LibGuides: State and Local Government: Articles from Databases

How to Find Articles in Databases

Go to the Library's webpage.
Click on Research Tools & Services.
Click on More Databases.
Choose a database by Subject, Type, or Alphabetically.
Log in with your MDC username and password.
In the search box, enter your search terms.
Click on Full Text and "Peer Reviewed" (optional).
Press "Enter" or "Search."
Click on any one of your results. Notice the "abstract" (summary) and "full-text article."
Look for the word "Cite or Citation" on the top or side of the article, or scroll down to the bottom to see if the article has a citation.

Great Databases for Getting Started with Research

Click on one of the databases to get started with your research.

Academic Search Complete
The world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
America's News (NewsBank)
With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive (CQ Press)
Explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. 44 reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles. Also contains the complete archive of Editorial Research Reports—the venerable precursor to CQ Researcher—dating back to 1923 which includes over 3,000 in-depth reports
JSTOR
Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Features information on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the Greenhaven Press series, the database includes updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Sage Journals (Sage Publications)
SAGE is the world’s 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 645 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 280 are published on behalf of 225 learned societies and institutions.
SIRS Researcher
With a focus on current issues, the database provides magazine and newspaper articles, opinion pieces, primary documents, graphics, and links to vetted websites.
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)
(H.W. Wilson) - Full-featured database covering such topics as technology, science, art, humanities, business, law, and social sciences. Many articles in full-text.