Aviation - Library Resources

The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the official legal print publication containing the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (eCFR) is a continuously updated online version of the CFR.

Founded as an all-digital library program, NTL’s collections in ROSA P are full-text digital publications, datasets, and other resources. Legacy print materials that have been digitized are collected if they have historic, technical, or national significance. The repository is also designated as the full-text repository for USDOT-funded research under the USDOT Public Access Plan. Collections in ROSA P are available without restriction to transportation researchers, statistical organizations, the media, and the general public.

The Interagency Aviation Training Subcommittee (IATS), Executive Aviation Committee (EAC) and the Executive Aviation Subcommittee (EAS), in conjunction with its partners, provides national leadership to establish and disseminate interagency aviation training standards for natural resource agency personnel in support of safe, effective, and efficient use of aviation resources.

The Aviation Digital Data Service (ADDS) makes available to the aviation community text, digital and graphical forecasts, analyses, and observations of aviation-related weather variables.

It’s no secret pilots and air traffic controllers at times must contend with challenging weather conditions. For the weather forecasters that support them, COMET has produced a suite of training resources. These resources explain the characteristics of the weather patterns that give pilots and controllers the most difficulty and teach the best procedures and tools to predict them.

Did you know the National Park Service uses aviation for many purposes on a daily basis? And that the NPS has a history steeped in aviation…from preserving and protecting some of our most important historical sites focused on aviation to historic aviation "firsts" in the United States? Explore this website and learn more about the rich history and use of aviation in your national parks.

This web textbook contains information, data tables and computer programs for the study of aerodynamics, gas dynamics, propulsion, aircraft performance and flight mechanics. Topics relevant to the undergraduate engineering degree at a university level are covered.

Repository & Open Science Access Portal, includes transportation statistics, and public access to Publications and Digital Data Sets arising from DOT-managed research and development programs.

The (JAAER) is a double-blind, peer-reviewed scholarly publication that provides a free, open-access platform for educators and researchers in Aviation and Aerospace Academia and Industry. We publish innovative scholarship on the integration and discovery of scientific knowledge and its application to Aviation and Aerospace. Our journal has an esteemed panel of reviewers from well-respected academic, industry, and government institutions.

The Department of Aviation utilizes many interactive trainers and tools in its curricula. Most are accessible for anyone to use.

Whatever your motivation, Aviation 101 is a great place to start! Enroll in this free online course, and proceed at your own pace to learn fundamentals that will give you a head start on your aviation career. Aviation 101 offers you more than just knowledge.

The AOPA Air Safety Institute’s online learning library offers various content, including online courses, videos, quizzes, podcasts, and safety spotlights. Click the options below to view specific types of content.

This course extends fluid mechanic concepts from Unified Engineering to the aerodynamic performance of wings and bodies in sub/supersonic regimes. 16.100 generally has four components: subsonic potential flows, including source/vortex panel methods; viscous flows, including laminar and turbulent boundary layers; aerodynamics of airfoils and wings, including thin airfoil theory, lifting line theory, and panel method/interacting boundary layer methods; and supersonic and hypersonic airfoil theory. Course material varies each year depending upon the focus of the design problem

About this game:
The most realistic aircraft. The world at your fingertips. It’s not a game, it’s a flight simulator.

Make your Flight Plan at SkyVector.com. SkyVector is a free online flight planner. Flight planning is easy on our large collection of Aeronautical Charts.

From a single point of access in OER Commons, you can search, browse, and evaluate resources in OER Commons' growing collection of over 50,000 high-quality OER.

The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy.

This handbook describes the United States (U.S.) aviation weather program, products, and services. It also documents weather theory and its application to aviation. The objective of this handbook is to help the pilot and operator understand the basics of weather, aviation weather hazards, and aviation weather products.