MGF1131 - Miami Jackson Senior High School - MDC Dual Enrollment - LibGuides at Miami Dade College Learning Resources

Department Contact Information

Department of Mathematics

Department of Mathematics at MDC Wolfson Campus
Click on the link to access information about the Department of Mathematics and their available resources.

Resources for Course Competencies

Linear and Exponential Models
View video lessons and take practice quizzes on this topic.
Logic for College Mathematics
Review concepts relating to logic lessons.
Numbers and Operations - Khan Academy
View lessons and take practice quizzes on numbers and operations.
Permutations and Combinations
View videos and practice concepts related to this topic.
Working with Graphs, Charts, and Tables
Practice interpreting graphs, charts, and tables.

Mathematical Concepts

Teia, Luis. (2021). Extended Pythagoras Theorem using Triangles, and its Applications to Engineering. The Journal of Open Engineering. 10.21428/9d720e7a.7b128995.

Applications of the Pythagorean Theorem - Website explaining the Pythagorean Theorem and its applications.

Exponential Growth - This site has multiple lessons on exponential and linear growth, including practice problems.

E-Books

Becoming a Data Head by Alex J. Gutman; Jordan Goldmeier
ISBN: 9781119741718
Publication Date: 2021-04-13
You've heard the hype around data - now get the facts. In Becoming a Data Head: How to Think, Speak, and Understand Data Science, Statistics, and Machine Learning, award-winning data scientists Alex Gutman and Jordan Goldmeier pull back the curtain on data science and give you the language and tools necessary to talk and think critically about it.
Master Math by Catherine A. Gorini
ISBN: 9781435456563
Publication Date: 2011-03-03
Master Math: Probability is a comprehensive reference guide that explains and clarifies the principles of probability in a simple, easy-to-follow style and format. A complete table of contents and a comprehensive index enable readers to quickly find specific topics, and the approachable style and format facilitate an understanding of what can be intimidating and tricky skills. Perfect for students studying probability and those who want to brush up on their probability skills.

Interpreting Data

Course Description of MGF1131

Through this course, students will experience the practicality of mathematicsin a globalsociety. Students will engage in the applications of tools and techniques of mathematics in a variety of contextual situations from everyday life. This course is appropriate for students in a wide range of disciplines/programs.

Eligibility Requirements for MDC Dual Enrollment
This link provides information about academic requirements that must be met to participate in the dual enrollment program.

Databases for Mathematics

Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Source combines content from these high-quality databases:
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Applied Science & Technology Index
Applied Science & Technology Index Retrospective

In addition, it includes unique full-text journals not previously available in any other database. Applied Science & Technology Source focuses on traditional engineering challenges and research, as well as research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Computer Science(Gale OneFile) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - Offers access to today's most well-read and influential periodicals on the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries.

Funded by: State Library of Florida
Sage Journals (Sage Publications) This link opens in a new window
(SAGE Publications) - SAGE is the world’s 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 645 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 280 are published on behalf of 225 learned societies and institutions.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Miami Jackson Senior High School - MDC Dual Enrollment: MGF1131

Department Contact Information

Resources for Course Competencies

Mathematical Concepts

E-Books

Interpreting Data

Course Description of MGF1131

Databases for Mathematics

Linear and Exponential Models

Logical Operators: Negation, Conjunction, and Disjunction

How To Spot a Misleading Graph

The Fundamental Counting Principle