Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search Library Databases
To search for journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, go directly to the
Library databases* (listed by subject or by an alphabetical listing from A-Z)
* Log-in info:
Your Borrower ID is your student ID number
Your PIN is the last 4 digits of your student ID number
Complete Steps to Accessing Databases from the Library Webpage
Great Databases for Getting Started with Research
Scroll over the names of the databases below to see a description of each. Click on one of the databases to get started with your research.
Academic Search Complete
The world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
Biography in Context
Includes biographical information on influential people, along with periodicals and multimedia. Allows users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
Regional, national and international news coverage.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Features information on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the Greenhaven Press series, the database includes updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
With a focus on current issues, the database provides magazine and newspaper articles, opinion pieces, primary documents, graphics, and links to vetted websites.
Testing & Education Reference Center
Helps prepare students for specialized tests for college, graduate school, the military or trade school. It includes preparatory tests from the GED (General Educational Development) to the GRE (Graduate Record Examination General Test). The database can also assist you in writing admission's applications, essays or resumes.
Accessing Databases Document for Download
Click on the link below to view/print/save a document providing step-by-step instructions for accessing five great databases!
Click the Image Below for Video Lecture
A Note About Peer Review
Scholarly journal articles are written by and for scholars and professionals in a given field. Some scholarly journals are peer-reviewed. Peer review refers to the process an article goes through before it can be published. Instead of the journal editor alone deciding whether or not to publish a certain article, the article must first be reviewed and judged by other peers (experts in the field). The journal editor then takes into consideration the recommendations of the peer reviewers before deciding whether to publish the article in the journal.