Do you have an assignment that requires you to explore the pros and cons of a controversial issue such as gun control, immigration, or health care reform? Do you have to write a persuasive or argumentative essay, or take a side on an issue for a speech or a debate? This website provides suggestions for finding reliable information on topics of current interest.
If you don't yet have a topic and need some ideas, these resources can help:
Librarians are available to assist you at your
campus library Reference Desk
or through the statewide Ask-a-Librarian service:
Chat | Email | Text
The MDC Libraries provide free access to over 100 databases containing popular and scholarly periodicals, ebooks, videos, and other types of information resources.
The following databases are best bets for finding information on controversial issues. (See also this printer-friendly handout.)
If prompted to log in, enter your MDC username and password.
Many of our databases include special features that are often overlooked. The following suggestions can be helpful for researching controversial issues.
This database contains a Special Reports section that focuses on topics of current interest.
Once logged in, scroll down and click "Special Reports."
Demographic statistics can be useful when preparing an argument for an essay or debate. This database offers many options for generating reports of demographic information such as income, housing, race, age, education, retail spending, and more. Helpful video tutorials are included.
This database contains a collection of full-length debate videos featuring leading authorities and experts debating the major issues of our time.
Once logged in, locate the "Resources" drop-down menu, then select "Debate Videos."
If you are a currently registered MDC student, your MDC ID card can be used for borrowing privileges at the Florida International University Libraries.
If you are a resident of Miami-Dade County, you can apply for a public library card that can be used at all branches of the Miami Dade Public Library System.
Use the links below to search the holdings of the FIU and Miami Dade Public Libraries: