LibGuides: British Literature from 1660 to Present: Notable Poets of the 20th Century

If by Rudyard Kipling

The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock by T. S. Eliot

In Memory of W. B. Yeats by W. H. Auden

Edwardian Poets

Rupert Brooke (1887-1915) - Celebrated for his war poetry, particularly his collection 1914 and Other Poems, which idealized the early days of World War I.
Walter de la Mare (1873-1956) - Renowned for his evocative poetry and supernatural themes, such as in his collection Songs of Childhood.
Thomas Hardy (1840-1928) - Known for his novels, Hardy also wrote poetry reflecting themes of fate, nature, and the human condition.
Rudyard Kipling (1865-1936) - Famous for his narrative poems and stories set in British India, often exploring themes of imperialism and adventure.
John Masefield (1878-1967) - Poet Laureate of the United Kingdom from 1930 until his death, known for his narrative poems and sea-inspired works.
Charlotte Mew (1869-1928) - Known for her introspective and psychologically acute poetry, addressing themes of love, loss, and mental illness.
Edward Thomas (1878-1917) - Notable for his lyrical poetry that often reflected his love of the English countryside and the impact of World War I.

Modernism Poets

T.S. Eliot (1888-1965) - Although born in the United States, Eliot became a British citizen and is closely associated with British literature. His works like "The Waste Land" and Four Quartets are seminal works of modernist poetry.
Ford Madox Ford (1873-1939) - A novelist, poet, and editor, Ford was instrumental in the development of literary modernism through his works and his role in founding influential literary journals.
David Jones (1895-1974) - A poet and artist, Jones' poem In Parenthesis, based on his experiences in World War I, is considered a modernist masterpiece.
D.H. Lawrence (1885-1930) - Known for his novels and essays, Lawrence also wrote poetry that reflects modernist themes of nature, sexuality, and human relationships.
Ezra Pound (1885-1972) - An expatriate American poet who spent much of his life in Europe, Pound's influence on British modernism through his poetry, essays, and editorial work was profound.
Edith Sitwell (1887-1964) - A poet known for her avant-garde style and involvement in the literary scene, Sitwell's works like Façade and "The Sleeping Beauty" exhibit modernist experimentation with language and form.
W.B. Yeats (1865-1939) - Although primarily associated with Irish literature, Yeats' late works exhibit modernist characteristics, particularly in his exploration of symbolism and myth.

The Auden Group

W.H. Auden (1907-1973) - A leading figure of the group, Auden's early works such as Poems (1930) and The Orators (1932) reflected a blend of modernist techniques and social commentary.
Cecil Day-Lewis (1904-1972) - Known for his politically engaged poetry, Day-Lewis's works from this period include "The Magnetic Mountain" (1933) and "From Feathers to Iron" (1934) can be found in The Complete Poems.
Louis MacNeice (1907-1963) - A poet and playwright, MacNeice's poetry from the 1930s, such as Poems (1935) and Autumn Journal (1939), combined personal introspection with social critique. His poetry can be read in the The Collected Poems of Louis MacNeice.
Stephen Spender (1909-1995) - Spender's poetry, including Poems (1933) and The Still Centre (1939), explored themes of social justice, alienation, and the impact of modernity. His poetry can be experienced in Selected Poems.

The Movement

Kingsley Amis (1922-1995) - Better known as a novelist, Amis also wrote poetry reflecting the concerns and attitudes of The Movement, such as in his collection A Case of Samples: Poems 1946-1956 (1956).
Donald Davie (1922-1995) - Davie's critical essays and poetry, such as in Brides of Reason: Uncollected Poems 1945-1990 (1997), exemplify his engagement with formalism and traditional poetic values.
D.J. Enright (1920-2002) - Enright's poetry, marked by its wit and skepticism, contributed to The Movement's focus on accessible language and direct expression, evident in collections like Buddies (1956).
Thom Gunn (1929-2004) - Gunn's poetry, characterized by its clarity, formal rigor, and exploration of contemporary themes, gained prominence with collections like The Sense of Movement (1957) and The Man with Night Sweats (1992).
Philip Larkin (1922-1985) - Often considered the central figure of The Movement, Larkin's poetry, including collections like The Whitsun Weddings (1964) and High Windows (1974), explores themes of everyday life, mortality, and the decline of traditional values.

Poetry Revival

Basil Bunting (1900-1985) - Although his major work "Briggflatts" was published in 1966, Bunting's influence on the poetry revival was significant, and he continued to be an important voice in British poetry during this period.
Roy Fisher (1930-2017) - Known for his innovative and often urban-centered poetry, Fisher's collections like City (1961) and The Cut Pages (1971) are celebrated for their experimental techniques and vivid imagery.
Seamus Heaney (1939-2013) - An Irish poet who gained prominence in Britain, Heaney's works like "Death of a Naturalist" (1966) and North (1975) explored themes of identity, history, and rural life.
Adrian Henri (1932-2000) - A leading figure in the Liverpool poets, Henri's works, such as The Mersey Sound (1967) co-authored with Roger McGough and Brian Patten, brought a new accessibility and engagement with popular culture to poetry.
Geoffrey Hill (1932-2016) - Known for his dense and allusive poetry, Hill's collections such as King Log (1968) and Mercian Hymns (1971) are notable for their historical and moral complexity.
Ted Hughes (1930-1998) - Known for his powerful and often dark nature poetry, Hughes published influential collections such as Crow (1970) and Lupercal (1960).
J.H. Prynne (b. 1936) - A key figure in the British avant-garde, Prynne's works like The White Stones (1969) and Brass (1971) are known for their linguistic experimentation and intellectual rigor.
Tom Raworth (1938-2017) - An avant-garde poet known for his innovative and experimental style, Raworth's collections such as The Relation Ship (1966) and Tottering State: Selected Poems 1963-1983 (1984) pushed the boundaries of conventional poetry.

Contemporary Poetry

Simon Armitage (b. 1963) - Armitage gained recognition with collections like Zoom! (1989) and Kid (1992), known for their colloquial style and exploration of contemporary life.
Carol Ann Duffy (b. 1955) - Known for her accessible yet profound poetry, Duffy's collections like Standing Female Nude (1985) and The World's Wife (1999) established her as a leading voice, culminating in her appointment as Poet Laureate in 2009.
Tony Harrison (b. 1937) - Known for his political and social engagement, Harrison's works like V (1985) and The Gaze of the Gorgon (1992) are celebrated for their powerful and direct language.
Jackie Kay (b. 1961) - Known for her exploration of identity, race, and sexuality, Kay's works like The Adoption Papers (1991) and Other Lovers (1993) have received critical acclaim.
Derek Mahon (1941-2020) - Another Irish poet with significant influence in Britain, Mahon's collections such as The Hunt by Night (1982) and Harbour Lights (2005) are notable for their lyrical and reflective qualities.
Paul Muldoon (b. 1951) - An Irish poet who spent significant time in Britain, Muldoon's complex and playful works include Meeting the British (1987) and The Annals of Chile (1994).
Andrew Motion (b. 1952) - Poet Laureate from 1999 to 2009, Motion's collections such as Natural Causes (1987) and The Price of Everything (1992) explore personal and historical themes.