LibGuides: ENT1501 Fundamentals of Changemaking and Social Innovation: Week 2

Sustainable Development and the UN SDGs

Course Competency 1

The student will explore the field of social innovation and changemaking by:

a. Explaining the historical trajectory of social and environmental issues.

b. Describing social and environmental issues that currently affect society.

c. Utilizing different tools and mechanism to analyze social and environmental issues.

d. Evaluating different pathways to resolve social issues.

Learning Outcomes

Communication
Information Literacy
Cultural / Global Perspective

What is Sustainable Development? (Vocabulary Builder)

Describing Social and Environmental Issues that Currently Affect Society

The 5Ps of the Sustainable Development Goals

This is the Dog! Changemaking Partner

Pet Adoptions

About the This is the Dog!

Volunteer Information

adopt@thisisthedog.com

Similar Organizations:

Pet Finder

The Humane Society

Issues Databases at MDC

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) (Gale) This link opens in a new window (Gale) - online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
CQ Researcher Plus Archive (CQ Press) This link opens in a new window (CQ Press) - Explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. 44 reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, graphs, and sidebar articles. Also contains the complete archive of Editorial Research Reports—the venerable precursor to CQ Researcher—dating back to 1923 which includes over 3,000 in-depth reports Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Issues & Controversies (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window (Facts on File) - Offers a wealth of research information on current topics including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents. Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
SIRS Researcher This link opens in a new window (SIRS) - Integrated online access to full-text articles and Internet resources from SIRS reference databases by ProQuest - SIRS Researcher, SIRS Government Reporter, SIRS Renaissance and SIRS NetSelect. Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)

Citing Sources in APA Format

APA Style Tutorial

Articles

Videos

Resources for Further Reading

Discussion Post

Describe a social or environmental issue that currently affects society that resonates with you.

Explain the historical trajectory of your chosen social or environmental issue, citing at least one source.