Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Let's Be Changemakers: ENT1501 Fundamentals of Changemaking and Social Innovation

An online resource guide addressing social innovation and changemaking education resources

ENT1501

ENT1501 Fundamentals of Changemaking and Social Innovation

This course introduces students to the work of changemaking and the field of social innovation. Students will explore principles of social innovation and social change, while developing the skills to analyze social issues, generate solutions to those issues, and become an effective social change agent. (3 hr. lecture)

Systems Change

Books for Changemakers

Sustainable Development Goals Online collection from Taylor & Francis

Design Thinking
Empathy
Define
Ideate
Prototype
Test

Course Competencies and Resources

The student will explore the field of social innovation and changemaking by:

1. Explaining the historical trajectory of social and environmental issues.

2. Describing social and environmental issues that currently affect society.

3. Utilizing different tools and mechanism to analyze social and environmental issues.

4. Evaluating different pathways to resolve social issues.

Learning Outcomes
  • Communication
  • Information Literacy
  • Cultural / Global Perspective
Databases
Websites
Electronic Periodicals
Annotated Bibliography
Video

Making toast doesn’t sound very complicated -- until someone asks you to draw the process, step by step. Tom Wujec loves asking people and teams to draw how they make toast, because the process reveals unexpected truths about how we can solve our biggest, most complicated problems at work. Learn how to run this exercise yourself, and hear Wujec’s surprising insights from watching thousands of people draw toast.

The student will learn about the skills needed for effective social innovation by:

1. Identifying local and global changemakers/social innovators and understanding their motivation and pathways.

2. Exploring components of transformative leadership.

3. Applying conflict resolution to social problems.

4. Developing resilience and optimism.

5. Applying story-telling techniques.

6. Building relationships.

Learning Outcomes
  • Communication
  • Critical thinking
  • Social Responsibility
  • Ethical Issues
Databases
eBooks
Annotated Bibliography
Websites
Videos

Simon Sinek has a simple but powerful model for inspirational leadership -- starting with a golden circle and the question: "Why?" His examples include Apple, Martin Luther King Jr. and the Wright brothers.

This documentary provides an expansive and compelling overview into the world of social impact bonds (SIBs). THE INVISIBLE HEART calls into question the responsibilities of governments and private citizens as it follows many stakeholders' viewpoints on this innovative social endeavor: policymakers, billionaire investors, under-resourced nonprofit leaders, professors and most importantly, those who need this help the most.

The student will recognize his/her role as a changemaker by:

1. Identifying characteristics he/she exemplifies that align with changemaking.

2. Exploring his or her own social passions, motivations, and aspirations.

3. Explaining how to integrate changemaking into his or her personal and professional life.

Learning Outcomes
  • Communication 
  • Social Responsibility
Personality Tests
Value “Lived Experience"
Documents
The student will describe important concepts of changemaking by:

1. Explaining the role that empathy plays in creating social change.

2. Describing the different types of changemaking such as social entrepreneurship, intrapreneurship, philanthropy, volunteerism, advocacy, and political activism.

3. Explaining the importance of cross-sector collaborations in driving social change.

4. Explaining the methodology of design thinking and its role in change making.

5. Describing the importance of impact assessment for social change initiatives.

Learning Outcomes
  • Communication
  • Social Responsibility
  • Ethical Issues
Annotated Bibliography
Websites
Book
Documents
Videos
The student will create changemaking opportunities by:

1. Analyzing the environment to identify and understand both problems and opportunities.

2. Generating ideas to create solutions.

3. Assessing the benefits of the solutions.

Learning Outcomes
  • Communication
  • Critical thinking
  • Information Literacy
  • Social Responsibility
Design Thinking
Inspiration

“If I’d asked my customers what they wanted, they’d have said ‘a faster horse.’”

Ideation

Linus Pauling

Annotated Bibliography
eBooks
Video

 

As a principal designer for GE Healthcare, Doug had been designing diagnostic imaging equipment for more than 20 years when he realized that young patients' actual experience of this cutting -- edge technology was, well, awful. Children were often so terrified by the prospect of lying alone inside the huge, noisy machine that they often had to be sedated just to get through the experience. Doug put together a team of experts to solve this problem, including staff from a local children's museum, kids and hospital staff. The result was an innovative, design-driven solution that utterly transformed the experience for children. In addition to holding 6 utility patents and over 16 design patents, Doug teaches creative innovation as a part of the GE "innovation at work" initiative and is Lead Design Architect for two key design incubators.