LibGuides: BAS Business-Library Resources: Open Educational Resources (OER)

About this page

This page contains links to freely available textbooks, journals, video tutorials, and other materials related to business.

For general information on Open Educational Resources (OER), see the following websites:

Open Textbook Collections

British Columbia Campus Open Campus Textbook List
Openly licensed textbooks created or listed by BCCampus, a consortium of post-secondary educational institutions in British Columbia.
Directory of Open Access Books
Openly accessible (and many openly licensed) electronic books. Nearly 2,500 books as of January 2015. Includes search and browse finding features. Many times from international publishers and strong focus on humanities and social sciences
Find free online course materials related to a book (search by ISBN)
The Global Text Project
Publishes open content electronic textbooks that are freely available. They focus on content development and Web distribution, and work with relevant authorities to facilitate dissemination by other means when bandwidth is unavailable or inadequate. The goal is to make textbooks globally available to the many who cannot afford them.
Lumen Learning
Lumen Learning provides OER course Materials on business-related subjects such as management, marketing, business communication and statistics.
Merlot
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
OER Commons
OER Commons provides a curated collection of textbooks and resources for business-related subjects such as marketing, management and finance.
OpenStax College
Open Stax provides a collection of textbooks related to business. Titles include subjects such as business ethics, statistics, management and entrepreneurship.
OpenSUNY Textbooks
A growing collection of openly licensed textbooks in a wide variety of topics.
Open Textbook Library
From the University of Minnesota, this collection of e-textbooks includes books on business law, business communication, business plans, e-commerce, e-marketing, global strategy and more. The books are openly licensed, complete, and suitable for adoption. There is also a paid option for students who want to get a print edition.
Saylor Academy Bookshelf
Each of the books in the Saylor Academy bookshelf is freely available for download, online reading, and sharing under one of various open licenses.

Open Educational Resources

Rising Textbook Prices Mirror Rising Drug Costs

Your Feedback is Appreciated

What are the impacts of adopting OER?

What Are the Impacts of Adopting OER?

From Lumen Learning -- check the calculator to see how OER can increase student success!

More Resources

GALILEO Open Learning Materials
About GALILEO Open Learning Materials
GALILEO Open Learning Materials brings together open educational resources throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials.
OER Commons
A large collection of a variety of types of OER, including textbooks, courses, and ancillary materials
Teaching Commons
The Teaching Commons showcases high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities and makes them available to educators and students around the world.
Lumen Learning
Affordable, simple-to-adapt OER course materials that improve learning.
Merlot
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
Open Course Library
The Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts.
SUNY OER Ready-to-Adopt Courses
SUNY OER Services is a shared services organization for SUNY institutions looking to build, support, and expand Open Educational programs and practices.
The Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
Real-time federated search for OER content.
California State University: Course Materials Finder Tool
Enter a book's ISBN to search for freely available related materials.

TED ED: Lessons Worth Sharing
Business: Create and share lessons around any TED-Ed original, TED Talk or YouTube Video.

Crash Course Series: Business
This YouTube crash course channel includes videos on business soft skills, business writing, money & finance, supply & demand, globalization and more.
Snag Films
Offers a powerful tool to raise awareness of important issues not covered by the mainstream news. Provides citizens with the information and perspectives essential to creating a more just, sustainable, and democratic society.

Finance - edX
Learn key financial topics such as corporate finance, risk management, M&A, pricing models, money markets, deal structure, economic policy, financial-decision making, and more with online classes in finance from top institutions worldwide.
Future Learn - Business Fundamentals
For developing communication, networking, relationship building and project management skills with this flexible program of online courses from The Open University Business School.
Khan Academy - Money, Banking and Central Banks
Videos and lessons that explain the concepts of money, foreign currency, banking and trade.
MIT Open Courseware
MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
Open Yale - Economics Studies
The Department of Economics at Yale offers a wide spectrum of courses for both specialists and non-specialists alike. For undergraduate majors, a core of courses in macro- and microeconomics, mathematics, and econometrics is required. Advanced courses offer training in economic history, finance, theory, international and developmental economics, market organization, human resources, and the public sector.
Coursera
Every course on Coursera is taught by top instructors from the world’s best universities and educational institutions. Courses include recorded video lectures, auto-graded and peer-reviewed assignments, and community discussion forums
Saylor-Business Administration Courses
CC BY licensed course materials for entire courses in the business administration discipline.
Business Writing by Lumen Learning
This course allows students to develop effective written communication strategies specifically for the workplace. From idea gathering to drafting to delivery, this course will prepare students to write a variety of documents, including memos, letters, and reports, tailored to professional audiences.

To log in: Borrower ID = MDC student or employee number ; PIN = last 4 digits of MDC student or employee number.

Economics periodical databases:

eBooks:

EBSCO eBooks: Business

Streaming video:

Other OER lists

Many universities have research guides related to finding OER and provide lists of various repositories and resources.

Simon Fraser University

University of British Columbia

Kwantlen Polytechnic University

British Columbia Institute of Technology

University of Victoria

1. Stock Wars-Virtual Investing

Simulation is based on real market trends and users are provided with some virtual money, and they have to put that money to the market that runs similar trends as those of real market.

2. World Bank Data Finder

The DataFinder app is available to users on major mobile platforms and in four different languages. The application is handy in accessing national, regional, and global data. It also inculcates policy data related to several areas of the education system. App users can access data based on several parameters such as topic, indicator, and country. Data is available in various forms such as tables, charts, or maps.

3. Yahoo Finance

Yahoo Finance is freely available on Google Play Store and it is famous because of its accurate delivery of financial reports and classy articles, analysis, and international financial markets data.

4. Stock Market HD

This mobile application was initially designed for investors, but with time it became handy for economists too. It provides them information related to stock prices and ups & downs in the share market. The unique feature about this app is that one can access the history of stocks of any company.

5. Quickbooks

One reason many people do not pursue a business degree is because of the math. For those brave enough to enter the realm of Accounting and Finance 101, Quickbooks is here to help on both iOS and Android. Even for a simple group project, Quickbooks will help manage and organize your last-minute falsified financial data, and provide a great visual representation of where the money is going. Not only is it superior to Excel but it is also a great tool to learn for real world application once you graduate.

6. The Decision App

This app is designed to make companies and products identify Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats, both internally and throughout the market. The Decision App helps you grow your strategic thinking skills by allowing you to plot points on a graph and transform them into a visual representation. The app comes complete with some of the best strategic model templates and allows you to send the finished model as a PDF, picture, or editable document.

7. Elevatr

This app is a note-taking app that is broken down into business categories such as target market, brand identity, distribution channels and many more. The app formats information into a simple business plan, making it easy for sharing. It is a great tool for organizing thoughts, especially for young entrepreneurs.

8. Wunderlist

Wunderlist is a beautiful to-do list app that is available on iOS, Android, Web, Mac and PC. Don’t let its simplicity fool you; the app packs a punch. It is customizable, user-friendly and allows for collaboration on tasks. It’s a great tool to keep track of assignments and due dates, especially for group projects.

9. Dropbox

Dropbox is the file storage app that could save you from a mental breakdown. It is a cross-platform app which allows you to safely and securely store all your files in the cloud, giving you access to them on all your devices. It’s better than e-mailing the file to yourself and more convenient than keeping track of a flash drive, of which I’ve lost three.