LibGuides: Social Networking: MLA

Books on Writing Research Papers

Doing Honest Work in College by Charles Lipson
Call Number: PN171.F56 L56 2008
ISBN: 0226484769
Publication Date: 2008-04-15
This helpful guide explains the principles of academic integrity in a clear, straight forward way and shows students how to apply them in all academic situations—from paper writing and independent research to study groups and lab work.
Student's Guide to Writing College Papers by Kate L. Turabian; Gregory G. Colomb (Editor); Joseph M. Williams (Editor); University of Chicago Press Staff (Editor)
Call Number: LB2369 .T82 2010
ISBN: 9780226816302
Publication Date: 2010-04-15
Provides students with directions and guidelines for writing research papers, covering such topics as finding useful sources, writing a first draft, presenting evidence in tables and figures, revising, and writing the introduction and conclusion.
A Writer's Reference with 2009 MLA and 2010 APA Updates by Diana Hacker
Call Number: REF PE1408 .H2778 2009
ISBN: 9780312664763
Publication Date: 2010-05-24
A Writer's Referenceis the most widely adopted college handbook ever published. The new edition is available in a classic version that provides more help with academic writing, serves a wider range of multilingual students, and lends more support for college research -- all in an easy-to-use quick-reference format.

Books on MLA Style

MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing by Modern Language Association of America Staff (Created by)
Call Number: REF PN147 .G444 2008
ISBN: 0873522974
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Provides information on stylistic aspects of research papers, theses, and dissertations, including sections on writing fundamentals, MLA documentation style, and copyright law.
MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2016
ISBN: 9781603292627
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Previous editions of the MLA Handbook provided separate instructions for each format, and new formats required additional instructions. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any source.
A Guide to MLA Documentation by Joseph F. Trimmer
Call Number: PN147 .T75 2006
ISBN: 9780618646944
Publication Date: 2005-09-01

MLA Websites

Citation Builders

These are free web-based tools that assist you in creating in-text citations and citations for your references page.

Son of Citation Machine
NoodleBib Express
EasyBib App for iPhone
Create MLA style citations by scanning a book bar code or by typing the name of a book.
EasyBib App for Android
Create MLA style citations by scanning a book bar code or by typing the name of a book.

Annotated Bibliography

Annotated Bibliography
Read about annotated bibliographies in this overview of what they are and how to do them.

Subject Guide

Teresita Martinez

Plagiarism

Plagiarism means to use somebody else's ideas and/or words as if they were yours; in other words: plagiarism is a form of theft.

thief

Plagiarism is considered academic dishonesty or academic fraud and offenders are subject to academic punishment depending on the severity of the plagiarism.

ARE YOU PLAGIARIZING? Take the quiz to find out!