Searching for Reliable Information - UN - SDG #2: Zero Hunger - EEI & ICED - LibGuides at Miami Dade College Learning Resources

What Are Databases? [VIDEO]
Okay, so you're thinking, "Can't I just Google the information I need?" Of course you can, but a database is a different kind of research tool that can help you get access to reliable sources that may not be freely available on the web.
This brief video explains the advantages of library databases:
The video below shows you how to gain access to MDC's library databases:

Not sure which databases to try? The Recommended Databases page will help you select the best resources for your research paper topics.

Tutorial:

Picking Your Topic IS Research [VIDEO]
North Carolina State University

Verification Skills

APA - Transitioning from 6th to 7th Edition

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Upgrade to General OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.

Funded by: State Library of Florida
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Academic Select (Gale OneFile) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - Topics range from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science, and technology. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images.

Funded by: State Library of Florida
Flipster (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Flipster is a next-generation digital magazine solution that makes it easy for you to read and download (for offline reading) your favorite magazines on your computer or mobile device. Users can browse magazines by category as well as perform searches for specific ones.

Funded by: College
General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - Includes more than 4,200 full-text titles; five newspaper indexes -- a total of nearly 8,000 titles in all with more than 20 years of backfile coverage from 1980 to present. InfoTrac OneFile makes approximately 25 million database records available with a single search query. It includes newswires from 89 wire services, newspapers, general interest magazines, refereed academic journals, business publications, technology periodicals, and specialty titles in law, health care, and computers

Funded by: State Library of Florida
Informe Académico (Gale OneFile) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - Created exclusively for Spanish-speaking users, this full-text electronic reference tool is the first system to provide indexing, images, and full text of popular Hispanic magazines -- not just translations. Also included is a thesaurus and interface that are uniquely designed for Spanish-speaking users. ¡Informe! thinks through every query in Spanish. Terms and thesaurus are based on the expressions Spanish-speakers commonly use, allowing users to easily navigate through the database without experiencing inaccurate search terms.

Funded by: State Library of Florida
MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for public libraries, MasterFILE™ Premier contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues, and much more. This database also contains full text for more than 500 reference books, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps, and flags.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(H.W. Wilson) - Full text periodicals, along with article abstracts and indexing, covering business, education, science, social sciences, art, humanities, and popular magazines.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
Readers' Guide Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(H.W. Wilson) - Offers the ultimate in current events coverage, curriculum support, and quality periodicals research for students, educators, and library patrons.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)

CQ Researcher Plus Archive (CQ Press) This link opens in a new window
(CQ Press) - Explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. 44 reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, graphs, and sidebar articles. Also contains the complete archive of Editorial Research Reports—the venerable precursor to CQ Researcher—dating back to 1923 which includes over 3,000 in-depth reports

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Issues & Controversies (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
(Facts on File) - Offers a wealth of research information on current topics including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
SIRS Researcher This link opens in a new window
(SIRS) - Integrated online access to full-text articles and Internet resources from SIRS reference databases by ProQuest - SIRS Researcher, SIRS Government Reporter, SIRS Renaissance and SIRS NetSelect.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)

Digital Collection (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
(ABC-CLIO) - The Digital Collection is a sophisticated research platform comprised of reference, academic, and general interest e-books. Titles come from Praeger, Greenwood Press, and Libraries Unlimited. This is not just a collection of PDF downloads, but complete texts — all searchable by keyword, subject, author, title, or any Boolean search method.

Funded by: College
eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - EBSCO is now a key provider of eBooks to libraries and other institutions worldwide. The synergy of eBooks with EBSCOs multifaceted collection of electronic content provides libraries with even more options for fulfilling their growing electronic information needs. Making eBook content accessible via the popular EBSCOhost interface will provide for a more powerful, fully-integrated user experience and prove valuable to librarians, students, and researchers. EBSCO offers a rapidly growing collection of eBooks available via convenient Subject Sets that have been hand-crafted by collection development experts.

Funded by: College and Statewide
Gale E-Books (Gale) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - This product offers more than 85 reference sources including encyclopedias, series and more, allowing libraries to provide respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas. Users can search across a single eBook or an entire eBook collection.

Funded by: College and Statewide

UN - SDG #2: Zero Hunger - EEI & ICED: Searching for Reliable Information

Tutorial:

Suggested Topics:

Verification Skills

APA - Transitioning from 6th to 7th Edition