Skip to Main Content

Chicago Style Guide

Articles

Entries in the Bibliography list are created using the CMOS core elements. For articles, there are 6 core elements:

  1. author
  2. article title
  3. issue information - volume and issue
  4. date of publication
  5. page numbers
  6. DOI/URL

One Author, in a Database with DOI: 

Desan, Suzanne. “Recent Historiography on the French Revolution and Gender.” Journal of Social History 52, no. 3 (2019): 566–74. https://doi:10.1093/jsh/shy079.

One Author, in a Database with No DOI: 

Fursenko, A. A. “The American and French Revolutions of the Eighteenth Century (An Attempt at a Comparative Characterization).” Russian Social Science Review 16, no. 2 (1975): 66–101. EBSCO Academic Search Complete.

One Author, on a Webpage (do not include "https://" in the URL):

Alpert-Abrams, Hannah. “Machine Reading the Primeros Libros.” Digital Humanities Quarterly 10, no. 4 (2016); www.digitalhumanities.org/dhq/vol/10/4/000268/000268.html.

Two Authors, with a DOI (DOIs include "https://" in the URL)

Geoffroy-Schwinden, and Rebecca Dowd. “Music as Feminine Capital in Napoleonic France: Nancy Macdonald’s Musical Upbringing.” Music & Letters 100, no. 2 (2019): 302–34. https://doi:10.1093/ml/gcz047.

Three or More Authors (up to 10)

Barron, Alexander T. J., Jenny Huang, Rebecca L. Spang, and Simon DeDeo. “Individuals, Institutions, and Innovation in the Debates of the French Revolution.” Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America 115, no.18 (2018): 4607–12. https://doi:10.1073/pnas.1717729115.

No Author ("title" goes first)

"The Mozart Effect Myth: Listening to Music Does Not Help Against Epilepsy." NewsRx Science (Mar. 26 2023): 539. Gale Academic OneFile. 

Written by the Organization (on a webpage)

Mayo Clinic. “Belly Fat in Women: Taking-and Keeping-It Off.” Healthy Lifestyle Women’s Health (June 2023). www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-lifestyle/womens-health/in-depth/belly-fat/art-20045809.

Websites

Entries in the Bibliography list are created using the CMOS core elements. For websites, there are 5 core elements:

  1. author
  2. webpage title
  3. website name
  4. owner or sponsor of the site (if not the same as the title)
  5. publication or revision date
  6. URL

Webpage - with Author and Date 

Denchak, Melissa. "Ocean Pollution: The Dirty Facts." Natural Defense Council. Last modified July 7, 2022, http://www.nrdc.org/stories/ocean-pollution-dirty-facts.

Webpage - No Date (instead include an accessed date) 

United Nations. "What is Climate Change?" Accessed August 24, 2023. www.un.org/en/climatechange/what-is-climate-change.

Webpage - Organization 

Miami Dade College. "Learning Resources." Accessed July 31, 2023. https://www.mdc.edu/learning- resources/

 

eBooks

Entries in the Bibliography list are created using the CMOS core elements. For books, there are 10 core elements. The elements are:

  1. author
  2. title
  3. editor or translator, if in addition to author
  4. edition, if not the first
  5. volume number/name
  6. series title
  7. place of publication
  8. publisher
  9. year of publication
  10. URL (for eBooks)

Book 

Davis, Angela Y. Blues Legends and Black Feminism: Gertrude "Ma" Rainey, Bessie Smith, and Billie Holiday. New York: Pantheon, 1998. 

Book by an Unknown Author, Translated Book 

Sullivan, Alan, and Timothy Murphy, trans. Beowulf. Hoboken, NJ: Pearson, 2004.

Book with Editor(s)

Baron, Sabrina Alcorn, Eric N. Lindquist, and Eleanor F. Shevlin, eds. Agent of Change: Print Culture Studies after Elizabeth L. Eisenstein. Amherst: University of Massachusetts Press, 2007.

Book with Edition

Wollstonecraft, Mary. A Vindication of the Rights of Woman. Edited by Deidre Shauna Lynch. Norton Critical Edition, 3rd ed. New York: W.W. Norton, 2009.

Book Chapter 

Seyhan, Azade. "Novel Moves." In Tales of Crossed Destinies: The Modern Turkish Novel in a Comparative Context, 1-22. New York: Modern Language Association of America, 2008.

Book - Story/ Poem/ Play 

Poe, Edgar Allan. "The Masque of the Red Death." In The Complete Works of Edgar Allan Poe, edited by James A. Harrison, vol. 4, 250-258. New York: Thomas Y. Crowell & Co. 1902. 

eBooks

Miller, Daniel, Elisabetta Costa, Nell Haynes, Tom McDonald, Razvan Nicolescu, Jolynna Sinanan, Juliano Spyer, Shriram Venkatraman, and Xinyuan Wang. How the World Changed Social Media. London: UCL Press, 2016. https://doi.org/10.2307/j.ctt1g69z35. 

Christensen, Alicia, and Tobias Wolff, eds. American Lives: A Reader. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 2010. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/broward-ebooks/detail.action?docID=496570.

 

Videos

Video - YouTube

Ortega, Alejandra. “Grammar: Active and Passive Voice.” Purdue OWL. February 1, 2019. Video, 4:22. http://youtu.be/GEP-8lFTKKg.

Movie (Netflix, Hulu, Xfinity) 

Shanley, John Patrick, dir. Joe Versus the Volcano. 1990; Burbank, CA: Warner Home Video, 2002. Netflix.

Television Episode

Snodgrass, Melinda M, writer. Star Trek: The Next Generation. Season 2, episode 9, “The Measure of a Man.” Directed by Robert Scheerer, featuring Patrick Stewart, Brent Spiner, and Whoopi Goldberg. Aired February 13, 1989, in broadcast syndication. Paramount, 2012, Paramount+.

Video - TED Talk 

Allende, Isabel. "Tales of Passion." TED Talks. March 2007. Video, 17:42. https://www.ted.com/talks/isabel_allende_tales_of_passion?subtitle=en

 

Social Media

Social media content is normally cited in the text or notes but not in the bibliography. Include a specific item in your bibliography only if it is critical to your argument or frequently cited.

Facebook 

World Wildlife Fund. "Five Things to Know on Shark Awareness Day." Facebook, July 14, 2020. www.facebook.com/worldwildlifefund/videos/745925785979440/.

Podcast 

Treisman, Deborah, ed. "Yiyun Li Reads 'On the Street Where You Live.'" The Writer's Voice: New Fiction from The New Yorker. January 3, 2017, Podcast, iTunes, 41:06, https://www.wnyc.org/story/yiyun-li-reads-street-where-you-live/.

X/Twitter 

Ng, Celeste (@pronounced_ing). "Photo of a letter from Shirley Jackson." Twitter, January 22, 2018, twitter.com/pronounced_ing/status/955528799357231104. 

 

Images

Image from a database

Anti-racism Demonstration, 1989, Artstor, library.artstor.org/public/SS35279_35279_35491196.

Image from a Google search

Sheldon, Natasha. Human Remains in Pompeii: The Body Casts, March 23, 2014, Photograph, Pompeii, Italy. Accessed August 1, 2023. decodedpast.com/human-remains-pompeii-body-casts/7532.

 

Class Materials

Canvas

Hughes, Kimberly. "The Information Cycle." LIS 2004 Canvas at Miami Dade College. Accessed September 15, 2023. https://mdc.instructure.com/courses/81446.

Course Content (professor's name is the author)

Hughes, Kimberly. "What Is a Library Database?" Lecture in LIS 2004, Canvas video, 4:29, Accessed September 15, 2023. https://mdc.instructure.com/courses/81446.

 

Artificial Intelligence

ChatGPT/AI

You do need to credit ChatGPT and similar tools whenever you use the text that they generate in your own work. But for most types of writing, you can simply acknowledge the AI tool in your text (e.g., “The following recipe for pizza dough was generated by ChatGPT”).

If you need a more formal citation, a footnote might look like this:

     1. Text generated by ChatGPT, OpenAI, March 7, 2023, https://chat.openai.com/chat.

However, do NOT cite ChatGPT in a Bibliography. 

Source: CMOS Online Q&A