Databases - Architecture & Interior Design - Library Resources for Students - LibGuides at Miami Dade College Learning Resources

What Are Library Databases?

MDC students have free access to over 100 subscription-based databases containing popular and scholarly periodicals, ebooks, videos, and other types of information resources.

The following videos by Yavapai College (Arizona) provide a good introduction to library databases.

What Are The Library Databases & Which One Should I Use?
by Northeastern Illinois University Libraries
(2 minutes)

Searching Databases
by Yavapai College Library
(5 minutes)

Architecture Databases

The databases listed below are useful for art, architecture, and interior design.

If prompted to log in, enter your MDC username and password.

To find articles:

Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Biography (Gale in Context) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Flipster (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains digitized issues of ARTNews, Art in America, Architectural Digest, HGTV Magazine, and Florida Design.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains articles on a variety of environmental issues including sustainable design, urban growth, etc.
Humanities Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window

To find digital images:

ARTStor This link opens in a new window

To find ebooks:

eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window

More ebook databases

To find videos:

Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
Kanopy This link opens in a new window

More streaming video databases

Plug Into Google Scholar

Google Scholar (MDC) This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a version of Google that focuses specifically on scholarly materials such as articles and books from academic publishers. Accessing Google Scholar through this customized link enables you to see which of your search results are freely available in MDC’s library databases, and provides direct links to those resources.

More Databases

For MDC databases that can help with your research on topics other than architecture and interior design, visit Research & Writing Guides: Recommended Databases.

If you are a resident of Miami Dade County and have a public library card, you also have access to the Miami Dade Public Library System's databases.

Architecture & Interior Design - Library Resources for Students: Databases