LibGuides: Immaculata La Salle HS Dual Enrollment Resources : REL2300

Course Description

REL2300: Survey of World Religions

A survey of the origins, beliefs, and contemporary practices of the world's religions: Christianity, Confucianism, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, Taoism, and Zen Buddhism. Attention is given to the interactions between specific religions and the cultures in which they are practiced.

E-Books on Religion

World Religions by Thomas A. Robinson; Hillary P. Rodrigues
ISBN: 1441219722
Publication Date: 2014-11-11
This masterful survey of world religions, now revised throughout, presents a concise portrait of the history, beliefs, and practices of eastern and western religions.
Global Religions by Mark Juergensmeyer (Editor)
ISBN: 1280532548
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
The essays collected here provide brief and accessible introductions to the major world religions in their global contexts. The volume begins with an introduction to the globalization of religion by Mark Juergensmeyer, and is followed by individual essays on Christianity, Islam, Judaism, Hinduism, Buddhism, and local religious societies. The book concludes with three essays reflecting on the global religious scene. Taken together, these essays provide a concise and authoritative introduction to the state of worldwide religion in the 21st century.
Celebrating All Religions by Jenna Trnka (Editor)
ISBN: 1645273768
Publication Date: 2020-06-15
Religion by Robert Cummings Neville
ISBN: 9781438457017
Publication Date: 2015-01-08
The concluding volume in a trilogy advancing a systematic philosophical theology, this book presents a plausible sacred worldview for religious participation.

Writing Resources

Library Databases

Humanities Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(H.W. Wilson) - Over 500 English-language periodicals covering literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion, and theology. Many articles in full text.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
Springer eJournal Collection This link opens in a new window
(Springer) - SpringerLink provides full-text access in a variety of topics, including mathematics, economics, ecology, religion, history, and more. Coverage for most titles begins in the late 1990s. Coverage varies by title. Content is updated daily.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Infobase eBooks (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
(Infobase Publishing) - Geared to the school and library market, our highly acclaimed reference and nonfiction books cover a wide variety of core subject areas, such as history, science, literature, careers, geography, health, and more. Our various imprints span a range of grade levels from elementary school through college with special imprints devoted to career references and an extensive library of literary criticism edited by the esteemed Harold Bloom.

Funded by: College
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
(JSTOR) - Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Earth & Environmental Science eCollection (Springer) This link opens in a new window
(Springer) - SpringerLink provides full text access in a variety of topics, including mathematics, economics, ecology, religion, history, and more. Coverage for most titles begins in the late 1990s. Coverage varies by title. Content is updated daily.

Funded by: College

Homework Help

Learning Resources tutors and librarians offer support in-person or online. To schedule an appointment with a tutor or librarian, click here.