SPC 2608: Introduction to Public Speaking
This is a course in which students will practice speaking to audiences as well as listening to and critically analyzing oral communication. Through oral and written communication, students will learn communication theory as applied to a variety of communication situations and social interactions.
Competency 1: The student will communicate effectively in public social, academic, or business situations.
Competency 2: The student will adapt communication based on audience analysis.
Competency 3: The student will effectively prepare to present various speeches.
Competency 4: The student will use active listening in public speaking situations.
Learning Resources tutors offer support in-person or online. To schedule an appointment with a speech tutor, click here.
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Upgrade to General OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.
Funded by: State Library of Florida
