Need Help?
Contact an MDC Librarian
OER by Subject
OER Collections
Open Access Books
Peer-reviewed, quality open textbooks with interactive components.
Open textbooks reviewed by subject matter faculty and available in at least one portable format.
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
Pressbooks Directory is a free, searchable catalog that includes 5,901 open access books published by 162 organizations and networks using Pressbooks. Nearly all books are highly accessible, and many include interactive H5P learning activities to engage learners.
Project Gutenberg’s bookshelves are hand-curated collections of eBooks that have similar topics.
Large Repositories
The California Open Online Library for Education (COOL4Ed) is more than just a large repository for a variety of OER. It also connects faculty to the wider spectrum of Open Education by sharing faculty testimonials and how-tos for adopting OER in various disciplines (see Faculty Showcase section).
This search engine from George Mason University is connected to 15 major OER repositories.
Peer-reviewed OER collection of online teaching and learning materials. Merlot is a program of the California State University System.
A large user-friendly OER search engine that allows users to search by subject or by course material type.
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources.
Access a range of complete courses, course materials, videos, lectures, student work, and more.
A repository of OER for workforce development programs offered by community and technical Colleges.
The purpose of STARS is to disseminate, publicize, and share works by, for, and about UCF. The intention is to provide access to this work as broadly as possible, and for as long as possible. Administered by the UCF Libraries, UCF's Showcase of Text, Archives, Research & Scholarship STARS is available to host and promote research, creative activity, and institutional outputs.
Open Courseware
Low or no-cost digital courseware.
A collection of high quality, free-to-use courses that you can download and use for teaching. All content is stored in Google docs making it easy to access, browse and download once access is granted by the course designer.
Courses that are curated from free-to-use and OER content created by others.
Search for courses, materials, and teaching resources.
Includes a full set of class lectures produced in high-quality video accompanied by such other course materials as syllabi, suggested readings, exams, and problem sets.
Labs/ Simulations
Provides fun, free, interactive, research-based science and mathematics simulations.
Online course management and assessment system for mathematics and other quantitative fields.
Multimedia
Audio
Select "Audio" from the "All content" dropdown menu.
Video
After doing a search, click on "Filters" at the top, under "Features", click on "Creative Commons."
Images and Artwork
In the last field at the bottom of the page, "usage rights," choose "Creative Commons licenses" from the dropdown menu.
Select "Images" from the "All content" dropdown menu.
Select any of the options that say "Image."
This guide is adapted from OER: Open Educational Resources by the University of Pittsburgh
and Open Educational Resources (OER) by Broward College under a CC BY license