LibGuides: Faculty Hub for Teaching and Learning Across Multiple Modalities: Teaching & Content Resources

Have a question? Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian
Need research help? Or a Library Instruction session?

Chat with a Librarian online.

Library Catalog

Search MDC's Library Catalog

Find books, articles, videos and more

To log in:

Use your MDC Username and MDC Password to login.
Click here to reset your password if you forgot it.

Databases & Articles

Frequently Used Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Description of this database.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) (Gale) Description of this database.
PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) Description of this database.
Academic OneFile (Gale) Description of this database.
OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition (EBSCO) Description of this database.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) Description of this database.
JSTOR Description of this database.
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO) Description of this database.
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO) Description of this database.

Complete A-Z List of Databases

To log in:

Borrower ID = MDC student ID number
PIN = last 4 digits of MDC student ID number.

Flipster E-Magazines

text Flipster magazines 24/7 and five tablets showing magazine covers

Digital magazines support students and faculty inside and outside the classroom

Tutoring

Online Tutoring
Meet with a tutor virtually.

For MDC Online courses

Student Engagement and Support Resources

MDC faculty have access to many resources for engaging their students in their learning and supporting them in the learning process.

To learn more about these academic support areas and how you can work with them to design your remote course, log in to this Blackboard Org site. (Note: Your MDC log-in credentials are required to access this site.)

Open Educational Resources

Open Educational Resources at MDC
Open educational resources (OER) are free and openly licensed educational materials that can be used for teaching, learning, research, and other purposes.

Ebooks & Audiobooks

Popular fiction and non-fiction ebooks

To log in:

Borrower ID = MDC student or employee number
PIN = last 4 digits of MDC student or employee number.

Alternative Free eTextbooks for Intro Courses

Openstax has E-Textbooks by course for introductory Math, Science, History, Economics, Political Science, Social Sciences & Business courses. Click on the document below if your students do not have access to your current course textbook, and/or you would like to explore more affordable course material (Cost ZERO).

Alternative Free Etextbooks for your courses

Learning Resources Faculty Support

Remote Faculty Support
Request a virtual library instruction, meet with a librarian online, and more

Streaming Video

Swank

Swank Motion Pictures, Inc.® founded in 1937, is the major non-theatrical movie distributor, online CE/CME education distributor and public performance licensing agent in venues where feature movies are shown publicly.

Kanopy

The films in the Media Education Foundation (MEF) Collection encourage critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media. With a special focus on representations of gender and race, and the affect these representations have on identity and culture, MEF films are especially well-suited for use in Women's Studies, Sociology, Race Studies,Communication, Anthropology, Education, and Psychology courses.

Films on Demand

Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.

For more information about Streaming Video
Explore Streaming video options and learn how to embed them in our course.

LR Skillshops for Students

Learning Resources at Miami-Dade College offers a variety of workshops at regularly scheduled times and by request of students and faculty in a variety of subject areas. We strive to prepare Miami-Dade College students to develop the skills needed inside and outside of the academic settings.

For Upcoming Workshops click here

EBSCO Curriculum Builder

How to Use Curriculum Builder

A complete demonstration of using Curriculum Builder to create reading lists for students

MDC Online Master Course Catalog (Summer 2021 Option)

MDC Online 2215 Master Course Catalog

To support faculty during this time of remote learning at Miami Dade College during the Summer of 2021, MDC Online will make available its course catalog to MDC faculty.

MDC Online Master Courses are designed collaboratively by MDC Faculty Developers and MDC Online Instructional Designers using best instructional practices for online learning.

They include learning modules, assessments, and designated text(s). These courses may be customized, but they do not require substantial development of new content.

Faculty may use the MDC Online Master Course content for their Summer 2020 (2215) courses with the following understandings:

In order to use the Master Course files, faculty must be either MDC Online certified or, for Summer 2021 only, have completed the following Blackboard trainings: 1) Blackboard Get Started and Build Your Content, 2) Blackboard Collaborate Ultra and 3) Blackboard Ally.
In order to maintain the integrity of the Proctored Assessment(s) for future terms, all Proctored Assessment(s) in the course must be administered in a proctored setting using ProctorU. Click Here to request a ProctorU Live+ Exam.
If the Proctored Assessment is not administered, an alternative assessment/assignment may be used and adjustments to the gradebook may be necessary.
Using the course-specific textbook/materials of the MDC Online Master Course is strongly recommended as course content, assignments, and assessments are aligned to the textbook. Any textbook change should have been made with a written justification to the department chairperson in order to ensure the required statutory textbook affordability protocols.

Please note: For MDC Online classes, the class sections will be released as content is prepared by the Course Delivery team per the typical procedure. This catalog was developed for sections that are being offered remotely due to the current situation.