Research & Writing Guides - Architecture & Interior Design - Library Resources for Students - LibGuides at Miami Dade College Learning Resources

Research Strategies

Choosing a Topic

Not sure what to write about? If you don't yet have a topic and need some ideas, these resources can help.

Picking Your Topic IS Research [VIDEO]
North Carolina State University

America's News (NewsBank)
This database contains a frequently updated Hot Topics section that focuses on key global issues, events, and people.
Once inside the database, locate Hot Topics under Quick Links.
Flipster (EBSCO)
Flipster is a database of magazines that you can view cover-to-cover. Browsing the latest issues of popular magazines such as Time, Discover, and The Atlantic can give you ideas for current topics.

Idea Generator
Compiled by Old Dominion University, this list of topics is conveniently arranged into several subject categories.

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) (Gale)
This database contains an extensive list of current issues. Once inside the database, click "Browse Issues."

ProCon.org
A nonpartisan site for learning the top arguments behind debatable issues of the day.

Planning Your Search

You've chosen a topic, but before you begin searching for sources, take some time to plan a strategy.

Concept Mapping
Concept mapping can help you to identify key search terms for finding sources on your topic. It can also help you to organize your paper and decide what aspects of your topic you want to cover. You can brainstorm search terms related to your topic by simply writing them down, but if you want to take a more visual approach, you can start with this Concept Map Worksheet [PDF], or try one of the following interavtive tools.
Or, ask an AI tool such as ChatGPT to create a concept map on your topic. Be sure to specify that you want the result in a visualized format (such as a diagram).
Developing a Research Question [VIDEO]
Northern Kentucky University

From Question to Keywords: Beginning Academic Research [VIDEO]
John Jay College of Criminal Justice, City University of New York

Research Tools & Tips

It's time to dive in and do some research. These tools and tips will get you started.

Library Databases

The MDC Libraries provide free access to over 100 databases containing popular and scholarly periodicals, ebooks, videos, and other types of information resources.

Not sure which databases to try? Visit Recommended Databases.

What Are The Library Databases? [VIDEO]
Northeastern Illinois University Libraries
Searching Databases [VIDEO]
Yavapai College

AI-Powered Research Tools

Consensus
Unlike generative AI tools such as ChatGPT, Consensus is specifically designed for academic research. See Streamlining Research with AI for a helpful video tutorial. The presenter begins speaking in detail about Consensus at the 10:50 mark.
EBSCO Natural Language Search
Several of the library's EBSCO databases (such as Academic Search Complete, EBSCO eBooks, and others), now offer an AI-powered "natural language" option that enables you to search for sources using complete sentences such as, "What are the effects of global warming on marine ecosystems?"
Once inside an EBSCO database, click Basic Search and look for the "Natural Language Search" toggle switch.

Internet Search Tips

21 Google Search Tips You'll Want to Learn
PC Magazine's advice for getting better results from a Google search.
Alternative Search Engines
Google may be the most popular search engine, but it's not the only one. Go beyond Google and discover different ways to search the web.

Google Scholar (MDC)
Google Scholar is a version of Google that focuses specifically on scholarly materials such as articles and books from academic publishers. Accessing Google Scholar through this customized link enables you to see which of your search results are freely available in MDC’s library databases, and provides direct links to those resources.

Library Catalog

Use the search box below to find books and ebooks in the MDC Libraries collection.

Evaluating Sources

There's so much information out there. How do you decide which sources to use for your research assignment? How do you know if the sources you've found are reliable? These links can help.