This page facilitates access to the MDC Libraries' collection of books and online information resources.
For assistance with these or any of the Libraries' resources or services, contact your campus library Reference Desk.
Use the search box below to find books and ebooks in the MDC Libraries collection.
If prompted to log in, enter your MDC username and password.
MDC employees and currently registered students may use their MDC ID cards for borrowing privileges at all Florida College System and State University System libraries.
The World Is Our Library!
Books or articles that are not available in your campus library may be borrowed from other campuses via intercampus loan (ICL), or from other institutions via interlibrary loan (ILL).
Items that can be obtained from libraries within the Florida College System are usually received within 3 to 7 days. Other items may take up to 2 weeks to be received. The loan period for an ILL item depends on the policy of the lending institution.
Contact your campus library Reference Desk for assistance with placing ICL or ILL requests.
MDC students and employees have free access to over 100 subscription-based databases containing popular and scholarly periodicals, ebooks, videos, and other types of information resources. A few of our most frequently used databases are listed below.
For more information about our library databases and discipline-specific recommendations, visit Research & Writing Guides: Recommended Databases.
If prompted to log in, enter your MDC username and password.
As teachers, you might also be interested in the following education-related databases.
If prompted to log in, enter your MDC username and password.
Looking for videos? Visit the Video Resources page.
Use the Journal Search to find out which, if any, of our library databases contain the full text of a particular periodical. You can search for a specific journal, or browse journals by discipline.
Ask-a-Librarian is a statewide virtual reference service administered by the Tampa Bay Library Consortium. Librarians at public and academic libraries throughout Florida provide reference assistance via live chat, text messaging, or email. Live chat and text messaging are available from 10 a.m. to midnight Sunday through Thursday (ET), and from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Friday and Saturday (ET). Questions asked via email are answered by a librarian at the user's home institution.