Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business-Library Resources: Overview of Collection

Overview of Library Liaison Approach

image of the word business with lightbulbs over it
General Business / Marketing / Management
Library Liaison Shamsha Karim
Discipline Conveners Karen Hawkins, Ruth Barrow
Chair / Liaison Sarah Tuskey

Banking / Financial Services / Finance
Discipline Convener Rolando Ochoa
Chair / Liaison Ana Cruz

QMB
Discipline Convener Rene Choy
Chair / Liaison Teddie Laing

Library liaisons work closely with the Discipline to make sure that the faculty are given the opportunity to select materials and services that best fit the needs of the curriculum. Each liaison works in a college-wide capacity. Whether it's attending the discipline meetings, working with a small group of professors to review a database, or attending a national conference, library liaisons have the expertise needed in the field to support the changing needs of the discipline and support student success.

Contact the Liaison Librarian:

Phone Number 1-305-237-2295
Email skarim1@mdc.edu

Collection Development Survey

clip art of a computer with the word survey on it

Your participation in library collection development is encouraged and appreciated. If you teach accounting at MDC, please consider completing this brief survey that will help identify accounting subject areas in the library collection that need to be strengthened. The survey also provides the opportunity for you to recommend the purchase of specific materials to support your discipline.

Overview of the General Business Collection

Image of the logo for the School of Global Business

At Miami Dade College, lower division business students and faculty have access to:

  • 4,000+ eBooks related to general business
  • 12 databases with relevant content
  • 5,300+ print titles
  • and a rich information literacy program that includes embedded librarians

Each tab within this guide provides the faculty, administrators and the MDC community with the latest information about every type of material or service that make up the current resources. Working with the library liaison, faculty within the discipline now have the information they need to create an up-to-date instructional program.

Libraries are rapidly changing environments. For this reason, an overview is provided for each type of information collected by the College so that faculty can make the most informed choice about what resources to use in the classroom.

School of Business-Programs and Degrees

See Other Business Libguides