Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1101: Composition - Professor Miranda: Books

This guide was created to support Professor Miranda's ENC 1101 course

Typewriter with ENC 1101 and the word Composition

Access the Library's Collection

To search for an item in the catalog: 

  1. Visit the Learning Resources home page
  2. Enter your keyword, title, or author in the search text box
  3. The options on the left will allow you to limit your search by various criteria, including availability, type of material, and language

If accessing the catalog from off campus, please log in to see complete results.  In order to log in:

  • Use your MDC Username and MDC Password to log in.
  • Click here to reset your password if you have forgotten it.

Search the Catalog

Quick Links: eBooks

eBook Collection (EBSCO) - EBSCO is now a key provider of eBooks and audiobooks to libraries and other institutions worldwide. The synergy of eBooks and audiobooks with EBSCO's multifaceted collection of electronic content provides libraries with even more options for fulfilling their growing electronic information needs. Making eBook and audiobook content accessible via the popular EBSCOhost interface will provide for a more powerful, fully-integrated user experience and prove valuable to librarians, students, and researchers. EBSCO offers a rapidly growing collection of eBooks available via convenient Subject Sets that have been hand-crafted by collection development experts.

Gale eBooks (Gale) - This product offers more than 85 reference sources including encyclopedias, series, and more, allowing libraries to provide respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas. Users can search across a single eBook or an entire eBook collection.

Infobase eBooks (Infobase Publishing) - Geared to the school and library market, our highly acclaimed reference and nonfiction books cover a wide variety of core subject areas, such as history, science, literature, careers, geography, health, and more. Our various imprints span a range of grade levels from elementary school through college with special imprints devoted to career references and an extensive library of literary criticism edited by the esteemed Harold Bloom.

How to Search the Catalog

Tips for Searching

  1. If your results offer too few or too many options, using Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) between words or phrases will provide more precise results.  Example: British OR English.
  2. If you have an exact phrase, use quotations around it.  Example: "global warming"
  3. To search for variations of words such as democracy or democratic, use an asterisk as a wild card. Example: democra*