Law Center - Paralegal Studies - Library Resources: Books & Print Material

ALWD Guide to Legal Citation, Sixth Edition provides the tools needed for all forms of legal writing, using clear explanations and abundant illustrations. In a single set of rules that the novice and experienced legal writers can easily consult, Professor Barger contrasts the formats used in practice-based documents with those used in academic footnotes.   New to the Sixth Edition: Updated and expanded coverage of public domain case opinions and other primary authorities published online. Updated and expanded coverage of secondary works in online media, including articles, ebooks, blogs, newsletters, and social media. New and updated subsections of rules addressing federal case reporters, statutes, legislation, and  regulations onli≠ new treatment of footnote references and footnotes/endnotes in online sources; new treatment and examples of dictionaries, A.L.R. annotations and articles, Restatements, and Principles of the Law. Updated appendices containing abbreviations, jurisdiction-specific sources and local rules, periodicals (more than 70 new titles added); new appendix addressing abbreviations for titles of BD Loose-leaf services. Every rule and example has been revisited and edited for depth and breadth of coverage as well as  improved clarity. Shorter than the Fifth Edition (but with the same amount of information).

This comprehensive law dictionary contains more than 50,000 terms and includes definitions of more than 1,000 law-related abbreviations and acronyms. More than 7,500 terms new to this edition include bioweapon, gazump, hacker, mommy track, unperson and zero-tolerance law.

This two-volume set offers easy to grasp explanations of the basic concepts and laws in the field, with emphasis on human rights in the historical, political, and legal experience of the United States. This indispensable resource surveys the legal protection of human dignity in the United States, examines the sources of human rights norms, cites key legal cases, explains the role of international governmental and non-governmental organizations, and charts global, regional, and UN human rights measures. New third edition offers up-to-date data on Guantanamo Detention Centre, immigrant rights, the Torture Bill and many more current event topics. Comprehensive Introduction places the history of human rights in the United States in an international context. Details over 300 human rights terms, ranging from asylum and cultural relativism to hate crimes and torture, with a discussion of the significance of the term, examples, and citations of appropriate documents and court decisions. Provides expanded coverage of over 60 Primary Documents, including conventions, treaties, and protocols related to the most up-to-date international action on ethnic cleansing, freedom of expression and religion, violence against women, and much more. New Historical Timeline Nine Appendices, with additional sources of information A comprehensive Bibliography, to expand research on this interesting topic Comprehensive Index Available in print and ebook formats This comprehensive, timely volume is a must for large public libraries, university libraries and social science departments, along with high school libraries.

With more than 45,000 entries covering all areas of law, plus relevant terms in related spheres of expertise, this new Essential Edition is based on the popular Third Edition of the English/Spanish and Spanish/English Legal Dictionary. These are the dictionaries that lawyers, law students, translators, and those working in English and Spanish in law and associated fields have been trusting since the First Edition was published in 1993. Because of its straightforward and naturally intuitive format, there are no special rules or indications for effective use of the Essential English/Spanish and Spanish/English Legal Dictionary. Users simply look up a word or phrase, get the equivalent, and return to their legal work. The general presentation of the dictionary is easy to read, and facilitates finding the desired terms and equivalents with the least time and effort. The convenient paperback format makes it a must-have for school, home, and the office.

The Second Edition of this successful text, An Introduction to the American Legal System, continues to offer an accessible, practical overview of the American Legal System. It introduces students to legal concepts, procedures, and principles while giving them a solid grounding in important areas of substantive law as well as in legal history. Among the features that make this text such an excellent teaching tool: organization into four parts progresses logically from the origins of the law through legislation and procedure Part I, Foundation of the Legal System, sets forth the fundamental concepts of the law and examines the historical development of the legal system Part II, Substance of the Law, provides an overview of constitutional law, criminal law, torts, property, contracts, business, and family law Part III, The Legal Process, surveys civil and criminal procedure Part IV, Legislative and Administrative Developments in the Law, covers legislation and administrative law concise "Cases in Point" illustrate the applicability of the law to real world issues capture student interest questions in every chapter stimulate thought and classroom discussion a strong pedagogy includes learning objectives, chapter outlines, and a glossary New to the Second Edition: expanded coverage of torts and property law increased focus on crimes and criminal procedure new and expanded discussion of the PATRIOT Act, including new amendments and results of recent litigation, as well as material on terrorism and immigration offenses updated cases include new, hot-button cases, such as Hamdan v. Rumsfeld, Crawford v. Washington on the admissibility of hearsay evidence in criminal cases an expanded section on battered woman syndrome and battered child syndrome Appendices on how to find the law and how to brief a case

The Nation's First Comprehensive Legal Terminology Textbook! Legal Terminology Explained is designed for students and teachers in legal career programs, in law-related programs, and in programs that overlap the law. It provides accurate definitions to law-related words and phrases and discusses each word and phrase in a brief narrative among related words and phrases, in a logical progression, according to a high-level outline. It strips legal terminology of its oftentimes confusing, excessive, or unnecessary explanations and in turn, provides the student with clear and concise definitions. The Paralegal Supersite Site

There is no other volume that so clearly and concisely explains every key aspect of the U.S. Constitution. This classic, easy-to-use reference is thoroughly updated with new entries covering the events of recent years including court cases with impact on Constitutional rights. Each of the more than 250 entries, arranged in encyclopedic A-to-Z format, provides accessible insight into the key questions readers have about the U.S. Constitution. All entries are updated with content through the end of 2007.   Highlights in this new edition include: Quick answers to questions as well as in-depth background on the U.S. Constitution A new interior design that makes accessing information easy and fun Historical and contemporary photos Internet addresses for quick reference Detailed appendices, tables, and an index New entries include:  Kelo v. New London Hamdi v. Rumsfeld Lawrence v. Texas The Patriot Act Sex Offenders Torture Gay marriage and civil unions

The technology and application of artificial intelligence (AI) throughout society continues to grow at unprecedented rates, which raises numerous legal questions that to date have been largely unexamined. Although AI now plays a role in almost all areas of society, the need for a better understanding of its impact, from legal and ethical perspectives, is pressing, and regulatory proposals are urgently needed. This book responds to these needs, identifying the issues raised by AI and providing practical recommendations for regulatory, technical, and theoretical frameworks aimed at making AI compatible with existing legal rules, principles, and democratic values. An international roster of authors including professors of specialized areas of law, technologists, and practitioners bring their expertise to the interdisciplinary nature of AI.

Prepare for success on any of the top three paralegal certification exams with the only comprehensive review handbook specifically designed to help new or experienced paralegal professionals earn certification. Koerselman Newman's THE COMPLETE PARALEGAL CERTIFICATION HANDBOOK, 5E equips you to take certification exams from the National Association of Legal Assistants (NALA), National Association of Legal Secretaries and Legal Professionals (NALS), or National Federation of Paralegal Associations (NFPA). You learn from an experienced author and attorney who applies years of teaching and professional experience to help you achieve certification goals. New side-by-side comparisons present areas of paralegal practice that are tested with details of eligibility, application and testing requirements, and essential content for each exam. Three new chapters focus on the latest developments in interviewing, estate planning and probate, and tort law. New examples, outlines, practice tests, and testing tips help refine your skills for certification testing and career success.

In the early 2000s, federal enforcement efforts sent white collar criminals at Enron and WorldCom to prison. But since the 2008 financial collapse, this famously hasn't happened. Corporations have been permitted to enter into deferred prosecution agreements and avoid criminal convictions, in part due to a mistaken assumption that leniency would encourage cooperation and because enforcement agencies don't have the funding or staff to pursue lengthy prosecutions, says distinguished Columbia Law Professor John C. Coffee. "We are moving from a system of justice for organizational crime that mixed carrots and sticks to one that is all carrots and no sticks," he says. He offers a series of bold proposals for ensuring that corporate malfeasance can once again be punished. For example, he describes incentives that could be offered to both corporate executives to turn in their corporations and to corporations to turn in their executives, allowing prosecutors to play them off against each other. Whistleblowers should be offered cash bounties to come forward because, Coffee writes, "it is easier and cheaper to buy information than seek to discover it in adversarial proceedings." All federal enforcement agencies should be able to hire outside counsel on a contingency fee basis, which would cost the public nothing and provide access to discovery and litigation expertise the agencies don't have. Through these and other equally controversial ideas, Coffee intends to rebalance the scales of justice.

The main goal of Critical Writing is to provide students with a set of robust, integrated critical concepts and processes that will allow to them think through and write about a topic in a way that is built on--and permeated by--substantive critical thinking. This step-by-step guide shows: -how to construct a thesis statement and the other main points that constitute the structure of the paper; -how to write the paragraphs that make up the body of the paper; -how to engage in productive research in a planned, self-directed way; -how to make a point clear--not just grammatically or stylistically but also how to clearly convey ideas to an audience; -how to think your way through the numerous unanticipated issues (including aspects of grammatical correctness, transitions, and many others) that arise while writing papers. Each step provides close and careful processes for carrying out each of these tasks, through the use of critical thinking.

The Divorce Paralegal Handbook is a "how to book" for family law paralegals and legal assistants to help their lawyer navigate the administration of effective case and client management, the use of technology, document assembly, hearing preparation and presentation, deposition preparation and trial preparation and presentation. Each chapter contains brief and to the point discussions of each area, usually with one or more forms or checklists to make things easy.

The book that's helped thousands of couples live in the U.S. togetherYou're engaged or married to a U.S. citizen or permanent resident, and all you want is the right to be together in the United States. Should be simple, right? It's not. The pile of application forms can be overwhelming, the bureaucracy isn't helpful, and delays are inevitable. This book will help you succeed. Discover the fastest and best application strategy. Avoid common--and serious--mistakes. Prepare for meetings with officials. Prove your marriage is real--not a fraud. Deal with the two-year testing period for new marriages. The 11th edition covers the latest, higher income requirements, easing of Trump-era regulations that put more immigrants at risk of being denied visas as a likely "public charge," and a new COVID vaccine requirement. It also provides handy checklists and illustrative sample forms. Use this book if you are living in the United States or overseas and: your fiancé is a U.S. citizen your spouse is a U.S. citizen, or your spouse is a U.S. permanent resident. Ilona Bray began practicing immigration law because of her concern with international human rights issues. She is the author of Becoming a U.S. Citizen and U.S. Immigration Made Easy, both published by Nolo. Check out her immigration-related postings on Nolo's blog.

A user's guide to understanding contemporary free speech issues in the United States Americans today are confronted by a barrage of questions relating to their free speech freedoms. What are libel laws, and do they need to be changed to stop the press from lying? Does Colin Kaepernick have the right to take a knee? Can Saturday Night Live be punished for parody? While citizens are grappling with these questions, they generally have nowhere to turn to learn about the extent of their First Amendment rights. The Fight for Free Speech answers this call with an accessible, engaging user's guide to free speech. Media lawyer Ian Rosenberg distills the spectrum of free speech law down to ten critical issues. Each chapter in this book focuses on a contemporary free speech question--from student walkouts for gun safety to Samantha Bee's expletives, from Nazis marching in Charlottesville to the muting of adult film star Stormy Daniels-- and then identifies, unpacks, and explains the key Supreme Court case that provides the answers. Together these fascinating stories create a practical framework for understanding where our free speech protections originated and how they can develop in the future. As people on all sides of the political spectrum are demanding their right to speak and be heard, The Fight for Free Speech is a handbook for combating authoritarianism, protecting our democracy, and bringing an understanding of free speech law to all.

With an introduction that traces the long constitutional history of Florida, Talbot D'Alemberte provides a thorough understanding of Florida's state constitutional history. He includes an in-depth, article-by-article analysis of the entire constitution, detailing the many significant changesthat have been made since its initial drafting. This treatment, along with a table of cases, index, and bibliography, provides an unsurpassed reference guide for students, scholars, and practitioners of Florida's constitution. Previously published by Greenwood, this title has been brought back into circulation by Oxford University Press with new verve. Re-printed with standardization of content organization in order to facilitate research across the series. This title, as with all titles in the series, is set to join the dynamic revision cycle of The Oxford Commentaries on the StateConstitutions of the United States.The Oxford Commentaries on the State Constitutions of the United States is an important new series that reflects a renewed international interest in constitutional history and provides expert insight into each of the 50 state constitutions. Each volume in this innovative series contains a historicaloverview of the state's constitutional development, a section-by-section analysis of its current constitution, and a comprehensive guide to further research.Under the expert editorship of Professor G. Alan Tarr, Director of the Center on State Constitutional Studies at Rutgers University, this series provides essential reference tools for understanding state constitutional law. Books in the series can be purchased individually or as part of a completeset, giving readers unmatched access to these important political documents.

This book examines the controversial and repercussive contention that an objective of the law should be to promote personal morality - to make people ethically better. It surveys a number of domains, including criminal law, tort law, contract law, family law, and medical law (particularly the realm of moral enhancement technologies) asking for each: (a) Does the existing law seek to promote personal morality? (b) If so, what is the account of morality promoted, and what is the substantive content? (c) Does it work? and (d) Is this a legitimate objective?

The all-in-one business law book Whether you're just starting a small business, or your business is already up and running, legal questions crop up on an almost daily basis. Ignoring them can threaten your enterprise--but hiring a lawyer to help with routine issues can devastate the bottom line The Legal Guide for Starting & Running a Small Business has helped more than a quarter million entrepreneurs and business owners master the basics, including how to: raise start-up money decide between an LLC or other business structure save on business taxes get licenses and permits choose the right insurance negotiate contracts and leases avoid problems if you're buying a franchise hire and manage employees and independent contractors attract and keep customers (and get paid on time), and limit your liability and protect your personal assets. This new edition explains how to do all of these things, taking into account coronavirus implications. Whether you're a sole proprietor or an LLC or corporation, a one-person business operating out of your home, or a company with a large staff leasing space, this book will help you start and run a successful business. The 17th edition is completely updated with the latest business tax rules and best practices for running a home-based business.

The fourth edition of Legal Reasoning, Writing and Other Lawyering Skills draws on lessons from neuroscience and psychology to deepen students' understanding of self and others, and of the emotional biases and filters that undermine their efforts to "think like a lawyer." The fourth edition retains the same core chapters of earlier editions that emphasize and illustrate the "process" of thinking through, and writing about, a client problem. Within those core chapters, however, the fourth edition refines and adds clarity to foundational concepts. For example, the fourth edition distinguishes between types of client conclusions within legal analysis--ultimate conclusions and legal issue conclusions, and it breaks down the types of reasoning provided within court opinions--explanatory reasoning and application reasoning. These labels foster deeper understanding of the core concepts needed to engage in legal analysis. The fourth edition also provides a more specific formula for successfully drafting rule statements for use within memorandums and briefs. In addition, the fourth edition retains chapters covering the practicalities of modern-day legal practice, with a focus on documents students will draft in day-to-day law practice, from client letters, email responses, demand/settlement letters, and trial briefs. The fourth edition adds a new chapter on drafting summary judgment briefs, and introduces students to working with and citing record evidence. It also adds additional exercises throughout for more hands-on learning opportunities. This book can be used in a typical two-semester legal skills course, as well as more intensive two-semester courses, and three- and even four-semester courses.

Applying the perspective of the reader to the craft of writing, Legal Writing for Legal Readers: Predictive Writing for First-Year Students teaches the differences between strong and weak legal writing by letting students read examples of both. Students discover how productive it can be to read a well-articulated argument, as compared to one that is illogical. We aren't always able to identify our own faults as writers--but as readers, we can see clearly the merits of both the argument and its presentation. The authors' sidebars and annotations highlight why one writer fails while another succeeds. Students realize the significance of their own behavior as readers and how that behavior should dictate their writing decisions. As readers, students learn to recognize the specific elements of analysis and structure that make legal writing effective. As writers, they will make better and more informed choices, when they think about it from a reader's perspective. New to the Second Edition: Revised to focus exclusively on predictive analytical writing that most law schools teach during the first semester of the first year Expanded inclusion of annotations and marginal notes that answer anticipated student questions Professors and students will benefit from: Extensive variety of samples and examples, both good and bad, selected to illustrate legal writing concepts for students Broad coverage that includes memos and briefs, as well as complaints, correspondence, and criminal motions Sidebar comments and marginal notes that answer anticipated student questions and define important legal and writing-related terms that may distract students as they learn new concepts Annotations that incorporate cognitive and behavioral theories to explain why some approaches work better than others Exercises that test students' understanding of important concepts while they learn Teaching materials include: Additional exercises for use with most chapters Additional samples of longer documents Document to further illustrate important concepts for both teachers and students

Legal Writing for the Undergraduate by Antonio C. Elefano Is the perfect introduction to American law and legal writing Legal Writing for the Undergraduate by Antonio Elefano offers a practical introduction to legal analysis and legal writing, designed to give even the most novice student a command of the basics of legal writing. With careful guidance and scaffolding, the author effectively teaches students how to read and analyze cases and how to formulate persuasive legal arguments. The book begins with a comprehensive overview of the U.S. Legal System, including how to analyze a law and apply it to varying situations. The text continues with the fundamentals of legal writing, offering in-depth, step-by-step instruction on writing different types of Legal Memoranda and Appellate Briefs. Through effective assignments and engaging discussion, students will learn how to craft thoughtful and polished arguments. Professors and students will benefit from: A streamlined and accessible introduction to legal reasoning Class-tested assignments utilizing several closed universes of cases, allowing focus on the application of law Instruction on how to read and brief a case Separate chapters on the fundamentals of legal writing, basic legal research, and appellate briefs Thoughtful guidance on the structure and strategy of appellate-style oral argumentation Helpful chapter on how to workshop legal writing Practical advice on how to get into law school Engaging presentation that demystifies legal analysis

Get on the right side of your Law School Admission Test It's an unbreakable rule that to get into the majority of law schools or practice state law anywhere in the U.S., you must pass the dreaded LSAT. Designed to be the most objective measure of student ability available--unlike a much more subjective GPA--it's the ultimate standardized test. This makes it relatively straightforward to prep for, and prep you must! This revised and totally updated new edition of LSAT For Dummies has everything you need to get ready to take - and take down - the LSAT.  With it, you'll make an irrefutable case why you should be admitted to the school of your dreams. In a friendly, logical style, expert authors Scott and Lisa Hatch --who have coached thousands of students for LSAT success--cover the core concepts, smart strategies, and mental approaches you need to succeed. You'll also find plenty of opportunities to apply your enhanced argumentative muscle, analytical reasoning, and essay-writing and reading comprehension skills in full-length practice tests--all recalibrated in this new edition to account for the new computer-based exam format. Take 3 full-length practice tests (one online) plus additional practice questions Consolidate your knowledge in content review sections Compare your answers to sample answers and explanations Get 1-year access to an online test-bank for further practice With up to forty percent of students failing the LSAT each year, you need a solid study plan to conquer it. This book - with companion practice tests online - has you covered. 

Resolve neighbor conflicts and get peace of mind Don't let a neighborly nuisance turn into a nasty lawsuit. Learn your rights and responsibilities with Neighbor Law, the plain-English guide to the laws behind common neighbor disputes. Neighbor Law is more than a legal guide--it's a practical book filled with tips on how to solve problems and restore good neighbor relations. Find out how to handle: noisy neighbors trees that hang over a property line blocked views unclear boundary lines high, unsightly, or deteriorating fences dangers to children ("attractive nuisances") problems with neighboring businesses drones trespassing onto your property other common issues, like secondhand smoke, blighted property, and animal issues. The 10th edition includes updated laws and information on going to court, boundary fences, private nuisances, and much more.

Successful Time Management is packed with proven tips, tools and techniques to help you review and assess your time management and adopt new work practices to improve it. This book includes great time-saving ideas, practical solutions and checklists, plus advice on: controlling paperwork, organizing your emails, delegating and working with others, prioritizing to focus on key issues, getting and staying organized. This fully updated 6th edition features even more practical exercises, useful templates and top tips to help you minimize time-wasting and interruptions, and focus on the priorities that will lead to success in your job and career. Successful Time Management will give you the tools to become more efficient and effective.The Creating Success series of books...Unlock vital skills, power up your performance and get ahead with the bestselling Creating Success series. Written by experts for new and aspiring managers and leaders, this million-selling collection of accessible and empowering guides will get you up to speed in no time. Packed with clever thinking, smart advice and the kind of winning techniques that really get results, you'll make fast progress, quickly reach your goals and create lasting success in your career.

Want to live, work, or travel in the United States? U.S. Immigration Made Easy has helped tens of thousands of people get a visa, green card, or other immigration status. You'll learn: whether you and your family qualify for a short-term visa, permanent U.S. residence, or protection from deportation how to obtain, fill out, and submit the necessary forms and documents insider tips on dealing with bureaucratic officials, delays, and denials strategies for overcoming low income and other immigration barriers, and how to select the right attorney. U.S. Immigration Made Easy provides detailed descriptions of application processes and helps you avoid traps that might destroy your chances. There's also an immigration eligibility self-quiz, which helps you match your background and skills to a likely category of visa or green card. The 19th edition is completely updated to cover recent legal and fee changes including Trump administration efforts to end TPS for various countries and end DACA. NOTE: Does not cover naturalization.

Privacy, in human history, is a relatively recent concept. Nobody had much privacy in the Middle Ages. Even kings and queens lacked privacy: it was an age when crowds watched a queen give birth, and the king received visitors while on the chamber pot. Technology and concepts of privacy grew up together--as both friends and enemies. For example, the late 19th century invention of the candid camera made it possible, for the first time, to take someone's picture without that person's consent. This fact was in the background of the classic article by Warren and Brandeis that launched the right of privacy. Today, we have smart phones with cameras, selfies, the Internet, surveillance cameras, and tools that can look through walls, smell through walls, see through walls. Dangers to privacy have multiplied enormously, and we have only just begin figuring how to handle the change. This book is timely as our basic understandings of privacy are challenged by modern technology, changing social mores, and evolving legal understandings that both reflect and reinforce underlying changes in society. It is likely to be of interest to graduate and undergraduate students, scholars, and potentially other professionals with an interest in law and social norms.

Lawyers do not have to be poets or novelists, but they must be able to construct prose that is clear, accurate, and concise. Law students (and some lawyers) often lack a sound understanding of how the English language operates in the functional way that is necessary to construct effective sentences. They also often lack understanding of key concepts of grammar and mechanics. Writing Sentences that Work: Essentials for Law Students targets these common deficiencies. Based on the author's more than 15 years of teaching experience and 30 years of law practice, the book focuses on the most common problems legal writers have, explaining why they are problems--i.e., why these errors interfere with the reader's immediate comprehension, thus impeding the lawyer's mission. The book then explains how to correct the problems and provides related practice exercises. Key concepts of grammar are explained to provide the conceptual understanding and the vocabulary necessary to comprehend the solutions to the problems. Instructors can use the book as an overall supplement to their legal writing texts, as a supplemental resource for particular students needing extra help, or as targeted help for specific problems manifested by most students in the class. It can also serve as a self-help resource for a student or lawyer seeking to improve.