Job will keep you poised, on-track, and motivated right up to landing your dream career.
Crush Your Career: Ace the Interview, Land the Job, and Launch Your Future by Dee Ann Turner
Call Number: HF5381 .T798 2021
Publication Date: 2021-03-02
We all know someone who is dissatisfied with their career but feels trapped in their current trajectory. What's not always clear is how they got there or, more importantly, how we can avoid the same fate as we develop our own careers. In a competitive job market, we need concrete, field-tested advice to help us ace the interview, land the job, and launch a career we love. Enter Dee Ann Turner. After more than three decades leading teams and coaching staff members at Chick-fil-A, she knows what it takes to build a fulfilling career. In this practical, hands-on book she reveals the secrets of - finding a job - preparing for an interview - conquering the first 90 days - managing work relationships - overcoming mistakes - adding value to your team - and so much more. Anyone entering the job market or hoping to make a transition in their career--along with the parents, teachers, college counselors, or career counselors who coach them--will find invaluable, hard-won advice on how to create a work life you love.
How to Write a Stellar Executive Resume: 50 Tips to Reaching your Job Target by Brenda Bernstein
Call Number: HF5383 .B427 2018
Publication Date: 2018-01-02
How to Write a Stellar Executive Resume is a step-by-step guide that empowers readers to create an effective resume and stand out from the crowd as a top candidate for an executive position. Brenda Bernstein, a Certified Executive Resume Master and author of the #1 Bestseller How to Write a Killer LinkedIn Profile, shares the tips and tricks she's learned from more than two decades of helping job seekers get connected with the right position.
How to Write the Perfect Resume: Stand Out, Land Interviews, and Get the Job You Want by Dan Clay
Call Number: HF5383 .C53 2018
Publication Date: 2018-05-28
Learn the tested and proven resume writing formula that's landed jobs at Google, Salesforce, LinkedIn, and other world-class companies! Whether you're a new graduate looking for your first job, a career veteran angling for your next move, a recent victim of a layoff, or someone looking to dip their toes back into the workplace after taking a few years off, this comprehensive guide aims to be the best--and last--resume writing book you'll ever need for your career.
Indispensable!: Becoming the Obvious Choice in Business and in Life by David Cottrell; Robert Nix
Call Number: HF5549.5.P7 C67 2014
Publication Date: 2014
From international bestselling author and leadership expert Robert Cottrell comes the ultimate insiders guide for anyone who wants to break through and control their professional destiny.
The Job Closer: Time-Saving Techniques for Acing Resumes, Interviews, Negotiations, and More by Steve Dalton
Call Number: HF5382.7 .D358 2021
Publication Date: 2021-04-20
The author of The2-HourJobSearch shows you how to land your dream job, from writing the perfect resume and cover letter to nailing any interview and negotiating your offer. As a career consultant, Dalton has found that job seekers routinely over-invest in trivial aspects of the employment hunt while underestimating the important ones. In this guide, you'll learn how to avoid wasted effort and excel in all areas by using tools such as: The FIT Model, which helps job seekers nail the answer to "Tell me about yourself" using principles from the world of screenwriting. The RAC Model, perfect for writing efficient cover letters and answering "Why this company or job?" in an interview. The CAR Matrix, designed to help you craft compelling interview stories and deploy them in the most powerful way. The Prenegotiation Call, which takes the awkwardness out of asking for more and turns your negotiator from an adversary into a partner. And many more. The Job Closer will leave you with more time for networking, making meaningful connections, and showcasing your unique talents, so your odds of success in landing the perfect job improve exponentially.
Linked: Conquer LinkedIn: Land Your Dream Job. Own Your Future by Jeremy Schifeling; Lindsey Pollak (Foreword by); Omar Garriott
Call Number: HF5382.7 .G378 2022
Publication Date: 2022-05-03
A definitive guide to maximizing LinkedIn and navigating the changing hiring landscape. Written by hiring gurus Omar Garriott and Jeremy Schifeling, both former LinkedIn marketing heads with invaluable insider perspective, the book lays out a five-step job search framework, tying each to discrete actions on LinkedIn.
Pivot: The Only Move That Matters is Your Next One by Jenny Blake
Call Number: HF5381 .B455 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Jenny Blake, bestselling author of Life After College and former career development program manager at Google, shows how to move into your next career phase by leveraging what you already do well.
The Ultimate Job Hunting Book: Write a Killer CV, Discover Hidden Jobs, Succeed at Interview by Patricia Scudamore
Call Number: HF5382.7 .M39 2018
Publication Date: 2019-05-07
This is your complete course in finding that perfect job. From crafting the perfect CV and finding the job of your dreams, to writing a great cover letter and winning at interview, THE ULTIMATE JOB HUNTING BOOK is a dynamic collection of tools, techniques, and strategies for success. Short, punchy chapters mean you can read up quickly and start applying what you've learned immediately.
What Color Is Your Parachute? Your Guide to a Lifetime of Meaningful Work and Career Success by Richard N. Bolles; Katharine Brooks (As told to)
Call Number: HF5549.5.I6 B655 2021
Publication Date: 2021-12-14
What Color Is Your Parachute? is the world's most popular job-hunting guide. This completely updated edition features the latest resources, strategies, and perspectives on today's job market, revealing surprising advice on what works--and what doesn't--so you can focus your efforts on tactics that yield results. At its core is Richard N. Bolles's famed Flower Exercise, a unique self-inventory that helps you design your career--and your life--around your key passions, transferable skills, traits, and more. This practical manual also provides essential tips for writing impressive resumes and cover letters, networking effectively, interviewing with confidence, and negotiating the best salary possible. Whether you're searching for your first job, were recently laid off, or are dreaming of a career change, What Color Is Your Parachute? will guide you toward a fulfilling and prosperous life's work.
Writing on the Job: Best Practices for Communicating in the Digital Age by Martha B. Coven
Call Number: HF5718.5 .C69 2022
Publication Date: 2022-05-31
Writing is an essential skill in today's workplace. From messaging platforms and social media to traditional forms of communication like memos and reports, we rely on words more than ever. Given how much reading we do on mobile devices, being able to write succinctly is critical to success. Writing on the Job is an incisive guide to clear and effective writing for professionals. Martha Coven begins with the basics, explaining how to develop a professional style, get started on a piece of writing, create a first draft, and edit it into a strong final product. She then offers practical advice on more than a dozen forms of writing, from emails and slide decks to proposals and cover letters. Along the way, Coven provides a wealth of concrete examples and simple templates that make the concepts easy to understand and apply.
YouMap: Find Yourself, Blaze Your Path, Show the World! A Step-By-Step Guide to Discover and Land a Job You'll Love by Kristin Sherry
Call Number: HF5382.5.U5 S527 2018
Publication Date: 2018-11-08
Discover the four pillars of career satisfaction, determine your next best career move, and confidently explain your value in your networking conversations, cover letters, resume, LinkedIn profile, and job interviews

Below are selected articles that discuss topics related to career exploration and the job-application process.

MDC students and employees have free access to over 100 subscription-based databases containing popular and scholarly periodicals, ebooks, videos, and other types of information resources. The databases listed below may be particularly useful for job seekers.

AtoZdatabases: Search Jobs, Businesses, or Mailing Lists This link opens in a new window
AtoZdatabases is a premier job search, reference, and mailing list database that includes 30 million business profiles and 220 million residents. It is ideal for sales leads, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends & relatives, and much more!
Student Success Skills (Sage Publications) This link opens in a new window
Student Success equips students with the practical academic and personal skills needed to thrive both in higher education and in their future career. Topics are delivered through multimedia and interactive content and cover core skills including academic writing, critical thinking, information literacy, intercultural awareness, and study strategies.
Peterson’s Test Prep (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Testing & Education Reference Center helps prepare students for specialized tests for college, graduate school, the military, or trade school. It includes preparatory tests from the GED (General Educational Development) to the GRE (Graduate Record Examination General Test). Testing & Education Reference Center provides a variety of search options to help you find all the information you need on private high schools, distance education, two-year programs, undergraduate and graduate programs and executive education programs. The database can also assist you in writing admission's applications essays or resumes. preparatory examinations including entrance exams and certification and licensing tests.

If you can't figure out your purpose, figure out your passion. For your passion will lead you right into your purpose.

— T. D. J A K E S

The first question every interviewer is going to ask you is: ‘What did you learn during the pandemic of 2020? What skills did you add during the pandemic of 2020?’

— M A R K C U B A N

MDC Resources

LOGIN INFORMATION

If prompted for a login, enter your MDC username and password.

LIBRARY CATALOG

Use the MDC Library Catalog to search for print books, eBooks, audiobooks, articles, and audio-visual materials.

WORLD CAT

Search WorldCat, the world's largest network of library content and services.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Need something from another library? Use this form to request items through inter-campus or inter-library loan.

DIGITAL MAGAZINES

Flipster is a free, digital-magazine service that gives MDC users access to magazines on any computer or device. This wide-ranging collection includes content that is useful to job seekers in all fields.

Professor Brian Scanlon, M.S. | SLS 1106 (First Year Experience Seminar) | Career-Planning Resources: Home