Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EPI 0004 The Teaching and Learning Process: Videos and DVD's

This guide is for students in the Educators Preparation Institute

Mind in the Making: Experiments in Student Learning

Reserve MIND

This two-volume series of 42 videos take viewers on a series of virtual "field trips" to laboratories in the U.S. and abroad. Here are actual experiments in children's learning, from the classic studies to the cutting edge, conducted by well-known researchers from a number of academic disciplines.

DVD located in the Padron Campus Library

Brain-Compatible Practices for the Classroom Special Education

LC3965 .B65 2008

Dr. Pat Wolfe helps educators sort out the myths of brain research and explains successful brain research based teaching mechanisms for effective learning. Emphasizes special education classrooms where teachers are using Response-to-Intervention (RTI) and other techniques that benefit students with disabilities.

DVD located in the Padron Campus Library

Cognitive Coaching: A Process for Teaching and Learning

Cognitive Coaching: A Process for Teaching and Learning

This program describes and demonstrates specific examples of instructional conversation and other types of cognitive coaching; identifies instructional arrangements that are used to promote active learning by students; models questioning techniques and student interactions, including the ways in which cognitive coaches keep student discussion focused and productive; and considers the role that authentic and ongoing assessment plays in cognitive coaching. Good teaching, like good coaching, depends on instructional conversations in which the participants exchange ideas, build motivation, and develop strategies for improvement. The program shows how teachers can encourage students to employ strategies for success by providing cognitive coaching or "active teaching": by communicating with their students, focusing on development, motivating their students, and sharing in their students’ performance. (39 minutes)

Located in the Films on Demand database - click on the link and log in using your MDC Student Number

Balancing Learning Standards with Diverse Learning Needs

Balancing Learning Standards with Diverse Learning Needs

If diversity and special needs are prominent factors in a learning environment, teachers may have to juggle mandated standards with students’ personal challenges. This video addresses that balancing act, demonstrating how experienced educators have mastered it. Focusing on multilevel instructional planning, the program explores the use of educational channels, individualized support, and interpersonal engagement—showing how to deliver lessons and assess student progress based on communication style, learning preference, and other variables. An extensive bonus interview with Dr. Diane Ashby, Dean of Illinois State University’s College of Education, is included. A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is available online. (18 minutes)

Located in the Films on Demand database - click on the link and log in using your MDC Student Number

Teach Me Different! Effective Teaching Methods

Teach Me Different! Effective Teaching Methods

In this classic program, Sally L. Smith explains how to teach students with learning disabilities and ADHD. The techniques include challenging the intellect and tapping the imagination; using concrete objects, the body, and pictures to communicate abstract ideas; using object-centered learning by attracting the attention visually; limiting the amount of words used; using stimulation, choices, and materials without limiting the child; and offering maximum participation and feedback to empower the student. Distributed by PBS Distribution. A part of the series Teach Me Different! with Sally Smith. (55 minutes)

Located in the Films on Demand database - click on the link and log in using your MDC Student Number

Performance Assessment: A Teacher’s Way of Knowing

Performance Assessment: A Teacher's Way of Knowing

Filmed in 1993, this program defines crucial elements of all assessments and visits three classrooms—a Head Start, a kindergarten, and a third grade—to show how the academic progress of young students can be evaluated without recourse to norm-referenced, standardized testing. Narrator Samuel Meisels makes his case for the documentation of achievement while also providing viewers with the vocabulary necessary to understand the field of assessment. Viewable/printable educational resources are available online. (21 minutes)

Located in the Films on Demand database - click on the link and log in using your MDC Student Number

Films on Demand

Films on Demand

Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational programs from Films Media Group into your content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic card catalog system.

~ Go to https://www.mdc.edu/learning-resources/
~Click on Databases A-Z.
~ Enter your college (Miami Dade College).
~ Enter your Borrower ID (MDC Student ID number).
~ Enter your PIN (last four digits of MDC ID number).
~ From the alphabetical listing, click on Films on Demand
~ Click on Connect to Database.
~ Click on Subjects and choose one, or use the empty box to do a keyword search for the titles listed above.

Teaching Literacy

Teaching Literacy

Studies show that students who enjoy reading and writing have expanded comprehension skills and better overall communication skills. This video demonstrates that with a little creativity, learning to read and write can be fun. Whole class and small group activities include shared and guided reading, learning centers, rephrasing, reinforcement, and summarizing. Students will be encouraged to reflect, discuss, and support each other as they develop these new skills. (22 minutes)

Located in the Films on Demand database - click on the link and log in using your MDC Student Number

Teaching Numeracy

Teaching Numeracy

Teaching and learning numeracy skills involves a large range of elements. Basic math skills are required in almost every aspect of life and creating fun activities can challenge children to explore and allow them to enjoy the process. This video demonstrates the use of whole class and small group activities open ended activities and questions, encouraging trial and error to find solutions. Math can be fun when children are challenged to explore. (16 minutes)

Located in the Films on Demand database - click on the link and log in using your MDC Student Number

Learning Essential Skills

Learning Essential Skills

Working together, administrators, principals, and teachers can give priority to the essential skills children must develop in order to succeed. This program presents the value of a no-nonsense approach to teaching. By maximizing learning time, by structuring curriculums so that mastery of academic content is required to proceed, and by quickly providing extra assistance for students having difficulty, the processes of both teaching and learning can be greatly enhanced. (19 minutes)

Located in the Films on Demand database - click on the link and log in using your MDC Student Number

Differentiation in Teaching and Learning

Differentation in Teaching and Learning

This video explains how to differentiate and the different types of differentiation there are to use in your teaching.

The video is from Youtube.

Differentiated Instruction - Some Ideas for the Classroom

Differentiated Instruction - Some Ideas for the Classroom

The video provides some ideas on how to use differentiated instruction in the classroom.

The video is located on YouTube.

Bloom's Taxonomy to Create Tiered Instruction

Bloom's Taxonomy to Create Tiered Instruction

This mini-lecture describes how to use Bloom's taxonomy to create tiered instruction. Dr. Andy Johnson, Reading Specialist, www.OPDT-Johnson.com

This video is located on YouTube.

Differentiated Instruction Ignites Elementary School Learning

Differentiated Instruction Ignites Elementary School Learning

Meet the faculty at Forest Lake Elementary in Columbia, SC. Starting as techno novices, they now use customizable software, interactive whiteboards, digital cameras, and more to tailor lessons to the individual needs of diverse students.

This video is located on YouTube.

Performance Assessment: Moving Beyond the Standardized Test

Performance Assessment: Moving Beyond the Standardized Test

In an age of multicultural classrooms and new understandings about multiple intelligences, what role should standardized tests play? And what direction should performance assessment take in tomorrow’s schools? In this timeless program, Dr. Art Costa—Professor Emeritus at California State University, Former President of the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development, and a leading proponent of the explicit teaching of thinking—addresses the urgent need to create viable alternatives to standardized tests that can measure creativity, problem-solving, and cooperation. (29 minutes)

Located in the Films on Demand database - click on the link and log in using your MDC Student Number

Integrating Instruction and Assessment

Integrating Instruction and Assessment

This program explores the nature of authentic assessment and its impact on curriculum and instruction; identifies the economic and political pressures for accountability, which have driven school systems to adopt inadequate approaches to assessment; and highlights alternative assessment strategies and tools—those that help teachers make good instructional decisions, as well as those that help students develop self-monitoring and self-assessment strategies of their own. Many standardized tests currently in use are administratively efficient and psychometrically accurate, but for a variety of reasons have served to distort instruction and the definition of the achieving student. This program addresses the need for alternative instruments of assessment—assessment that is multidimensional and longitudinal, involves use of educational resources, addresses possibilities for improvement, reflects good classroom practice, and demonstrates clear standards shared by teachers and students. (42 minutes)

Located in the Films on Demand database - click on the link and log in using your MDC Student Number

Subject Guide

Beth Cloues's picture
Beth Cloues
Contact:
(305)237-6736

NBC Learn

  • NBC Learn
    NBC Learn is a rich, dynamic, and innovative resource that provides thousands of historic news reports, current events stories, original content, primary source documents, and other digital media specifically designed to help teach and engage students of all levels and abilities.
    Use your MDC network login to gain access.

RTI and DI: The Dynamic Duo

RTI and DI: The Dynamic Duo

Response to intervention and differentiated instruction are teaching methods aimed at helping all reach their full potential, especially when a classroom contains students of various backgrounds, cultures, and learning styles. This program presents educators with an overview of how to use RTI and DI together to practice high-quality instruction that is complemented by targeted interventions and ongoing student assessments. The video explains that RTI and DI both emphasize student engagement, collaboration, and assessment, and then focuses on the RTI team, classroom implementation, and addressing special populations such as learners with disabilities, gifted learners, or English-language learners. (37 minutes)

Located in the Films on Demand database - click on the link and log in using your MDC Student Number

Developing the Gifts and Talents of ALL Students

Developing the Gifts and Talents of ALLStudents

Based on the belief that “a rising tide lifts all ships”, the Schoolwide Enrichment Model (SEM) is a proven plan for infusing a broad range of high-end learning strategies into existing school programs and standards-based reform initiatives. SEM helps educators and schools develop the gifts and talents of all students by using gifted education teaching practices, with all students. SEM places a premium on local school involvement, and the belief that all students are capable of developing their unique talents through the use of challenging, and enriching teaching practices. In the video, Joseph Renzulli and Sally Reis take viewers inside schools where they will observe the Schoolwide Enrichment Model in action and meet teachers, principals, and students who have benefited from this easy-to implement plan. Viewers will learn: specific strategies for modifying and differentiating the curriculum in the regular classroom in order to accommodate individual rates and levels of learning; a hands-on approach to three interrelated types of enrichment that focus on the application, rather than assimilation, of knowledge; ways in which student products and services can be brought to bear on authentic assessments. (35 minutes)

Located in the Films on Demand database - click on the link and log in using your MDC Student Number

Effective Small Group Differentiated Instruction

Effective Small Group Differentiated Instruction

This video will help teachers with small group instruction. This differentiation of instruction using small group strategies will provide an effective, engaging, learning environment by creating a culture of student success and meeting the needs of all students. Every student is unique and deserves instruction beyond "one size fits all". Administrators can also use this video to provide staff development to their teachers, helping them with differentiation providing instructional engagement. This video emphasizes the "how to"; "nuts and bolts" of preparing and managing small group differentiated instructional models. This video will teach strategies to provide opportunities for student and teacher success. Learning cannot happen without a safe, secure, and comfortable learning environment for students that provides engagement and makes students feel valued and successful. Small group differentiation will help to meet the needs of all students. All stakeholders; administrators, teachers, and students will benefit from the tips and strategies illustrated in this video. These tips are based on twenty years of experience as a teacher and principal of 3rd through 9th grade students, the majority of which were students of color, poverty, and English language learners (ELL). The author/ creator of this video has been influenced by other experts in the field; Michael Grinder, Harry Wong, Ruby Payne, and Robert Marzano all of which have great ideas to help teachers provide effective and engaging classrooms. Helpful hints are provided to help the teacher create a successful differentiated classroom using small group strategies. Primary grades through high school teachers can find valuable information in these videos and the accompanying web page. Test scores and learning in general will improve with effective and engaging differentiation. Small Group Differentiated instruction will help to close the achievement gap in high stakes testing. Building differentiation, communicating expectations, and accountability will provide the keys to reaching students to teach them effectively meeting the needs of varied ability levels and multiple learning styles.

This video is located on YouTube.