Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

American Literature & Culture: Native American Lit

Open Access Native American resources

Cultural Authenticity & Sensitivity

Native American Culture

Native American Studies Open Textbooks

Boundless provides a textbook that covers Migration to North America and describes early inhabitants of the Americas and the environmental changes that made migration possible.

MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.

Native Peoples of North America is intended to be an introductory text about the Native peoples of North America (primarily the United States and Canada) presented from an anthropological perspective.

OER Commons provides a curated collection of textbooks and resources for Native American studies.

Project Gutenberg provides a list of Native American anthologies in the public domain available freely online.

North American Indian Nations & Locations

Contemporary Native American Writers

Joy Harjo

Sherman Alexie

Natalie Diaz

Timmy Pico

Tommy Orange

Videos

More Open Access videos

 

A collection of educational videos posted on YouTube.

Create and share lessons around any TED-Ed Original, TED Talk or YouTube Video.

This Digital Library portal contains the metadata of the YouTube Channels of the world's Top Universities.

Other Open Materials

The AIFG presently contains over 450 non-fiction films that document Native lifeways from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego, with a large concentration on peoples of the Southwest.

NK360° provides educational materials and teacher training that incorporate Native narratives, more comprehensive histories, and accurate information to enlighten and inform teaching and learning about Native America.

Through a unique blend of imagery and sound, this website captures the complex oral traditions of Native American communities in the American Southwest.

Indians of North America: Selected Resources include maps, music and sound recordings, photographs, texts and webcasts.

When the subject of the exhibit is Native Americans in the Upper Midwestern United States during the extraordinary upheaval of the 19th century, one must be particularly careful about the story being told since the narrative that largely exists is one of cultural denouement, of endings, as told by a colonizing population to its descendants.

This resource hosts online language materials for more than 150 Indian peoples of North America, and are adding more information on the native languages of Central and South America as well.

Presented here are selections from the American Folklife Center's collections documenting Omaha music traditions.

DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

Explore collections from around the world with Google Arts & Culture, created by Google Cultural Institute.

James Mooney recordings of American Indian Ghost Dance songs.

This additional resource can be used for students who are interested in learning and applying the principles of documentary and oral history methods and technologies that have emerged as critical strategies for indigenous groups and other cultural communities who wish to maintain, preserve and protect their intangible cultural heritage and intellectual property from appropriation and misuse.

Images that explore stereotypes on Native Americans through the media.

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Uses images and audio to help memorize vocabulary. Interactive site that saves individual progress.