Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EPI 0003 Technology: Videos and DVD's

This guide is for students in the Educators Preparation Institute.

Learning with Wikis and Blogs

Learning with Wikis and Blogs

Their popularity in the online business and publishing world is well known, but wikis and blogs are also increasingly used as tools in the classroom—and not just because young learners can easily access them. They are easy to create as well, giving students another powerful method of communication and self-expression. This program presents the basic concepts behind wikis and blogs. It also shows, through visually engaging examples, how these digital forums can be used to promote collaboration, discussion, and class participation. Additionally, viewers are given objective information about the world’s most successful and widely used wiki site, Wikipedia.org. Viewable/printable educational resources are available online. (21 minutes)

The video is from the Films on Demand database. Log in with your MDC Username and Password.

Wired for What? The Dividends of Universal Access

Wired for What? The Dividends of Universal Access

All over America, schools are scrambling for computers and Internet access. But have the huge expenditures really produced a tangible return on investment? In this program, teachers, administrators, and other education professionals share their experiences and opinions regarding the potential and the pitfalls of education technology. They address the proper use of computers, the integration of the Internet into lessons, and the urgent need for teacher training, long-term planning, and ongoing infrastructure funding. They also question the deeper cost of school budgets skewed toward technology at the expense of the arts and humanities. (57 minutes)

The video is from the Films on Demand database. Log in with your MDC Username and Password.

Meeting the Needs of All Students with Technology

Meeting the Needs of All Students with Technology

Technology equalizes learning opportunities and expands learning challenges for a wide range of students. Using compelling classroom footage, this program features innovations that are empowering all types of learners. Examples of adaptive technology for physically and visually challenged students include IntelliKeys, TouchWindow, Braille ’n Speak, and audio-based computer software. For those in gifted and talented programs, high-tech role-playing scenarios and multimedia projects help them to sharpen critical thinking skills. And for students in need of tutoring, there is even the Homework Hotline satellite TV show. (69 minutes)

The video is from the Films on Demand database. Log in with your MDC Username and Password.

Educational Technology: Not Just Computers

Educational Technology: Not Just Computers

The video includes a report on educational technology and suggests going beyond the use of computers in classroom.

The video appears on YouTube.

Films on Demand

 

Films on Demand

Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational programs from Films Media Group into your content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic card catalog system.

~ Go to https://www.mdc.edu/learning-resources/
~Click on Databases A-Z.
~ Enter your MDC Username and Password
~ From the alphabetical listing, click on Films on Demand
~ Click on Connect to Database.
~ Click on Subjects and choose one, or use the empty box to do a keyword search for the titles listed above.

Top 10 Reasons to Use Technology in Education: iPad, Tablet, Computer, Listening Centers

Top 10 Reasons to Use Technology in Education: iPad, Tablet, Computer, Listening Centers

The video provides 10 reasons to use technology in education.

The video is located on YouTube.

10 Emerging Education and Instructional Technologies that Educators Should Know About

10 Emerging Education and Instructional Technologies that Educators Should Know About

This video blog entry is a companion to the article of the same title on EmergingEdTech.com [URL: https://www.emergingedtech.com/2012/09...].

The video is located on YouTube.

Assistive Technology in the Classroom

Assistive Technology in the Classroom

This video shows 5 different types of assistive technology and how they are used in the classrooms to level the playing field for students with learning disabilities.

The video is located on YouTube.

What is Assistive Technology?

What is Assistive Technology?

This is a video Paul Christopher made that describes what AT is and how it helps kids who are disabled to help be successful in not only the classroom but also in the outside world.

The video is located on YouTube.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Valda Adeyiga
Contact:
Miami Dade College, Hialeah Campus

1780 W 49th Street

Hialeah Florida 33012

305.237.8732
Subjects: Education

NBC Learn

  • NBC Learn
    NBC Learn is a rich, dynamic, and innovative resource that provides thousands of historic news reports, current events stories, original content, primary source documents, and other digital media specifically designed to help teach and engage students of all levels and abilities.
    Use your MDC network login to gain access.

Bring Your Own Technology to the Classroom

Bring Your Own Technology to the Classroom

For years now there's been a love-hate relationship between schools and technology, embracing traditional digital tools like PCs and Macs, while scorning those that often distract kids from their work, like game systems. Now one Georgia school district is changing that equation by inviting kids to bring their own devices. (3 minutes, 7 seconds)

This video is from NBC Learn. Log in with your network login.

Technology in Education: A Future Classroom

Technology in Education: A Future Classroom

Published on Jan 28, 2014 Created by Daniel Nemroff (class of 2015)
Officially chosen for the 2014 White House Student Film Festival

The video is found on YouTube.

Assistive Technology Tools for Reading

Assistive Technology Tools for Reading

The video provides an overview of some helpful reading tools for the computer and their uses for students in the classroom.

The video is located on YouTube.