Skip to main content

Mango - The New Library Search Engine: Home

This guide provides information about Mango, the new library catalog, for faculty and staff. This guide includes information on how to replace broken links, properly embedding content in blackboard, how to use the catalog, and more!

Try Mango Now:  

Widget Creator Links

The links below allow you to build search widgets which you can embed on any web page or LibGuide for quick and customized Mango catalog search access.

FALSC Presentations on Mango

Comparing Primo and Mango

Features and Functionality

Questions? Comments? Concerns?

Need technical assistance? See a discrepancy in this guide? Reach out to the developer:

Angel Hernandez

aherna19@mdc.edu

Mango Announcement

Mango: The New Library Search Engine

Powerful. Faster. Easier

The Florida Academic Library Services Cooperative (FALSC) has been working to improve the discovery interface for the 40 public academic libraries across the state. This new interface, called Mango, will enhance the research experience through an intuitive, seamless search environment. It made its debut on August 6, 2018 and provides users a fast, easy, and effective framework for searching Miami Dade College's rich library collections. Mango enables you to:

  • Locate full-text articles, journals, e-books, and other valuable resources that are currently available to each college and university through a variety of databases.
  • Search for books and other physical materials owned by Miami Dade College, or expand your search to include the physical library collections of all other public college and university libraries across the state of Florida.
  • Manage lists of favorite books and e-resources, place holds on library materials, view overdue items, and request items from other libraries within the college and across the state. 

In addition, the statewide union catalog uses Mango to provide access to college and university library holdings; resources are available based on the user’s library affiliation. Interlibrary loan request are handled through the UBorrow service which provides access to all college and university materials.

UBorrow

UBorrow is the user-centered unmediated borrowing service which enables eligible library patrons to request materials from any participating state university or state college library with a single request via Mango. Each Mango interface includes a link to the statewide union catalog, from which users can also search for resources held by any institution. Review UBorrow's frequently asked questions for more information about this service.

Getting Help

How will this affect your courses? 

Beginning in the Fall 2018 term, your course links to items such as books, articles, and videos, among other resources in the library catalog, may need to be reviewed and updated in Blackboard, on your syllabus, and in other instructional areas. The library has updated many of your links in Blackboard with the help of Virtual College and CIOL, but there may still be some links that need to be updated.  If this is the case, please contact your campus library.  The fix is very quick, and disruption should be minimal; however, we want to support you to ensure that library resources are linked and ready for student usage.

Your students will also benefit from this new system.  Consider requesting a library instruction for your classes. Our librarians can come to your classroom to teach students how to find, evaluate, and use information for your courses using Mango.

How can you receive help?

Please contact your campus library for help locating and linking to library content. Additionally, visit the library to receive help or look for our workshops and help sessions offered in September 2018. 

Please contact the library for any questions and concerns. We are happy to assist you!

Upcoming Trainings

Date, Time, and Location:

  • Tuesday, 9/18 at 9:00 AM
    • IAC, Room 6011-31
  • Wednesday, 9/19 at 3:00 PM
    • IAC, Room 6011-31
  • Monday, 9/24 at 12:00 PM
    • Medical, Room 1139

Meet Your Campus Mango Experts

Each campus has a Mango expert on site to assist faculty and staff. See the list below:

Mango Expert

Campus

Name

Hialeah

Alex Hernandez

aherna26@mdc.edu

Homestead

Israel Sanchez

isanche1@mdc.edu

IAC

Isabel Duque

iduque@mdc.edu

Kendall

Jenny Saxton

jsaxton@mdc.edu

Medical

Ivan Toledo

itoledo2@mdc.edu

North/EEC

Theo Karantsalis

tkarants@mdc.edu

West

Gabriel Gonzalez

ggonza13@mdc.edu

Wolfson

Marta Frydman

mfrydman@mdc.edu


Main role of the Mango expert:

  • to train others on campus libraries to assist with Mango implementation, should broken links become a problem
  • to work with faculty in person and remotely to change links in BbL
  • to teach faculty how to grab permalinks in Mango and e-resources to successfully integrate them in courses
  • to provide reports upon request.

Login Information

Login Information for Databases, My Account, and More in Mango

Username: Your MDC ID

Password: Last 4 digits of MDC ID