Articles & Databases - Humanities HUM 1020 - UNSDGs - LibGuides at Miami Dade College Learning Resources

SDG Knowledge Platform

Stanford Center of Poverty and Inequality; Research

How to Evaluate Websites

Click on the link below to view/print a handout on evaluating Internet sources.

Search Google Like A Pro

Try adding your search terms and limiting by site or domain,

Example:

human rights petitions site:.org

Try refining your Google Search. Browse a list of SYMBOLS and SEARCH OPERATORS

OR try an ADVANCED GOOGLE SEARCH

Find Articles

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative, and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students, and general researchers.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
Humanities Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(H.W. Wilson) - Over 500 English-language periodicals covering literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion, and theology. Many articles in full text.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
(JSTOR) - Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Sage Journals (Sage Publications) This link opens in a new window
(SAGE Publications) - SAGE is the world’s 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 645 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 280 are published on behalf of 225 learned societies and institutions.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(H.W. Wilson) - Full-featured database covering such topics as technology, science, art, humanities, business, law, and social sciences. Many articles in full-text.

Funded by: College
Springer eJournal Collection This link opens in a new window
(Springer) - SpringerLink provides full-text access in a variety of topics, including mathematics, economics, ecology, religion, history, and more. Coverage for most titles begins in the late 1990s. Coverage varies by title. Content is updated daily.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Search Library Databases

Library databases * (listed by subject or by an alphabetical listing from A-Z)

* Log in with your MDC username and password.

Explore Reference

Gale E-Books (Gale) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - This product offers more than 85 reference sources including encyclopedias, series and more, allowing libraries to provide respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas. Users can search across a single eBook or an entire eBook collection.

Funded by: College and Statewide

A Note About Peer Review

Scholarly journal articles are written by and for scholars and professionals in a given field. Some scholarly journals are peer-reviewed. Peer review refers to the process an article goes through before it can be published. Instead of the journal editor alone deciding whether or not to publish a certain article, the article must first be reviewed and judged by other peers (experts in the field). The journal editor then takes into consideration the recommendations of the peer reviewers before deciding whether to publish the article in the journal.

Search Art Images and Music

ARTStor This link opens in a new window
The ARTstor Digital Library Charter Collection is a repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data; The tools to actively use those images; and A restricted usage environment that seeks to balance the rights of content providers with the needs and interests of content users. Account registration required.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
Music Online Listening (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
(Alexander Street Press) - A comprehensive collection of high quality streaming audio to support the teaching and research of music. This database currently provides streaming access to over 10 million recordings and more, including Classical (All major genres and time periods from medieval to contemporary, from choral works to symphonies, operas, and the avant-garde), Jazz (All major genres including vocal jazz, bebop, acid jazz, big band, modern jazz, and more), World (Music from 169 countries and more than 1,000 cultural groups), American (Country, folk, jazz, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, R&B, and shape note singing), and Popular (Wide range of popular music from around the world that is not available in our genre-specific collections).

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)

Stream Video

Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Watch thousands of streaming films, documentaries and training videos. Kanopy’s award-winning collection includes PBS, Criterion Collection, New Day, California Newsreel, First Run Features, and hundreds of other leading producers -- on every topic imaginable.

Funded by: College
Swank Motion Pictures This link opens in a new window
Swank Motion Pictures, Inc.®, founded in 1937, is the major non-theatrical movie distributor, online CE/CME education distributor, and public performance licensing agent in venues where feature movies are shown publicly.

Funded by: College

Read News

America's News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
(NewsBank) - More than 4,000 media sources including the new FIND A TOPIC search page function. Find current, diverse perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos, and web-only content.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Miami Herald (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
(NewsBank) - Explore Miami history through local news, events, and people with the Miami Herald Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles, and content only published online.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
New York Times - Current (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary; published in a national and a New York metropolitan edition. Includes local & state news, science, sports, arts & entertainment, and business & finance news. Covers January 1, 1985 - Current.

Funded by: State Library of Florida
New York Times - Historical (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) - Full-text and full-image articles for The New York Times®, covering the period from 1851-2014.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Get Started with Search Terms

arts
humanities
artists
SDGs
sustainable development goals
sustainable
sustainable cities
poverty
hunger
clean water
consumption
clean energy
climate
peace
education
equality
gender
health
justice
ocean
infrastructure
change agents
changemakers
social change
movement
transform
empower
society
aesthetics
activist
activism
social issues
social responsibility
social justice
social issue
political
cause
painting
drawing
sculpture
collage
installation
performance art
photography
spoken word
play
music
dance

Humanities HUM 1020 - UNSDGs: Articles & Databases

Databases