Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Humanities HUM 1020: Articles & Databases

For Professor Sarah Garman's HUM 1020 classes

Databases

Search the MDC Library databases to find news, magazine and journal articles, reference materials, streaming films, art images, and music. Check out some of the specific databases listed on this page, or click on "Library databases" in the left box to see the entire list of databases, including subject-specific databases.

Search Library Databases

Library databases * (listed by subject or by an alphabetical listing from A-Z)

* Log in with your MDC username and password. 

Explore Reference

A Note About Peer Review

Scholarly journal articles are written by and for scholars and professionals in a given field.  Some scholarly journals are peer-reviewed.  Peer review refers to the process an article goes through before it can be published.  Instead of the journal editor alone deciding whether or not to publish a certain article, the article must first be reviewed and judged by other peers (experts in the field).  The journal editor then takes into consideration the recommendations of the peer reviewers before deciding whether to publish the article in the journal.

Get Started with Search Terms

  • arts
  • humanities
  • artists
  • change agents
  • changemakers
  • social change
  • movement
  • transform
  • empower
  • society
  • aesthetics
  • activist
  • activism
  • social issues
  • social responsibility
  • social justice
  • social issue
  • political
  • cause
  • painting
  • drawing
  • sculpture
  • collage
  • installation
  • performance art
  • photography
  • spoken word
  • play
  • music
  • dance