Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources for MDC LibGuide Authors: Box Boutique

About This Page

This page contains ready-made boxes you can copy or map into your LibGuides.

Ask a Librarian


Ask a Librarian

Need research help? Chat with a Librarian online.

Ask a Librarian

Need more research help? The Florida Electronic Library connects you to librarians across the State of Florida.

Chat | Email | Text

EBSCO Search Widgets

Below is a selection of database search widgets generated using the EBSCO Search Box Builder and edited to enhance web accessibility. Feel free to copy them into your LibGuides.

You can use the EBSCO Search Box Builder to create customized widgets for searching individual or multiple EBSCO databases. Depending on which customization options you select, some coding tweaks may be necessary to ensure web accessibility. To minimize the amount of code that will need to be edited, follow the recommendations below.

Note that when adding code of this nature to a LibGuide, Springshare recommends using the Media/Widget content item rather than the Rich Text/HTML content item.

LibGuide drop-down menu for adding a media widget
 

  1. Use the EBSCO Search Box Builder to generate the desired code.

    In section 2 (Select Authentication Parameters):
    • Use proxy prefix: https://go.openathens.net/redirector/mdc.edu?url=
    • Leave all methods unchecked.
    • Leave “Secure HTTPS authentication” unchecked.

    In section 4 (Customize the Layout):
    • Remove "Research databases" from the Title field and leave it blank.
    • Check "Open search results in new browser."
    • Leave the "Show choose databases," "Show Full Text Checkbox Limiter," and "Show Peer Reviewed Checkbox Limiter" boxes unchecked.
       

    Check box selections
     

  2. Once you've generated the code, copy and paste it into the Embed Code field of a LibGuide Media/Widget content item, then scroll down to find the part of the code that looks like this:

    <div>
    <input id="ebscohostsearchtext" class="" name="ebscohostsearchtext" type="text" size="23"  style="font-size:9pt;padding-left:5px;margin-left:0px;" />

    <input type="submit" value="Search" class="ebscohost-search-button " style="font-size:9pt;padding-left:5px;" />
     
  3. Insert the highlighted text as shown below.  You can change "Enter keywords" to something else if you wish.
     
    <div>
    <label>Enter keywords:<br><input id="ebscohostsearchtext" class="" name="ebscohostsearchtext" type="text" size="23"  style="font-size:9pt;padding-left:5px;margin-left:0px;" /></label>
     
    <input type="submit" value="Search" class="ebscohost-search-button " style="font-size:9pt;padding-left:5px;" />

     

  4. Some widgets might not function as expected, so be sure to test each one you create by performing a few searches.

Academic Search Complete

Find full-text articles in Academic Search Complete:

EBSCO eBooks

Search the EBSCO eBook Collection:

EBSCO Arts & Humanities Databases

Find full-text articles in: Art & Architecture Source, Humanities Full Text, and Humanities Source.

EBSCO Business Databases

Find full-text articles in: Business Source Complete, Communication & Mass Media Complete, GreenFILE, Hospitality & Tourism Complete, and Regional Business News.

EBSCO Education Databases

Find full-text articles in: Education Full Text, Education Source, ERIC, and Teacher Reference Center.

EBSCO Health & Medicine Databases

Find full-text articles in: CINAHL Complete, Health Source Consumer Edition, MEDLINE with Full Text, and PsycARTICLES.

EBSCO Science Databases

Find full-text articles in: Applied Science & Technology Source, General Science Full Text, and GreenFILE.

The boxes and instructions below have been updated to work with Primo VE.

Catalog Search Boxes

Further down on this page is a tabbed search widget followed by a selection of catalog search boxes generated using the Primo Search Box Builder and edited to enhance web accessibility. Feel free to copy one or more of them into your LibGuides.

Note that each search box has a label above it that says, "Enter keywords."

Search box with label


Labels are necessary for web accessibility, but if you want to use different wording, such as "Enter search terms," "Search for," or whatever you prefer, do the following:

  1. Copy the desired box into your guide (be sure to copy it rather than mapping to the original)
  2. Open the content item edit menu and select edit.
     
    Content item edit menu

  3. In the Embed Code field, scroll down to find the part of the code that contains the label. It looks like this:

    <input type="hidden" name="query" id="primoQuery"><label>Enter keywords:<br>
    <input type="text" id="primoQueryTemp" value="" size="35"></label>

  4. Replace the label's wording as desired.  If you want the label to be on the same line as the search box rather than above it, replace <br> with a blank space, or with the code for a blank space, which is: &nbsp;

The ready-made catalog search boxes on this page represent only a few of the options available via the Primo Search Box Builder. If you'd like to use the widget creator to make your own search boxes, go for it!  However, you'll need to insert some additional code to make each search box web accessible, and to ensure proper functionality.

Note that when adding code of this nature to a LibGuide, Springshare recommends using the Media/Widget content item rather than the Rich Text/HTML content item.

LibGuide drop-down menu for adding a media widget

Labels:

For keyword search boxes, you'll need to add a label, such as "Enter keywords," as shown below.

Note that the label doesn't have to say "Enter keywords." You can use any meaningful wording, such as "Search for," "Enter search terms," or whatever you prefer.

Search box with label


To add labels to keyword search boxes:

  1. Use the Primo Search Box Builder to generate the desired code.
     
  2. Copy and paste the code into the Embed Code field of a LibGuide Media/Widget content item.
     
  3. Scroll down and find the part of the code that looks like this:

    <input type="hidden" name="query" id="primoQuery">
    <input type="text" id="primoQueryTemp" value="" size="35">

  4. Insert the highlighted text as shown below.  Remember that the label does not have to say “Enter keywords.”  You can use any meaningful wording.

    <input type="hidden" name="query" id="primoQuery"><label>Enter keywords:<br>
    <input type="text" id="primoQueryTemp" value="" size="35"></label>

  5. If you want the label on the same line as the search box rather than above it, replace <br> with a blank space, or with the code for a blank space, which is: &nbsp;

Form Identifiers:

It has been observed that FALSC search boxes can sometimes interfere with each other, resulting in strange search results. To avoid this, each search box should be assigned a unique identifier.

  1. Find the part of the code that looks like the code shown below. Note that instead of "searchForm1," you might see "searchForm3" or some other variation.


    <form id="searchForm1" name="searchForm1" method="get" target="_blank" action="https://mdc-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search" enctype="application/x-www-form-urlencoded; charset=utf-8" onsubmit="searchPrimo('searchForm1')">

  2. Replace the highlighted text with anything you wish, as long as it's something unlikely to be used in any other search box. Be sure to insert the same identifier in all three of the highlighted areas, as shown below.
     

    <form id="FluffyBunny1" name="FluffyBunny1" method="get" target="_blank" action="https://mdc-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search" enctype="application/x-www-form-urlencoded; charset=utf-8" onsubmit="searchPrimo('FluffyBunny1')">

  3. Scroll all the way to the end of the code and find the part shown below. Replace the highlighted text with the same identifier you used in the rest of the code (e.g., FluffyBunny1).
     

<!-- Search Button -->
<input id="go" title="Search" type="button" onclick="searchPrimo('searchForm1')" value="Search" alt="Search">

Who says the search button has to say "Search?"  You can change it to "Go," or whatever you prefer.

You can also pre-populate the box with specific search terms.  Contact Jenny for assistance.
 

 

Search the MDC Library Collections

Find books, articles, videos, & more.

Find books in the library and online.

Find magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles.

Find streaming videos and DVDs.

Find materials your professors have placed on reserve in the library.

Search the Library Catalog

Find Books & eBooks

Find Videos

Landing Page Search Box

If you'd like to copy or map to the search box from the LibGuide landing page (see screenshot below), select the "Begin Your Research" box from the "Landing Page Boxes2" guide.

Landing Page search box

Credits

This page was created and is maintained by Jenny Saxton,
with technical advice provided by Angel Hernandez.

Questions and comments are welcome.