Skip to main content

Collection Overview - Culinary Arts & Hospitality Management: Overview of Collection

An analysis of the collection development, content, and usage.

Culinary Arts and Hospitality Collection @ Wolfson Campus Library

  Below is a list of the key periodicals and journals @ Wolfson Library.                              a pile of magazines

 

  • Art Culinaire
  • Bon Appetit
  • Cook's Illustrated
  • Food & Wine
  • Gastronomica
  • Lucky Peach
  • Restaurant Development & Design
  • Restaurant News
  • Saveur
  •  Zymurgy  

Hospitality and Tourism Complete (EBSCO)

Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 624,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for more than 300 publications, including periodicals, company and country reports, and books.
Loading ...

Library Liaison Contact Information

 

Marta Frydman/Faculty Librarian

PHONE NUMBER: 305-237-3446     

LOCATION:  Wolfson Library, Room 1321        

EMAIL:  mfrydman@mdc.edu

Overview of Library Liaison Approach

 

Miami Culinary Institute logo
Library Liaison: 

Marta Frydman - Faculty Librarian   

Discipline Faculty Contact: 

Culinary Arts: Chef Patrick McCurry

Hospitality Management: Prof. Pamela Williams

Library liaisons work closely with the Discipline to make sure that the faculty are given the opportunity to select materials and services that best fit the needs of the curriculum.  Each liaison works in a college-wide capacity. Whether it's attending the discipline meetings, working with a small group of professors to review a database, or attending a national conference, library liaisons have the expertise needed in the field to support the changing needs of the discipline and support student success. 

Overview of the Culinary Arts & Hospitality Management Collection

Miami Culinary Institute logo

 

At Miami Dade College, Miami Culinary Institute and Hospitality Management students and faculty have access to:

  • Over 1,200 eBooks in Culinary Arts, gastronomy, food service, food industry and production, restaurant planning and management, and more.
  • Over 3,500 print titles in Culinary Arts, food, cooking, nutrition, food habits, food supply, food industry and trade, catering, and career guidance.
  • We subscribe to 11 print Culinary Arts journals and magazines at Wolfson Campus.
  • 2 general databases with relevant content; including electronic journals such as "The Journal of Culinary Science & Technology" and "Gastronomica, the Journal of Food and Culture".
  • 1 articles database specific for Hospitality Management Program: "Hospitality & Tourism Complete"
  • and a rich information literacy program that includes bibliographic instruction , research assistance, and embedded librarians.

Each tab within this guide provides the Culinary Arts School, the Hospitality Management Program, and the MDC community with the latest information about every type of material or service that make up the current collection and resources.  Working with the library liaison, faculty within the discipline now have the information they need to create an up-to-date instructional program. 

Libraries are rapidly changing environments.  For this reason, an overview is provided for each type of information collected by the College so that faculty can make the most informed choice about what resources to use in the classroom.

Regardless of the format, information in the following subjects are collected to support the degree and certificates of our programs:

  • Culinary Arts Management
  • Culinarium courses
  • Hospitality Management

LC Classification Call Numbers Range

MDC Library uses  the Library of Congress Classification System (LC)

Tourism & Travel G149.7 - 156.5

Food & Beverage Processing    TP368 – 660

Food, Nutrition,  and Gastronomy    TX341 – 641

Cooking History, Cooking processes and Techniques, Kitchen Equipment, Food Preparation, Menu Planning    TX643 -840

Hospitality Industry     TX901 – 941

Food Service Including Room Service TX943 - 946.5

Taverns, Barrooms, Saloons TX950 - 953