Aviation Maintenance Technician Handbook: Powerplant (2023) by
Aviation Supplies & Academics, Inc. has been the industry's trusted source for official FAA publications for over 80 years. Look for the ASA wings to ensure you're purchasing the latest authentic FAA release. This handbook FAA-H-8083-32A is current in 2023. Aviation Maintenance Technician Handbook--Powerplant (Volumes 1 and 2) is designed for use by instructors and applicants preparing for the FAA Knowledge Exam and Oral & Practical (O&P) Exams required for obtaining an Aviation Maintenance Technician (AMT) certificate with Airframe or Powerplant rating or both (also called an A&P license). Developed as one in a series of handbooks for this purpose, this is an effective text for both students and instructors, and will also serve as an invaluable reference guide for current technicians who wish to improve their knowledge. This Powerplant edition provides the basic information on principles, fundamentals, and technical procedures in the subject matter areas relating to the powerplant rating including: aircraft engines engine fuel and fuel metering systems induction and exhaust systems engine ignition and electrical systems engine starting systems lubrication and cooling systems propellers engine removal and replacement engine fire protection systems engine maintenance and operation light-sport aircraft engines Illustrated throughout with detailed, full-color drawings and photographs, with a comprehensive glossary and index.
Foundations of Aviation Law by 
Practical Aviation Security by 
Human Factors in Flight by 
Aviation Maintenance Technician Handbook--Airframe (2023) by 
Aviation Maintenance Technician Handbook--General (2023) by 
Aviation Maintenance Technician Handbook--Powerplant (2023) by 
Aviation Weather Handbook (2023) by 
Flight Instructor Oral Exam Guide by 
High-Wing Aircraft Visualized Flight Maneuvers Manual by
This comprehensive maneuvers manual is an excellent visual aid for instructors and pilots in training, covering all the flight maneuvers required for Private, Sport, Commercial, and Flight Instructor certification. Each maneuver is depicted in detail according to the type of aircraft in which the lesson will take place, states the objective of the task, and lists the FAA Certification Standards required, serving as an effective learning and teaching tool. Fully illustrated with fold-out pages that show and explain each maneuver on a one-page spread so pilots can see and read complete details on what to do, in the proper order, to successfully demonstrate all required flight maneuvers. Compact format with spiral binding provides easy access to the fold-out pages. The illustrated fold-outs show each maneuver step-by-step, so pilots understand what they should be looking for outside the cockpit window. Contains full descriptions of stalls, slips, performance and ground reference maneuvers as well as short, soft, and crosswind takeoffs and landings. This revised fifth edition adds a new section on energy management. Also included are suggested checklists for everything from preflight to takeoffs and landings, performance, and checkrides, and an easy-to-use index so pilots can quickly refer to any desired task.
Pilot's Handbook of Aeronautical Knowledge (2023) by 
Foundations of Aviation Law by Human Factors in Flight by
The late Captain Frank H Hawkins FRAes, M Phil, was Human Factors Consultant to KLM, for whom he had flown for over 30 years as line captain and R & D pilot, designing the flight decks for all KLM aircraft from the Viscount to the Boeing 747. In this period he developed and applied his specialization in Human Factors. His perception of lack of knowledge of Human Factors and its disastrous consequences led him to initiate both an annual course on Human Factors in Transport Aircraft Operation at Loughborough and Aston Universities, and the KLM Human Factors Awareness Course (KHUFAC). A consultant member of SAE S-7 committee, he was also a member of the Human Factors Society and a Liveryman of the Guild of Air Pilots. He was keynote speaker at the ICAO Human Factors Seminar held in St Petersburg, Russia in April 1990. About the Editor The late Captain Harry W Orlady was an Aviation Human Factors Consultant and a former Senior Research Scientist for the Aviation Safety Reporting System (ASRS); he also worked with NASA/Ames, with private research firms and the FAA in its certification of the Boeing 747-400 and the McDonnell-Douglas MK-11. As a pilot with United Airlines he flew 10 types of aircraft ranging from the DC-3 to the Boeing 747. He conducted studies in ground and flight training, Human Factors, aviation safety and aeromedical fields, and received several major awards and presented nearly 100 papers or lectures. He was an elected fellow of the Aerospace Medical Association; a member of the Human Factors Society, of ICE Flight Safety and Human Factors Study Group, and the SAE Human Behavioural Technology and G-10 Committees.
The Advanced Pilot's Flight Manual by 
Aeronautical Chart User's Guide by 
General Aviation Aircraft Design by
General Aviation Aircraft Design, Second Edition, continues to be the engineer's best source for answers to realistic aircraft design questions. The book has been expanded to provide design guidance for additional classes of aircraft, including seaplanes, biplanes, UAS, high-speed business jets, and electric airplanes. In addition to conventional powerplants, design guidance for battery systems, electric motors, and complete electric powertrains is offered. The second edition contains new chapters: Thrust Modeling for Gas Turbines Longitudinal Stability and Control Lateral and Directional Stability and Control These new chapters offer multiple practical methods to simplify the estimation of stability derivatives and introduce hinge moments and basic control system design. Furthermore, all chapters have been reorganized and feature updated material with additional analysis methods. This edition also provides an introduction to design optimization using a wing optimization as an example for the beginner. Written by an engineer with more than 25 years of design experience, professional engineers, aircraft designers, aerodynamicists, structural analysts, performance analysts, researchers, and aerospace engineering students will value the book as the classic go-to for aircraft design.
Global Navigation for Pilots by
Flight accomplished over longer distances and across international borders takes special knowledge; this book is for pilots who want to know more about both the planning and execution of international flights, from the basic knowledge of air navigation expected of an instrument-rated private pilot, and onward. This Third Edition of Global Navigation for Pilots: International Flight Techniques and Procedures is written and updated by Dale DeRemer, Ph.D. and Gary Ullrich, and serves as the continuation of what has been the definitive textbook on the subject since 1993. This book covers long-range and trans-oceanic navigation techniques and procedures, and international flight planning, systems, and regulations. Topics include: GPS, RVSM airspace, featureless terrain navigation, celestial concepts important to pilots, ICAO aircraft registry information, and how to get your flight department ready to fly internationally. Study questions or classroom exercises included with most chapters. Fully illustrated in color, and includes glossary and index.
Human Factors by
Today's aviation industry enjoys a remarkable safety record, primarily because it has learned from the mistakes of its past. Through the study of aviation accidents, most of the risks of flying have been identified and the threats they pose to safety can be managed. However, aircraft accidents, such as controlled flight into terrain, loss of control, runway excursions and incursions, and midair collisions still occur, and the hazards of flight remain. Some accidents happen due to mechanical failure, improper maintenance, or hazardous weather--but the vast majority are caused by pilot action (or inaction). Pilots can commit errors and make decisions that lead to tragic outcomes. Most accidents are not intentional; inadvertent errors made by flight crews arise from normal human physiological, psychological, and psychosocial limitations. Drawing upon the latest scientific research, aviation safety studies, and accident findings, Human Factors: Enhancing Pilot Performance thoroughly explores the nature of these human limitations and how they affect flight. Most importantly, this book provides best practice countermeasures designed to help pilots minimize their influence on flight performance. Whether you are a fair-weather private pilot, a new-hire first officer at a regional airline, or a seasoned pilot with thousands of hours under your belt, Human Factors will help you understand why pilots make mistakes and arm you with the knowledge to successfully identify, avoid, and mitigate them. Textbook Features: Designed for use as a primary textbook for courses covering the physiological and/or psychological aspects of flight crew performance Focuses on the practical application of human factors, primarily written for, and addressing the practical needs of, pilots Thorough coverage of the physiological, psychological and psychosocial factors that affect pilot performance Abundant examples of how these factors contribute to accidents and incidents Suggested best-practice countermeasures pilots can adopt to overcome or manage specific human factor limitations to pilot performance Extensive references and helpful resources for each topic Several appendices including CICTT's Aviation Occurrence Categories, Glossary and Abbreviations/Acronyms, Over 150 color illustrations Aircraft Accident index with more than 130 entries FREE additional resources available for instructors who adopt Human Factors into their course curriculum Reviewed by experts in aerospace physiology, aviation medicine, experimental psychology, cognitive psychology, advanced flight deck design, pilot human factors education, and by experienced airline pilots representing several different airlines in the United States and Canada. Foreword by Jay Hopkins, veteran writer of the Human Factors column for Flying magazine
The Pilot's Manual: Ground School by
The Pilot's Manual: Ground School will walk you through everything you need to know to pass your FAA Knowledge Exams and earn your pilot certificate. The Fifth Edition of this comprehensive textbook has been updated to reflect current rules, procedures, FAA Airman Certification Standards, BasicMed, and technologies including drones, ADS-B, and weather services available to pilots. Subjects covered include aerodynamics, the airplane and its performance factors, physiological factors affecting the pilot, weather, regulations, charts and airspace, airport operations, navigation, and flight planning, including specific instructions on how to use the flight computer. Helpful marginal notes are provided for quick definitions of terms, further emphasis of key points, and mnemonic devices that can be of tremendous benefit to study. Each chapter closes with review questions highlighting the important facts. Ninety percent of the material is for the private pilot applicant, and the remaining ten percent, well-separated, will raise you to the commercial pilot certificate standard. Also available in The Pilot's Manual Series: Flight School--How to fly all the maneuvers required for certification Instrument Flying--Aeronautical knowledge and skill required for the Instrument Rating Multi-Engine Flying--Aeronautical knowledge required to earn a Multi-Engine Rating Access to Flight--An integrated Private Certificate and Instrument Rating curriculum Airline Transport Pilot--Complete ATP certification training program
Practical Aviation and Aerospace Law by 
Sunset to Sunrise by
Night flight is one of the most pleasant forms of flight. Every city looks good at night. The sparkling lights, stars, moon and reflections combine to produce a spectacle many only dream about. However, night flight requires different technique, perspective, and considerations than day operations. The aircraft must be flown with reference to the flight instruments, and the outside visual references take on new importance while at the same time providing different illusions. Night flight can be a test for even the most experienced pilot. Veteran author David Robson prepares readers for the unique considerations involved with night operations with information and practical techniques on: Flying on instruments Weather Human factors, including night vision, fatigue, hypoxia, and more The regulations governing night operations Preflight preparations Aircraft and airport lighting Cross-country planning, navigating using both pilotage and dead reckoning Takeoffs and landings Emergency situations Readers will come away equipped with the knowledge, skills and confidence to enjoy the night flying experience to the fullest.
The Turbine Pilot's Flight Manual by 
Airline Pilot Technical Interviews by
A study guide for a successful airline checkride All kinds of technical questions can be asked in an airline interview, yet there is a specific approach pilot applicants should take to successfully prepare for this part of the hiring process. In this expanded fourth edition of the book, author Ron McElroy gives readers an abundance of preparatory exercises in the areas of mental math, approach plates, regulations and procedures, weather, systems and aerodynamics, and cockpit situations to analyze and resolve. You will also be acquainted with 14 CFR Part 111 Pilot Records Database so that you are aware of the information sharing that occurs between employers. Using McElroy's tips and methods, aspiring professional pilots will be prepared to display their flying skills during the simulator ride as well as their aeronautical knowledge during the face-to-face oral questioning. This study and practice will not only ensure better performance during a technical interview or test but will help pilots fly the line a little better.
Far-Fc 2023 by
ASA's FAR-FC is the definitive reference book for Part 121 and 135 operators. This updated 2023 edition reflects changes in aviation operations for pilots and flight crews, including flight crew member certifications, fractional ownership operations, certification for air carriers, and operating requirements for domestic operations. Includes free email subscription service for you to receive updated information as it is released by the FAA. This convenient resource includes: Title 14 Parts 1, 5, 63, 65, 91 Subpart K, 110, 111, 117, 119, 120, 121, 135; Title 49 Hazmat 175 and TSA 1544 The Pilot's Bill of Rights FREE updates available online and via email subscription service for instant access to regulation changes as they are released throughout the one-year book lifecycle (sign up on ASA's website) Comprehensive FAR index ASA's FAR/AIM series has been the standard regulatory reference of the industry for more than 80 years. ASA consolidates the FAA regulations and procedures into easy-to-use reference books full of information pertinent to pilots, flight crew, and aviation mechanics. regulations and procedures into easy-to-use reference books full of information pertinent to pilots, flight crew, and aviation mechanics. regulations and procedures into easy-to-use reference books full of information pertinent to pilots, flight crew, and aviation mechanics. regulations and procedures into easy-to-use reference books full of information pertinent to pilots, flight crew, and aviation mechanics.
FAR/AIM 2023: up-To-Date FAA Regulations / Aeronautical Information Manual by
All the Information You Need to Operate Safely in US Airspace, Fully Updated If you're an aviator or aviation enthusiast, you cannot be caught with an out-of-date edition of the FAR/AIM. In the newest edition of the FAR/AIM, all regulations, procedures, and illustrations are brought up to date to reflect current federal regulations and FAA data, policies, and advisories. This handy reference book is an indispensable resource for members of the aviation community, as well as for aspiring pilots looking to get a solid background in the rules, requirements, and procedures of flight. Not only does this manual present current FAA information, it also includes: A guide for specific pilot training certifications and ratings A pilot/controller glossary Standard instrument procedures Parachute operations Airworthiness standards for aircraft and parts Flight and pilot school information Important FAA contact details This is the most complete guide to the rules of aviation available anywhere. Don't take off without the FAR/AIM!
Far-Amt 2023 by
ASA's FAR-AMT is the most accurate and reliable regulatory reference on the market for aviation maintenance technicians (AMTs), maintenance operations, and repair shops. This 2023 edition of AMT-related Federal Aviation Regulations (FAR) from Title 14 of the Code of Federal Regulations clearly marks all changes from the previous year. Also contains additional mechanic references such as some of the most often used FAA Advisory Circular publications and FAA Orders. This edition includes: Title 14 Parts 1, 3, 5, 13, 21, 23, 26, 27, 33, 34, 35, 39, 43, 45, 47, 48, 65, 91, 110, 119, 121 (J, L, Z, AA, DD), 125, 135, 145, 147, and 183 Advisory Circulars 20-62E, 20-109A, 21-12C, 39-7D, 43-9C, and 43.9-1G FREE updates available online and via email subscription service for instant access to regulation changes as they are released throughout the one-year book lifecycle (sign up on ASA's website) Comprehensive FAR index ASA's FAR/AIM series has been the standard regulatory reference of the industry for more than 80 years. ASA consolidates the FAA regulations and procedures into easy-to-use reference books full of information pertinent to pilots, flight crew, and aviation mechanics. rd regulatory reference of the industry for more than 80 years. ASA consolidates the FAA regulations and procedures into easy-to-use reference books full of information pertinent to pilots, flight crew, and aviation mechanics. rd regulatory reference of the industry for more than 80 years. ASA consolidates the FAA regulations and procedures into easy-to-use reference books full of information pertinent to pilots, flight crew, and aviation mechanics. rd regulatory reference of the industry for more than 80 years. ASA consolidates the FAA regulations and procedures into easy-to-use reference books full of information pertinent to pilots, flight crew, and aviation mechanics.
The Complete Multi-Engine Pilot by 
Dictionary of Aeronautical Terms by
Dale Crane's ultimate reference book contains more than 12,000 accurate, aviation-specific terms and definitions, updating and gathering all the terms in Title 14 of the Code of Federal Regulations, glossaries from FAA handbooks, advisory circulars and manuals, the Aeronautical Information Manual (AIM) and Pilot/Controller Glossary, as well as definitions not found in government publications. Nearly 500 illustrations further define and aid visual recognition of the terms, and useful tables and lists are included in appendices. In an industry of acronyms and technical language, this comprehensive dictionary is an essential reference book for anyone involved with aviation and/or space organizations--administrators, pilots, maintenance technicians, drone operators, colleges and universities, air traffic controllers, manufacturers, engineers, government agencies, airlines, and corporate flight departments, as well as newcomers to the industry, and those who speak English as a second language. The ASA Dictionary of Aeronautical Terms, now in its Seventh Edition, is a vital reference tool that belongs on every aviation bookshelf.
