LibGuides: Dr. Webb, Homestead Campus: Film Analysis Assignment

How to Find Articles for your Film Analysis Assignment

Recommended Databases

Swank Motion Pictures This link opens in a new window
Swank Motion Pictures, Inc.®, founded in 1937, is the major non-theatrical movie distributor, online CE/CME education distributor, and public performance licensing agent in venues where feature movies are shown publicly.

Funded by: College
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Examples

The Encyclopedia of Novels into Film by John C. Tibbetts; James M. Welsh; Robert Wise (Foreword by); Rodney Hill (Contribution by); Bruce Hutchison (Contribution by); Gene Phillips (Contribution by)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0816063818
Publication Date: 2005-07-01

Citing a Film (MLA Handbook, page 328)

Work cited entry for film with one publisher

Opening Night. Directed by John Cassavetes, Faces Distribution, 1977.

Citing the Comment Section (MLA Handbook, page 326)

From the Comment Section

Max the Pen. Comment on "Why They're Wrong." The Economist, 29 Sept. 2016, 6:06 p.m., www.economist.com/node/21707926/comments.

Time Stamps (MLA Handbook, page 250)

Cite the relevant time or time span if it is displayed. Give the numbers of the hours, minutes, and seconds as displayed in your media player, separating the numbers with colons, with no space on either side.

Citation

Buffy's promise that "there's not going to be any incidents like at my old school" is obviously not one that she can keep ("Buffy" 00:03:16-17).

Works Cited

"Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Unaired Pilot 1996." YouTube, uploaded by Brian Stowe, 28 Jan. 2012, https://youtu.be/WR3J-v7QXXw.