LibGuides: Dr. Webb, Homestead Campus: AD Analysis Assignment

Sample Advertisements

How to Cite an Advertisement

To cite an advertisement in a print magazine, follow the MLA format template. Provide the title of the advertisement or a description in place of a title. Then provide the name of the magazine in the “Title of container” slot, followed by the date of the issue and the page number on which the advertisement appears.

EXAMPLE

Advertisement for Head and Shoulders. Newsweek, 17 Mar. 2008, p. 2.

To cite a digital advertisement, provide the URL in place of a page number. If the advertisement is a pop-up ad, provide this information in the optional-element slot at the end of the entry.

EXAMPLE

“Get the Best of The New Yorker.” The New Yorker, 10 Jan. 2017, www.newyorker.com. Pop-up ad.

How to Find an Advertisement for Your Ad Analysis Assignment

Recommended Database

Flipster (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Flipster is a next-generation digital magazine solution that makes it easy for you to read and download (for offline reading) your favorite magazines on your computer or mobile device. Users can browse magazines by category as well as perform searches for specific ones.

Funded by: College

How to Find Articles for your Ad Analysis Assignment

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Watch thousands of streaming films, documentaries and training videos. Kanopy’s award-winning collection includes PBS, Criterion Collection, New Day, California Newsreel, First Run Features, and hundreds of other leading producers -- on every topic imaginable.

Funded by: College

Sample Articles

Narrative and Persuasion in Fashion Advertising.
Phillips, Barbara J., and Edward F. Mcquarrie. “Narrative and Persuasion in Fashion Advertising.” Journal of Consumer Research, vol. 37, no. 3, Oct. 2010, pp. 368–392. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1086/653087.
Fantasy in Food Advertising Targeted at Children.
Rose, Gregory M., et al. “Fantasy in Food Advertising Targeted at Children.” Journal of Advertising, vol. 41, no. 3, Fall 2012, pp. 75–90. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bft&AN=85985335&site=ehost-live.
The Role of Emotions in Advertising: A Call to Action.
Poels, Karolien, and Siegfried Dewitte. “The Role of Emotions in Advertising: A Call to Action.” Journal of Advertising, vol. 48, no. 1, Jan. 2019, pp. 81–90. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1080/00913367.2019.1579688.

YouTube Citation

Example:

McGonigal, Jane. “Gaming and Productivity.” YouTube, uploaded by Big Think, 3 July 2012, www.youtube.com/watch?v=mkdzy9bWW3E.

“8 Hot Dog Gadgets put to the Test.” YouTube, uploaded by Crazy Russian Hacker, 6 June 2016, www.youtube.com/watch?v=WBlpjSEtELs.

Source: https://owl.purdue.edu/owl/research_and_citation/mla_style/mla_formatting_and_style_guide/mla_works_cited_electronic_sources.html