LibGuides: SLS 1106: First Year Experience Seminar/Prof. Dean: Finding Aritcles

Databases: Search for Articles

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Upgrade to General OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.

Funded by: State Library of Florida
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
CQ Researcher Plus Archive (CQ Press) This link opens in a new window
(CQ Press) - Explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. 44 reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, graphs, and sidebar articles. Also contains the complete archive of Editorial Research Reports—the venerable precursor to CQ Researcher—dating back to 1923 which includes over 3,000 in-depth reports

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Issues & Controversies (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
(Facts on File) - Offers a wealth of research information on current topics including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
Miami Herald (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
(NewsBank) - Explore Miami history through local news, events, and people with the Miami Herald Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles, and content only published online.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
New York Times - Current (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary; published in a national and a New York metropolitan edition. Includes local & state news, science, sports, arts & entertainment, and business & finance news. Covers January 1, 1985 - Current.

Funded by: State Library of Florida
New York Times - Historical (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) - Full-text and full-image articles for The New York Times®, covering the period from 1851-2014.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
ProQuest All Subscribed Content This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) - Large aggregated full-text database totaling more than 11,250 titles—with over 8,400 titles in full text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Peterson’s Test Prep (Gale) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - Peterson’s Test Prep (formerly known as Testing & Education Reference Center) helps prepare students for specialized tests for college, graduate school, the military, or trade school. It includes preparatory tests from the GED (General Educational Development) to the GRE (Graduate Record Examination General Test). This database provides a variety of search options to help you find all the information you need on private high schools, distance education, two-year programs, undergraduate and graduate programs and executive education programs. The database can also assist you in writing admission's applications essays or resumes. preparatory examinations including entrance exams and certification and licensing tests.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Wikipedia Caution!

This is a free online encyclopedia that anyone can edit, so be careful about using this as a reliable source. See Disclaimer