Selected Miami Dade College General Databases
Topics range from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science, and technology. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images.
(H.W. Wilson) - Indexes education periodicals as far back as 1983, over 450 of which are peer-reviewed. Full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996. Education Full-text covers a wide range of subjects such as Athletics, Distance Education, Educational Technology, Elementary Education, Government Funding, Higher Education, etc.
Designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. The extensive collection includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, and citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Educators Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) (Gale)
This collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports is a great resource for any educator -- from the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Content included in the database is almost entirely full-text. The entire ERIC Database will be fully integrated into ERC with direct links to over 50% of the ERIC titles in FULL-TEXT.
A guide to published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics, with information from RIE (Resources in Education) and CIJE (Current Index to Journals in Education). ERIC records now include full-text documents from the ERIC Digest at no extra charge. The database includes the ERIC thesaurus, a complete list of descriptive terms used by ERIC to index and search the database. Includes 1.1+ million records from 1,016 journals and other documents from 1966 to the present. Updated monthly.
Professional Collection (Gale OneFile) (Gale)
(Gale) - A custom selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators that is updated daily. The Professional Collection offers balanced coverage for any professional educator in the arts and humanities, child and adolescent psychology and development, drug and alcohol abuse, health/nutrition/fitness, learning disabilities, literature, school law, science and technology, social sciences or sports/athletic training.
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO)
Teacher Reference Center (TRC) contains journal information for K-12 teachers and librarians and is a FREE resource offered by EBSCO Publishing to the library and education communities. This bibliographic database provides coverage on topics such as Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedogogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.
Selected Miami Dade College Psychology Databases
Provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)
Full-featured database covering such topics as technology, science, art, humanities, business, law, and social sciences. Many articles in full-text.
How To Read a Scholarly Article
This webpage from Tulane University discusses how to read academic, peer-reviewed articles effectively and efficiently.
Tulane University Libraries, How to Read a Scholarly Article.
Attempting to read a scientific or scholarly research article for the first time may seem overwhelming and confusing. This guide details how to read a scientific article step-by-step. First, you should not approach a scientific article like a textbook— reading from beginning to end of the chapter or book without pause for reflection or criticism. Additionally, it is highly recommended that you highlight and take notes as you move through the article. Taking notes will keep you focused on the task at hand and help you work towards comprehension of the entire article.
