Quick Tips
Access the databases available through MDC by selecting More Databases on the MDC Learning Resources Library webpage.
Search the databases by subject.
Try different keywords and add more than one in order to narrow down or focus the results.
Be sure to add the following filters to your searches, Full Text and Scholarly or Peer Reviewed when applicable.
Login with your MDC username and password.
Contact Learning Resources if you encounter any issues.
Researching
When conducting your search, remember the more keywords you use the more focused your search will be and you'll only have a few specific articles to look through rather than thousands.
Always select Full Text from the filters when available. This is usually located below the search fields where you enter your keywords.
Take advantage of tools such as:
E-mail to send articles to yourself so as not to loose them.
Cite will generate a citation for the article in a variety of styles, including MLA. Simply copy and paste into your References.
Take a quick tour of the important features and controls in the user interface of Blackboard Collaborate:
Additional Resources
Recommended Databases
Books, eBooks, Audio
Click on a title to see its location and availability within the Hialeah Campus Learning Resources.
They Say / I Say by
This book identifies the key rhetorical moves in academic writing. It shows students how to frame their arguments as a response to what others have said and provides templates to help them start making the moves. The fourth edition features many NEW examples from academic writing, a NEW chapter on Entering Online Discussions, and a thoroughly updated chapter on Writing in the Social Sciences. Finally, two NEW readings provide current examples of the rhetorical moves in action.
They Say / I Say by
"They Say / I Say"?identifies the key rhetorical moves in academic writing, showing students how to frame their arguments in the larger context of what others have said and providing templates to help them make those moves. And, because these moves are central across all disciplines, the book includes chapters on writing in the sciences, writing in the social sciences, and--new to this edition--writing about literature.
How to Read Literature Like a Professor Revised Edition by
A thoroughly revised and updated edition of Thomas C. Foster's classic guide--a lively and entertaining introduction to literature and literary basics, including symbols, themes and contexts, that shows you how to make your everyday reading experience more rewarding and enjoyable. While many books can be enjoyed for their basic stories, there are often deeper literary meanings interwoven in these texts. How to Read Literature Like a Professor helps us to discover those hidden truths by looking at literature with the eyes--and the literary codes-of the ultimate professional reader, the college professor. What does it mean when a literary hero is traveling along a dusty road When he hands a drink to his companion When he's drenched in a sudden rain shower Ranging from major themes to literary models, narrative devices and form, Thomas C. Foster provides us with a broad overview of literature--a world where a road leads to a quest, a shared meal may signify a communion, and rain, whether cleansing or destructive, is never just a shower-and shows us how to make our reading experience more enriching, satisfying, and fun. This revised edition includes new chapters, a new preface and epilogue, and incorporates updated teaching points that Foster has developed over the past decade.
How to Read Literature Like a Professor by
What does it mean when a fictional hero takes a journey'. Shares a meal? Gets drenched in a sudden rain shower? Often, there is much more going on in a novel or poem than is readily visible on the surfacea symbol, maybe, that remains elusive, or an unexpected twist on a characterand there's that sneaking suspicion that the deeper meaning of a literary text keeps escaping you. In this practical and amusing guide to literature, Thomas C. Foster shows how easy and gratifying it is to unlock those hidden truths, and to discover a world where a road leads to a quest; a shared meal may signify a communion; and rain, whether cleansing or destructive, is never just rain. Ranging from major themes to literary models, narrative devices, and form, How to Read Literature Like a Professor is the perfect companion for making your reading experience more enriching, satisfying, and fun.
Conducting Research Literature Reviews by
Students and researchers across the social sciences
The Curious Researcher by 
Read, Research and Write by 
A Research Guide for Undergraduate Students by
"For nearly two decades A Research Guide for Undergraduate Students has helped students overcome the confusion and avoid the pitfalls of conducting library research for term papers and theses. Fully updated and revised, the fifth edition shows undergraduates how to use their research time efficiently and advises them on how to locate and evaluate material from electronic resources - including those available through the Internet."--BOOK JACKET. " Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Student's Guide to Writing College Papers, Fifth Edition by
Students of all levels need to know how to write a well-reasoned, coherent research paper--and for decades Kate L. Turabian's Student's Guide to Writing College Papers has helped them to develop this critical skill. For its fifth edition, Chicago has reconceived and renewed this classic work for today's generation. Addressing the same range of topics as Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations but for beginning writers and researchers, this guide introduces students to the art of formulating an effective argument, conducting high-quality research with limited resources, and writing an engaging class paper. This new edition includes fresh examples of research topics, clarified terminology, more illustrations, and new information about using online sources and citation software. It features updated citation guidelines for Chicago, MLA, and APA styles, aligning with the latest editions of these popular style manuals. It emphasizes argument, research, and writing as extensions of activities that students already do in their everyday lives. It also includes a more expansive view of what the end product of research might be, showing that knowledge can be presented in more ways than on a printed page. Friendly and authoritative, the fifth edition of Student's Guide to Writing College Papers combines decades of expert advice with new revisions based on feedback from students and teachers. Time-tested and teacher-approved, this book will prepare students to be better critical thinkers and help them develop a sense of inquiry that will serve them well beyond the classroom.
Writing Research Papers by
The definitive research paper guide, Writing Research Papers combines a traditional and practical approach to the research process with the latest information on electronic research and presentation. This market-leading text provides students with step-by-step guidance through the research writing process, from selecting and narrowing a topic to formatting the finished document. Writing Research Papers backs up its instruction with the most complete array of samples of any writing guide of this nature. The text continues its extremely thorough and accurate coverage of citation styles for a wide variety of disciplines. The fourteenth edition maintains Lester's successful approach while bringing new writing and documentation updates to assist the student researcher in keeping pace with electronic sources.
Conducting Your Literature Review by
This book is a step-by-step guide to writing a literature review, and includes tips for modifying the process as needed depending on your audience, purpose, and goals. The lessons in this book can be applied to writing the background section for a thesis or an original research publication. Literature reviews are now much more challenging to compile today than they used to be. You need a structured approach to handle the sheer volume of published research available. This book will help you formulate a strategy for making decisions about what to include and not include in your review, and produce a reliable and unbiased summary of the existing research. You will learn skills for defining research questions, using search tools and managing citations. This book is part of the American Psychological Association's Concise Guides to Conducting Behavioral, Health, and Social Science Research series. Aimed at undergraduate students in research methods courses or others with a lab or research project, each book describes a key stage in the research process. Collectively, these books provide a solid grounding in research from start to finish.
Literary Research and British Modernism by
Drew Ellis, an ambitious city lawyer, tackles the legal system of the remote Kimberley region in Western Australia.It's a sweaty, dusty journey for Drew and the travelling Circuit Court team, as they struggle for justice in a world where one law for two cultures doesn't always equal a fair go.
Literary Research and the American Modernist Era by
Characterized by its move away from Romanticism and toward mundane, everyday subjects and ideas such as metanarrative, stream of consciousness, and disjointed timelines, the American Modernist Era was at its heyday during the years 1914-1949. It produced great authors-Ernest Hemingway, William Faulkner, and F. Scott Fitzgerald-and memorable works-As I Lay Dying and The Great Gatsby.
