Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Select Stories of Edgar Allan Poe by
Stories include: The Black Cat; The Cask of Amontillado; The Facts in the Case of M. Valdemar; The Fall of the House of Usher; The Gold-Bug; Hop-Frog; The Masque of the Red Death; The Murders in the Rue Morgue; The Pit and the Pendulum; The Purloined Letter; The Tell-Tale Heart; Annabelle Lee; and The Raven.
Edgar Allan Poe by
Gothic master Edgar Allan Poe's complete works are collected in this multivolume set by Blackstone Audio. Here are his short stories, detective fiction, and poems in all their mysterious and macabre glory. Also included are Poe's literary reviews and editorial musings, comprising an often caustic analysis of the poetry, drama, and fiction of the period. This collection includes Poe's famous stories "The Masque of the Red Death," "The Pit and the Pendulum," and "The Tell-tale Heart." Poe's poetry features prominently in this collection, with well-known classics such as "The Raven," "Annabel Lee," and "Lenore" presented alongside lesser-known works like "Eulalie" and "The Conqueror Worm." Poe fans will be treated to his fearless and acerbic analysis of then-modern works, a practice earning him the reputation as a "tomahawk man" in artistic circles.
Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales and Poems by
Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales and Poems features all of Edgar Allan Poe's classic fiction. It includes "The Tell-Tale Heart," "The Black Cat," and other tales of madness and mania; the revenge classics "The Cask of Amontillado" and "Hop Frog"; the gothic chillers "The Fall of the House of Usher" and "The Mask of the Red Death"; "The Murders in the Rue Morgue," "The Mystery of Marie Roget," and "The Purloined Letter," all featuring detective C. August Dupin; the full-length novel "The Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym of Nantucket"; and sixty other stories. This volume also includes more than sixty works of poetry, among them such literary landmarks as "The Raven," "The Bells," "Annabel Lee," "The Haunted Palace," and "The Conqueror Worm." The heroes, heroines, demons, and dreams who populate these poems represent some of the most memorable and imaginatively evoked creations in the English language.
The Cask of Amontillado by
Written in 1846, The Cask of Amontillado is a powerful tale of revenge and is considered universally to be one of Poe's best short stories. Montresor, the sinister narrator of this tale, pledges revenge upon Fortunato for an insult. Montresor intends to seek vengeance in support of his family motto: "Nemo me impune laces sit" (No one assails me with impunity). Simple piano music sets a haunting mood, while narrator Michael Pearl weaves a tale you will never forget.
The Raven by
This is an original multi-voice dramatization of Edgar Allan Poe's masterpiece, "The Raven." The story tells of a forlorn gentleman who is still mourning the loss of his one true love. With a raging storm outside, he peers out into the ever-after. Then, while becoming lost in a state of melancholy, he is visited by an ominous raven with a ghastly single-word vocabulary. With sound effects, music, and multiple characters, follow the emotional spiral of this young man and experience a unique adaptation of this timeless tale in a way never heard before. This edition also includes a historical introduction and a narrative of the life of Edgar Allan Poe.
The Edgar Allan Poe National Historic Site is a preserved home once rented by American author Edgar Allan Poe, located at 532 N. 7th Street, in the Spring Garden neighborhood of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.
