Books or articles that are not available in your campus library may be borrowed from other campuses via intercampus loan (ICL), or from other institutions via interlibrary loan (ILL).
Items that can be obtained from libraries within the Florida College System are usually received within 3 to 7 days. Other items may take up to 2 weeks to be received. The loan period for an ILL item depends on the policy of the lending institution.
Contact your campus library Reference Desk for assistance with placing ICL or ILL requests.
Pilot's handbook of aeronautical knowledge United States. Federal Aviation Administration.
Aviation Weather Handbook FAA-H-8083-28 (Color Print) by 
Human Factors for the Private Pilot by 
Flight Instruments for the Private Pilot by 
Principles of Flight for the Private Pilot by 
Aircraft Technical Knowledge for the Private Pilot by 
Aviation Mastery by 
Airman Knowledge Testing Supplement for Sport Pilot, Recreational Pilot, Remote (Drone) Pilot, and Private Pilot FAA-CT-8080-2H by 
Airman Certification Standards: Aviation Mechanic General, Airframe, and Powerplant (2023) by 
Jeppesen Instrument Pilot FAA Airmen Knowledge Test Guide by 
Private Pilot Manual by 
Jeppesen Private Pilot Maneuvers Manual by 
Transport Category Aircraft Systems by 
Aviation Weather by 
Private Pilot FAA Airmen Knowledge Test Guide by Jeppesen Instrument Pilot FAA Airmen Knowledge Test Guide by 
Aviation security : safeguarding international civil aviation against acts of unlawful interference.
Foundations of Aviation Law by 
Instrument/Commercial Textbook by 
Private Pilot Exam Booklet by 
Fundamentals of International Aviation Law and Policy by
Fundamentals of International Aviation Law and Policyoffers students a systematic, tailored and dynamic approach to understanding the legal scenario concerning international civil aviation. The book dynamically covers the major areas of international aviation law, and provides an introduction to the multifaceted international regulation of aviation activities in the sphere of public and private law. The book is designed to provide the reader with the fundamental notions concerning international aviation law. It adopts an interactive approach, which aims at engaging the reader by way of using learning tools. The main areas of public and private aviation law are dealt with from a regulatory and practical perspective, and include detailed analyses of existing and applicable legislations, as well as landmark court cases and decisions. Each chapter is tailored to confer to readers a thorough knowledge of the international and, if any, the European applicable legislation. Delivery of these aims is attained through a dynamic and balanced use of didactic instruments and immediate information. The book is intended for a varied audience of students and professionals involved in the aviation world, without requiring the possession of specific legal knowledge or background. It also aims to constitute a useful reference material for those who are familiar with legal terminology and aviation specifics.
Increasing Aircrew Flight Equipment Personnel Proficiency by
The Air Force Aircrew Flight Equipment (AFE) specialty plays a crucial role in ensuring the safety of aircraft pilots, other aircrew, and special warfare operators via training and by engaging in maintenance, inspection, repair, and adjustment of aircrew flight equipment, such as flight helmets, parachutes, and safety rafts. The authors investigate the causes for the decline in AFE proficiency and develop courses of action to mitigate the issue.
Dead Reckoning by
Vaughan unveils the complicated and high-pressure world of air traffic controllers as they navigate technology and political and public climates, and shows how they keep the skies so safe. When two airplanes were flown into the World Trade Center towers on September 11, 2001, Americans watched in uncomprehending shock as first responders struggled to react to the situation on the ground. Congruently, another remarkable and heroic feat was taking place in the air: more than six hundred and fifty air traffic control facilities across the country coordinated their efforts to ground four thousand flights in just two hours--an achievement all the more impressive considering the unprecedented nature of the task. In Dead Reckoning, Diane Vaughan explores the complex work of air traffic controllers, work that is built upon a close relationship between human organizational systems and technology and is remarkably safe given the high level of risk. Vaughan observed the distinct skill sets of air traffic controllers and the ways their workplaces changed to adapt to technological developments and public and political pressures. She chronicles the ways these forces affected their jobs, from their relationships with one another and the layouts of their workspace to their understandings of their job and its place in society. The result is a nuanced and engaging look at an essential role that demands great coordination, collaboration, and focus--a role that technology will likely never be able to replace. Even as the book conveys warnings about complex systems and the liabilities of technological and organizational innovation, it shows the kinds of problem-solving solutions that evolved over time and the importance of people.
Fundamentals of Airline Operations by
This book provides a general introduction into aviation operations, covering all the relevant elements of this field and the interrelations between them. Numerous books have been written about aviation, but most are written by and for specialists and assume a profound understanding of the fundamentals. This textbook provides the basics for understanding these fundamentals. This book explains how the commercial aviation sector is structured, and how technological, economic and political forces define its development and the prosperity of its players. Aviation Operations have become an important field of expertise. Airlines, airports and aviation suppliers, the players in aviation, need expertise on how aircraft are profitably exploited by connecting airports with the aim to add value to society. This book covers all relevant aspects on how they all do this, including contemporary challenges like capacity constraints and sustainability. This textbook delivers a fundamental basic understanding of the commercial aviation sector at a level ideal for first-year university students but also appropriate and accessible to people already employed within aviation seeking an accurate overview of operations.
The History of Aviation by
From the balloon to the biplane to the Boeing 787, The History of Aviation is an expertly written and accessible account of the history of flight. The dream of flight is as old as civilization itself. Examples from ancient Chinese and Greek literature and from Native and South American legend tell of flying warriors, priests and prisoners. Today, we have developed flight so advanced that unmanned drones can fly many hundred miles to carry out surveillance or bombing operations. The History of Aviationexplores the fascinating history of flight, from early developments such as the Montgolfier brothers' balloon and the Wright Flyer, through the technological advances of two world wars, to modern-day technological marvels such as the A380 and stealth fighter jets. The book also explains the political and economic reasons behind the development of certain aircraft and how aviation has affected and been affected by global politics. Addressing both military and civil flight, The History of Aviation includes a plethora of black-and-white photographs and illustrations. Throughout is a timeline putting developments into historical context.
Attitude 101 by
Attitude can make or break you and the people you lead. Good attitudes on a team do not guarantee its success, but bad attitudes guarantee its ruin. So says New York Times best-selling author and leadership expert John C. Maxwell in this highly practical primer, Attitude 101. Anyone who has tried to lead people with bad attitudes knows the frustration it can bring. With this concise and reader-friendly guidebook, you can master attitude issues. Learn to: Recognize how individuals' attitudes impact their performance Pinpoint problem feelings, behaviors, and thinking in yourself and others Identify six common attitude problems that undermine teamwork Discover the secret to changing a bad attitude Create new definititons of failure and success that will improve performance Adopt the attitude that helps a leader keep going to the next level Attitude is contagious! You want to make sure your team is catching the right one!
Looking Ahead at the Cybersecurity Workforce at the Federal Aviation Administration by
The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) has overseen significant upgrades to the technology used to manage aviation operations to increase the safety and efficiency of the National Airspace System (NAS). Though necessary to regular operations, these modern computing and communications systems provide a greater attack surface for criminals, terrorists, or nation-states to exploit and thereby increase the potential for cybersecurity threats to the NAS and its constituents. The future safety and security of air travel will rely in part on the ability of the FAA to build a workforce capable of addressing the evolving cybersecurity threat landscape. Securing the computers, networks, and data that underpin modern aviation depends in part on the FAA having enough cybersecurity professionals (capacity) with the right knowledge, skills, and abilities (capability)). It also depends on the FAA's workforce having sufficient diversity of backgrounds and experience. Such diversity is critical in analyzing cybersecurity problems and widely understood to be a "functional imperative" for effective cybersecurity programs. At the request of Congress, the publication examines the FAA's cybersecurity workforce challenges, reviews the current strategy for meeting those challenges, and recommends ways to strengthen the FAA's cybersecurity workforce.
Airport Planning & Management, Seventh Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The definitive guide to airport planning and management―fully updated with the latest advances in the industry. This thoroughly revised guide covers all aspects of airport infrastructure―from the airfield and runway to airspace, air traffic control, and terminal and security systems. Airport Planning & Management, Seventh Edition clearly explains the FAA's National Plan of Integrated Airport Systems (NPIAS), historical and current legislation and regulations, FAR Part 139, and more. You'll explore cutting-edge concepts such as automation, smart baggage handling, enhanced security, and analytics. Updated questions for review and discussion will bring new insights to your knowledge of how airports are planned and managed. Coverage includes: *An introduction to airports and airport systems *Airport and airport systems organization and administration *Historical and legislative perspectives *The airfield *Airspace and air traffic management *Airport operations management under FAR Part 139 *Airport terminals and ground access *Airport security *Airport financial management *Economic, political, and social role of airports *Airport planning *Airport capacity and delay *The future of airport management
Advances in Air Traffic Engineering by
This book offers a timely snapshot of research and developments in the area of air traffic engineering and management. It covers mathematical, modeling, reliability and optimization methods applied for improving different stages of flight operations, including both aerodrome and terminal airspace operations. It analyses and highlights important legal and safety aspects, and discusses timely issues such as those concerned with Brexit and the use of unmanned aerial vehicles. Gathering selected papers presented at the 6th edition of the International Scientific Conference on Air Traffic Engineering, ATE 2020, held in October 2020 in Warsaw, Poland, this book offers a timely and inspiring source of information for both researchers and professionals in the field of air traffic engineering and management.
Information Support and Aircraft Flight Management by
This book presents materials on the implementation of modern technologies for aircraft information support and ground-based radio equipment for flights in the Russian Federation, especially in the Arctic and far Eastern regions, as well as new methods for monitoring the flight of civil aviation aircraft based on the use of local control and correction stations and optical systems that fully meet the requirements of international and domestic organizations for the reliability and integrity of transmitted information. The book is intended for engineering and technical specialists involved in the development, manufacturing and operation of aircraft avionics and ground-based radio electronic flight support systems, as well as graduate students and senior students of radio engineering specialties. It is useful to researchers and professionals whose activities are related to air traffic control.
Airline Operations Control by
This text is among the first to reveal the intricacies of an airline's Operations Control Centre; especially the thought processes, information flows, and strategies taken to mitigate disruptions. Airline Operations Controlprovides a deep level of description, explanation and detail into the activities of a range of highly professional and expert staff managing the 'sharp' end of the airline. It aims to fill a void as little is understood about this area, and very little is written for practitioners in the airline business. The book offers a comprehensive look at the make-up of the Operations Centre, its component sections, and the processes that occur both in preparing for and executing the current day's schedules. Several chapters provide real-life scenarios and demonstrate how Operations Centres manage evolving situations - what they need to take into account, and how they need to have Plan B and Plan C ready when things don't go right. This book is designed to deliver knowledge gains to both new and experienced aviation industry practitioners with regards to vital operational aspects. Additionally, it also offers students of air transport management a readily accessible and real-world-perspective guide to a crucial function present within every airline.
Introduction to Aerospace Engineering by
Provides a broad and accessible introduction to the field of aerospace engineering, ideal for semester-long courses Aerospace engineering, the field of engineering focused on the development of aircraft and spacecraft, is taught at universities in both dedicated aerospace engineering programs as well as in wider mechanical engineering curriculums around the world-yet accessible introductory textbooks covering all essential areas of the subject are rare. Filling this significant gap in the market, Introduction to Aerospace Engineering: Basic Principles of Flight provides beginning students with a strong foundational knowledge of the key concepts they will further explore as they advance through their studies. Designed to align with the curriculum of a single-semester course, this comprehensive textbook offers a student-friendly presentation that combines the theoretical and practical aspects of aerospace engineering. Clear and concise chapters cover the laws of aerodynamics, pressure, and atmospheric modeling, aircraft configurations, the forces of flight, stability and control, rockets, propulsion, and more. Detailed illustrations, well-defined equations, end-of-chapter summaries, and ample review questions throughout the text ensure students understand the core topics of aerodynamics, propulsion, flight mechanics, and aircraft performance. Drawn from the author's thirty years' experience teaching the subject to countless numbers of university students, this much-needed textbook: Explains basic vocabulary and fundamental aerodynamic concepts Describes aircraft configurations, low-speed aerofoils, high-lift devices, and rockets Covers essential topics including thrust, propulsion, performance, maneuvers, and stability and control Introduces each topic in a concise and straightforward manner as students are guided through progressively more advanced material Includes access to companion website containing a solutions manual and lecture slides for instructors Introduction to Aerospace Engineering: Basic Principles of Flight is the perfect "one stop" textbook for instructors, undergraduates, and graduate students in Introduction to Aerospace Engineering or Introduction to Flight courses in Aerospace Engineering or Mechanical Engineering programs.
Meteorology Today: an Introduction to Weather, Climate, and the Environment by 
