Research Strategies - Recommended Databases - SLS1510 - Career Exploration - LibGuides at Miami Dade College Learning Resources

If you don't yet have a topic and need some ideas, these resources can help.

Picking Your Topic IS Research [VIDEO]
North Carolina State University

America's News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
This database contains a frequently updated list of "Hot Topics."
Flipster (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Flipster is a database of magazines that you can view cover-to-cover. Browsing the latest issues of popular magazines such as Time, Discover, and The Atlantic can give you ideas for current topics.

Idea Generator
Old Dominion University

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This database contains an extensive list of current issues. Once you've entered the database, click "Browse Issues."

Pros and Cons of 100+ Topics
ProCon.org

You've chosen a topic, but before you begin searching for sources, take some time to plan a strategy. The following resources can help.

Concept Mapping
Concept mapping can help you to identify key search terms for finding sources on your topic. It can also help you to organize your paper and decide what aspects of your topic you want to cover. You can brainstorm search terms related to your topic by simply writing them down, but if you want to take a more visual approach, you can start with this Concept Map Worksheet [PDF], or try one of the following concept mapping tools.
Developing a Research Question [VIDEO]
Northern Kentucky University

From Question to Keywords: Beginning Academic Research [VIDEO]
John Jay College of Criminal Justice, City University of New York

It's time to dive in and start searching for information on your topic. Here are some tips for searching more effectively.

23 Google Search Tips You'll Want to Learn
PC Magazine
Alternative Search Engines
Miami Dade College

Google Scholar (MDC) This link opens in a new window
You might be familiar with using Google Scholar to search for information from scholarly sources, but did you know there's a way to make it even more useful? The link above is a customized link that automatically plugs Google Scholar into MDC's library databases to increase your access to full text materials. Entering Google Scholar through this link enables you to see which of your search results are freely available in MDC's databases, and provides direct links to those resources.

Searching Databases [VIDEO]
Yavapai College

Student Guide to ChatGPT
University of Arizona

There's so much information out there. How do you decide which sources to use for your research assignment? How do you know if the sources you've found are reliable? These links can help.