LibGuides: J. C. Bermudez Doral Senior High School Dual Enrollment @ West Campus: SYG 2010

SYG 2010: Social Problems

An analysis of the major contemporary and recurring social problems, emphasizing scientific search for variables involved and exploring alternative solutions.

Competency 1: The student will explore the nature of social problems.

Competency 2: The student will examine health related social problems and health care systems.

Competency 3: The student will explore social problems resulting from substance abuse.

Competency 4: The student will examine crime and violence.

Competency 5: The student will be able to assess social problems of social stratification.

Competency 6: The student will examine social problems issuing from gender and age inequality.

Competency 7: The student will explore social problems related to family.

Competency 8: The student will examine problems of education.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window Upgrade to General OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects. Funded by: State Library of Florida
CQ Researcher Plus Archive (CQ Press) This link opens in a new window (CQ Press) - Explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. 44 reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, graphs, and sidebar articles. Also contains the complete archive of Editorial Research Reports—the venerable precursor to CQ Researcher—dating back to 1923 which includes over 3,000 in-depth reports Funded by: Statewide Allocation
JSTOR This link opens in a new window (JSTOR) - Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) (Gale) This link opens in a new window (Gale) - online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
SIRS Researcher This link opens in a new window (SIRS) - Integrated online access to full-text articles and Internet resources from SIRS reference databases by ProQuest - SIRS Researcher, SIRS Government Reporter, SIRS Renaissance and SIRS NetSelect. Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)

Learning Resources tutors offer support in-person or online. To schedule an appointment with a writing tutor, click here.