Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This compilation of resources is geared toward providing librarians, instructors and educators with the necessary tools for building a robust changemaking focus on campus.
Compassion in Action: Humanizing Politics and Inspiring Global Change - From The New York Times
While scrolling through social media, watching the news, or in class, students are bombarded with humanitarian crisis after humanitarian crisis. Without guidance in how to navigate these issues, young people can be left feeling helpless and overwhelmed.
That’s why Michael Kokozos, an instructor at Gulliver Preparatory School and the University of Miami in Florida, conceptualized this unit for his interdisciplinary global politics course.
The Education Changemaker’s Guidebook to Systems Thinking
This guidebook introduces education stakeholders and changemakers to the theories, language, mindsets and tools of systems thinking for the purpose of informing approaches to systems change.
Upshift Facilitation Guide from Unicef
UPSHIFT is a youth social innovation and social entrepreneurship program from UNICEF, designed to build skills and opportunities for young people who are disadvantaged, due to (for example) poverty, gender, disability or ethnicity. The program empowers young people with the skills and resources they need to identify problems in their own communities and design solutions for them.
Course Models and Syllabi
This resource includes different types of social enterprise course model designs like students writing a Social Business Plan for a venture they are interested in pursuing, developing a Consulting Course with local social ventures, and course sample syllabi.
Cognitive Empathy - Teaching Guide
A comprehensive collection of resources and ideas about implementing facets of empathy education into the curriculum.
Tools for Taking Action
The D School at Stanford University has designed these toolkits with a strong focus on Systems Thinking and Social Innovation.
School Starter Kit
In this online intro to design, you’ll get exposed to a medley of design abilities, methods, and mindsets. You’ll watch videos and learn what design looks like in the real world, as well as discover ‘what design is’ by doing partner activities and discussions. In three hours you’ll learn over 20 concepts and tools that will help you apply human-centered design to your own work.
Campus Starter Kit for Faculty and Staff -- Ashoka
The Campus Starter Kit is designed to help higher education leaders build hubs of social innovation by tapping into the creativity and ingenuity of the campus community.
STEM Advocacy Toolkit
From tips to gaining legislative support to advocacy project examples to spark inspiration, the Advocacy Toolkit, is sure to support your local community in making a big impact to STEM Learning and career pathways.
Be Fearless, Be Kind: An Empathy Toolkit
This toolkit is powered by the expertise and experiences of Start Empathy’s network of Ashoka Changemaker Schools -- over 200 schools around the world who are practicing“changemaker education” in their curricula and culture by distinctively cultivating empathy, leadership, creative problem solving, and teamwork in their students. The activities in this toolkit will help teachers 1) Build the Foundation for empathy and kindness in and out of the classroom, and 2) Activate Empathy and Kindness with specific activities that can be done in class and at home.
Co-Designing Schools Toolkit
The Co-Designing Schools Toolkit helps build the capacity of school communities to set and pursue equity aspirations, so that every student is future-ready, no matter who they are, where they live, or how they learn.
The Causes Diagram helps you think of a problem in a thorough manner and provides a structured way to analyze it. It pushes you to deconstruct all possible causes for the problem rather than the obvious ones. You can use it both to analyze a new problem and as a tool to highlight the gaps in an existing problem.
STEM & Changemaking
National Science Digital Library
The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with a current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines—both formal and informal, institutional and individual, in local, state, national, and international educational settings.
STEM for Social Good
STEM for Social Good provides tactics and resources on how to hack campus curricula offerings so they better equip students with the knowledge and skills to be ethical CS/STEM professionals.
GIST - Girls in STEM
The GiST focuses on addressing the under-representation of girls and women in STEM at school, university, and the workplace. It aims to build female students’ confidence around STEM subjects, and support teachers, as well as encouraging families to engage meaningfully with girls about pursuing careers in STEM.
STEM for Changemaking Challenge
Information on the Changemaker Challenge, the Changemaker Summit, and how changemakers are leveraging STEM initiatives to improve their local communities.
Bringing TED Ed Student Talks to Campus
The TED-Ed Student Talks Program supports students as they discover, explore and present their big ideas in the form of short, TED-style talks. Only educators at schools or educational organizations can submit an application. When an educator is approved, they receive access to a guidebook with activity instructions and idea journals for students.
TED Ed Resources
Browse hundreds of TED-Ed Animations and TED Talks - designed to spark the curiosity of learners. There are thousands of other video-based lessons organized by the subject.
Instructor Development and Webinars
The Social Innovation Lab Guide
This guide to social innovation labs is offered as a resource to peers, colleagues, practitioners, leaders from all sectors, and concerned citizens—all who have and/or will participate in changemaking processes.
Global Oneness Project Webinars
A free multimedia platform for educators and students. Through immersive storytelling and curricula, explore the deeper issues facing humanity. Use award-winning films, photo essays, and essays to learn about social, cultural, and environmental issues from people and communities worldwide.
Stanford Social Innovation Review Webinar Library
Browse through live discussions of important social innovation topics
Steelcase Social Innovation Lab
Steelcase’s Social Innovation Lab was born out of the belief that breakthrough ideas are possible when organizations foster a culture of innovation. They connect changemakers and support new prototypes that make a positive social impact by hosting public challenges based on the United Nation’s Sustainable Development Goals. Get information on their Equity in Education Challenge, Open Workshops, Fellowships and more.
National Humanities Center - Webinars
Live, interactive webinars connect educators with scholars and experts in humanities fields to discuss compelling topics.
The Lab’s 21st Century Skills Micro-credentials: Become a Facilitator
It is a self-paced, online learning experience, approximately 4-6 hours in duration. It is a community experience with facilitators-in-training (i.e., colleagues) around the world. This training addresses many of the common questions associated with the Lab’s micro-credentials and provides a consistent approach to their implementation.
Design Thinking Resources from IDEO
An introduction to design thinking, how it came to be, how it is being used, and steps and tools for mastering it. You’ll find our particular take on design thinking, as well as the perspectives of others.
Humanities & Changemaking
Humanities in Class
The Humanities in Class Digital Library provides access to the best instructional resources and scholarly materials in support of humanities education. Resources are tagged by subject matter, topics and material type, making it easy to discover and combine content you need from institutions you trust.
Digital Humanities and Online Education - Instructor Guide
The National Endowment for the Humanities has compiled a collection of digital resources for K-12 and higher education instructors who teach in an online setting. The resources included in this Teacher's Guide range from videos and podcasts to digitized primary sources and interactive activities and games that have received funding from the NEH, as well as resources for online instruction.
The Zinn Education Project
"A people’s history flips the script. When we look at history from the standpoint of the workers and not just the owners, the soldiers and not just the generals, the invaded and not just the invaders, we can begin to see society more fully, more accurately. The more clearly we see the past, the more clearly we’ll see the present — and be equipped to improve it."
Learning For Justice -- Southern Poverty Law Center
From film kits and lesson plans to the building blocks of a customized Learning Plan—texts, student tasks and teaching strategies—these resources will help bring relevance, rigor and social emotional learning into the classroom.
History Pin collects, curates and structures stories to bring people together, one story at a time, with a focus on local communities and history. Educators can use these resources to highlight community interconnectedness and empathy education.
How to Host a World Cafe
A World Café is an easy-to-use method for creating a living network of collaborative dialogue around questions that matter in service to real work. Cafés in different contexts have been named in many ways to meet specific goals, for example Creative Cafés, Strategy Cafés, Leadership Cafés, and Community Cafés. World Café conversations are based on the principles and format developed by the World Café, a global movement to support conversations that matter in corporate, government, and community settings around the world.
Global Oneness Project
A free multimedia platform for educators and students. Through immersive storytelling and curricula, explore the deeper issues facing humanity.
Intersections of Identity Education Project
This classroom activity is designed to promote student understanding of multiple social identities, intersectionality theory and the complexity of group membership and identities, and the matrix of oppression; to provide experiential student learning opportunities for direct and applied social action with regard to intersecting identities; to develop students’ prosocial behavior and strengthen their public education skills for building community awareness of social inequalities.
The Inequity Catcher
This tool from the D School at Stanford University offers questions to root you in the ongoing work of living a social justice-oriented lifestyle. Engage with these at random, sporadically or as you see fit.
Using Mindmapping to Create Social Solutions Assignment
Assignment Mindmapping is a creativity tool that allows individuals to draw out multiple ideas/words/thoughts in a visual manner that generates more ideas. In order to identify a social need, we will walk through a mindmapping activity that encourages individuals to think out of the box and visualize multiple solutions.
Liberating Structures - 4 Wicked Questions
The activity invites participants to articulate the paradoxical challenges that a group must confront to succeed. Wicked Questions engage everyone in sharper strategic thinking by revealing entangled challenges and possibilities that are not immediately obvious.
Design Thinking Bootleg
These cards were developed by teaching team members, students, as well as designers from around the world. Within the tools you’ll find tangible examples that take you to action. Anyone that is interested in design thinking can use it for inspiration when you get stuck or to generate new ideas for potential ways of doing things.
Solution Journalism Classroom Activities from Solutions U
Expose your students to the vast and complex world of social change through solutions journalism. Each story in the Solutions Story Tracker was published by a reputable news outlet; investigates a response to a social problem in depth; surfaces insights others can use; explores challenges and obstacles; and reports on impact. Participants can copy and customize a SJN teaching collection or create their own using this step-by-step guide and ask students to find, analyze and share a solutions journalism story as part of an assignment.
"What Kind of Changemaker are You? Quiz" from Story of Stuff
In this activity, participants can take the Changemaker Personality Quiz to see how they show up in the world and what role they can play in the Story of Stuff Community and beyond.