Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EPI 0003 Technology: Finding Articles

This guide is for students in the Educators Preparation Institute.

Suggest Education Databases

You will be able to search for articles on education in journals, magazines, and newspapers.   Use your MDC Username and Password to log in to the databases and access the articles. Please click on this link to log in to the databases.  Below are some suggested databases for articles on education.

Vygotsky Meets Technology: A Reinvention of Collaboration in the Early Childhood Mathematics Classroom

Vygotsky Meets Technology: A Reinvention of Collaboration in the Early Childhood Mathematics Classroom

With the advent of Web 2.0, Vygotsky's traditional role of the more knowledgeable other (MKO) has been transformed. This transformation shifts the power of a facilitator of learning from an elite group of MKOs to all students. Such a transformation possesses significant value in the early childhood mathematics classroom where collaboration is essential for student learning. This article reveals three distinct MKOs that have emerged from the WEB 2.0 expansion, and discusses three tools that usher collaboration and empower students in an early childhood mathematics classroom: Voki, VoiceThread, and Vodcasts.

The article is located in the Education Research Complete database. Use your MDC Student Number to log in.

 

Formative Assessment Made Easy: Templates for Collecting Daily Data in Inclusive Classrooms

Formative Assessment Made Easy: Templates for Collecting Daily Date in Inclusive Classrooms

The article discusses the importance of assessments in special education under U.S. education policies such as the No Child Left Behind Act (NCLB) and Individuals With Disabilities Education Improvement Act (IDEA) and offers templates for teachers to create formative assessments. Particular attention is given to the value of observing student behavior to help improve engagement.

This article is from the Education Full Text database. Use your MDC Student Number to log in.

How to Log into the Databases

Blended Learning for Early Learners

Blended Learning for Early Learners

The article discusses how a Kentucky elementary school employs blended learning and integrates online activities and technology such as iPads and computers with face-to-face class instruction. It describes the rotation model of blended learning for elementary students and the best software programs for young children. It also cites blended learning's importance in promoting student engagement, individualizing instruction, forging home-school connections, and simplifying teachers' data use.

The article is located in the Education Research Complete database. Log in with your MDC Username and Password.

Effects of Worked Examples Using Manipulatives on Fifth Graders' Learning Performance and Attitude toward Mathematics

Effects of Worked Examples Using Manipulatives on Fifth Graders' Learning Performance and Attitude toward Mathematics

The purpose of this study was to investigate the influence of worked examples using virtual manipulatives on the learning performance and attitudes of fifth grade students toward mathematics. The results showed that: (1) the utilization of non-routine examples could promote learning performance of equivalent fractions. (2) Learning with virtual manipulatives was as effective as with physical manipulatives. (3) Virtual manipulatives can increase learning enjoyment compared with physical counterparts. Implications and recommendations are also presented for future research.

This article is located in the Education Research Complete database. Log in with your MDC Username and Password.

 

Assistive Technology: Fixing Humans

Assistive Technology: Fixing Humans

The article offers information related to assistive technologies. It is informed that the Technology-Related Assistance for Individuals with Disabilities Act in 1988 used the term assistive technology. It is noted that a program was established by the U.S. federal government in 1990 that funds statewide grant programs to increase awareness and availability of assistive technology. It also offers information on various types to assistive technologies which includes Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC) devices, computer-assistive technology, mobility assistive technology. It is noted that AAC provides assistive technology for communication problems by restoration of cognitive-communication and/or physical speech impediments.

The article is found in the Education Research Complete database. Use your MDC Student Number to log in.

Fix It With TAPE: Repurposing Technology to Be Assistive Technology for Students With High-Incidence Disabilities

Fix It with TAPE: Repurposing Technology to be Assistive Technology for Student with High-Incidence Disabilities

This article discusses how practitioners can repurpose technology—common and socially desirable  technology in particular—to be assistive technology for students with high-incidence disabilities. The authors provide a framework for practitioners to consider technology for repurposing: TAPE (Transportable, Available, Practical, Engaging) and offers practitioners 6 examples of such technology that can serve as assistive technology for students with high-incidence disabilities who struggle with various academic (e.g., literacy, note-taking) and socioemotional development.

The article is from the Teacher Reference Center database. Log in using your MDC Student Number.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Valda Adeyiga
Contact:
Miami Dade College, Hialeah Campus

1780 W 49th Street

Hialeah Florida 33012

305.237.8732
Subjects: Education

Implementation of a Model-Tracing-Based Learning Diagnosis System to Promote Elementary Students' Learning in Mathematics

Implementation of a Model-Tracing-Based Learning Diagnosis System to Promote Elementary Students' Learning in Mathematics

Of all teaching methods, one-to-one human tutoring is the most powerful method for promoting learning. To achieve this aim and reduce teaching load, researchers developed intelligent tutoring systems (ITSs) to employ one-to-one tutoring (Aleven, McLaren, & Sewall, 2009; Aleven, McLaren, Sewall, & Koedinger, 2009; Anderson, Corbett, Koedinger, & Pelletier, 1995; Anderson & Reiser, 1985; Blessing, Gilbert, Ourada, & Ritter, 2009; Mitrovic et al., 2009; Mitrovic & Ohlsson, 1999; Suraweera, Mitrovic, & Martin, 2007; VanLehn et al., 2005). However, most ITSs have restricted user interfaces, which confine reasoning strategies of students during problem solving, thus ignoring the fact that students could use dissimilar strategies to solve a given question. Furthermore, student learning problems could be diagnosed from the derivation of their answers. In order to interpret students' mathematical problem-solving behaviors, this study developed a Model-tracing Intelligent Tutor (MIT) to diagnose students' learning problems and provide learning feedback for individual students. A quasi-experiment was conducted in an elementary school to evaluate the effectiveness of the proposed approach, in which 124 fifth graders participated. The experimental results show that the model-tracing-based learning diagnosis system is significantly more helpful to the students in learning mathematics than the conventional web-based test in terms of learning achievements.

This article is located in the Education Research Complete database. Use your MDC Student Number to log in.

Assistive Technology: What Every School Leader Should Know

Assistive Technology: What Every School Leader Should Know

For many students with disabilities to be successful learners in the general education curriculum, they must receive supplemental aids and services. Assistive Technology commonly referred to as AT, fits both the definition of supplemental aids as well as related services for students with disabilities. Assistive Technology services and devices allow access to the general education curriculum for academic, social, and extracurricular activities. School leaders play an essential role in ensuring that students with disabilities receive appropriate assistive technology to be successful learners. This article provides the school leader with the knowledge and skills to support students who benefit from the use of assistive technology to improve student achievement.

The article is found in the Teacher Reference Center database. Log in with your MDC Student Number.